Thank Me Later

User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 276 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 49 out of 276

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. IanK.
    Jun 20, 2010
    10
    One of the most true and real rap albums to ever be released. Drake raps with realism and relates to his listeners by telling us about his life.
  2. RyanD.
    Jun 20, 2010
    10
    Thank me later is really a nice laid back album. Drake is very depth in his lyric choice. His style is more energetic and calm in his debut album.He goes hard every song and kills it with is collabos with other artists.
  3. LashaeR
    Jun 18, 2010
    10
    Fantastic album especially for a debut. I love the fact that not only can he rap but he sings , and when he sings it's actually pleasant.
  4. pitom
    Jun 15, 2010
    10
    Genuine introspection and bone-chilling production.
  5. VictorH
    Jun 15, 2010
    10
    Incredible!
  6. Gurjb
    Jun 16, 2010
    10
    Amazing how can these critics give this cd such unfair acclaim when they give artists like guccci mane soulja boy and others stupid rappers such good reviews.
  7. ConradM.
    Jun 16, 2010
    10
    Although it doesn't seem as powerful upon the first play through, Thank Me Later seems to grow on you until eventually you love it. Drake has been brave in creating an album such as this, instead of trying to repeat his previous successes, and for that I give him credit. He has triumphed in fusing together R&B and Hip Hop styles in a seamless fashion, and has subconsciously been able Although it doesn't seem as powerful upon the first play through, Thank Me Later seems to grow on you until eventually you love it. Drake has been brave in creating an album such as this, instead of trying to repeat his previous successes, and for that I give him credit. He has triumphed in fusing together R&B and Hip Hop styles in a seamless fashion, and has subconsciously been able to show people what the real difference is between R&B and Pop. It is rare that a rapper can switch so freely between rapping and singing while still remaining in flow; even Kanye West had to do separate albums for each. The inside booklet is rather touching, but also ironic that he is thanking everyone else when the album's title suggests otherwise. The guest stars on this album supplement Drake well, with rappers Nicki Minaj, T.I., Jay-Z, Lil Wayne and Young Jeezy amplifying Drake's lyrical ability, and singers R&B Alicia Keys and The-Dream showing off his more emotional side. No I.D., Crada, Boi-1da, 40, Matthew Burnett, Tone Mason, Jeff Bhasker and Al-Khaaliq all show off their own production skills by helping Drake achieve what he has, and Producer-Rappers Swizz Beatz, Timbaland and Kanye West have given us their best. I am not going to ruin too much for you by mentioning any specific new tracks-that is up to you to think about-but European Bonus track Best I Ever Had is able to conclude the album by reminding us why we bought it. It shows us the journey Drake has travelled, and how much he has changed since his big breakthrough, So Far Gone, and you must remember this is his first album; Eminem himself didn't start off as great as he is now, anyone remember Infinite? Expand
  8. RandyJ
    Jun 18, 2010
    10
    This reshapes the genre as much as 808's and Heartbreak. A classic piece of music that explores the limits of hip-hop, R&B, and pop.
  9. EricY
    Jun 18, 2010
    10
    TML is definitely one of the greates hip hop albums of the century. Drake has shown us, once again, his ability to be real and mix the genders. TML has different tempos and is one of those cds that you keep listening over and over and over again.
  10. ChadL
    Jun 15, 2010
    10
    Great album, all the way through. Lives up to the hype.
  11. JMoney
    Jun 15, 2010
    10
    UNDISPUTED Album of the year!!!
  12. AngeloS
    Jun 18, 2010
    10
    I think it was a very heartfelt presentation, of the ups and downs of his new found success. Although he is thankful for his success, he also suffers quite a bit, as aspects of his live are slowly falling apart. He manages to put these in words, and that is why this album is so amazing.
  13. AndrewW.
    Jun 19, 2010
    10
    One of the most beautiful and impressing debuts of modern-day hip hop. Drake raps amazing flow over unusual but original slow-tempo beats, in "Fireworks", "The Resistance", and others. Hopefully, this will be what one of the best rappers in the spotlight will do until its over.
  14. Dec 5, 2010
    10
    This has to be my favourite album of 2010 (beats Kanye). Drakes raps are good and 40s beats are insane. Good to see an album with a slower BPM can still dominate on todays charts. I love it!!!
  15. Aug 2, 2011
    10
    This album is a real testament to how deep of an artist drake is. You can see a real variety of sounds whether it be more upbeat rap songs like Over or Miss Me, to a more slowed down, RnB style with songs like Cece's Interlude, Fireworks, and Shut It Down. The album is great, very fun to listen all the way through, and cant wait for more from him
  16. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    I Made an account just to say that this album is amazing. After seeing reviews by dumb **** like CodyT giving this masterpiece a 3/10 makes me question the competence of the average human (codyT suck a big dick). Anyone else giving this a negative review you are crazy seriously if I knew you people Id beat the **** out of each one of you thats how much love I got for drake his musicI Made an account just to say that this album is amazing. After seeing reviews by dumb **** like CodyT giving this masterpiece a 3/10 makes me question the competence of the average human (codyT suck a big dick). Anyone else giving this a negative review you are crazy seriously if I knew you people Id beat the **** out of each one of you thats how much love I got for drake his music completes me, keep making that beautiful music Drake (amazing)! Expand
  17. Jan 6, 2015
    10
    Not half bad. The album explains how Drake feels about fame success. It's totally worth a listen. My two favorite tracks are the last two ("Find Your Love" and "Thank Me Now") because they are both extremely catchy and make a lot of sense, in my opinion.
  18. Sep 8, 2015
    10
    Perhaps the most anticipated hip-hop album of the 21st century, TML was Drake's opportunity to prove to the world that he was worth the hype. This album was not perfect but proved that Drake was in fact worth that hype. TML is probably the weakest album Drake has released, but without it he would not have set himself up for improvement on Take Care & NWTS.
  19. GregC
    Jun 18, 2010
    9
    Impressive debut album. Drake possesses some serious skills on the mic, being able to actually hold a tune unlike his advocaries who think that they could, and if you're still on that whole "Drake can't rap" boat, I advise you to get off because it's a quickly sinking ship.
  20. ArmandoC.
    Jun 15, 2010
    9
    The smooth beats and really deep and insightful lyrics makes this a great album overall. Drake is very skilled and he knows it!
  21. JDX
    Jun 15, 2010
    9
    Is it a classic, almost. Not many new faces can make and album of this caliber the first time out which makes it even more impressive. Of course there will be haters, there always are, but Drake more than delivered on his hype in my view and they will just have to swallow it.
  22. JayM
    Jun 15, 2010
    9
    One of the top albums of the year already. The synth chill beats he has on the album make it a perfect CD to waste the day listening to. Sometimes the subject topic is monotonous but overall Drake has fully embedded himself as a power in the rap game with this album.
  23. KaosH
    Jun 15, 2010
    9
    Drake's Thank Me Later is a nice mix CD of Rap and R&B tracks.I Jut bought this CD because ive been a fan of his previous work. but like most of his tracks are solid and he goes hard on songs like Over and Miss Me and does a great job teaming up with his mentor Lil' Wayne and Young Money's First Lady Nick Minaj in Up All Night. I think the strongest tracks on the album are: Drake's Thank Me Later is a nice mix CD of Rap and R&B tracks.I Jut bought this CD because ive been a fan of his previous work. but like most of his tracks are solid and he goes hard on songs like Over and Miss Me and does a great job teaming up with his mentor Lil' Wayne and Young Money's First Lady Nick Minaj in Up All Night. I think the strongest tracks on the album are: *Fireworks *Show Me A Good Time *Up All Night *Unforgettable *Over *Miss Me the weakest tracks on the CD to me are Karaoke, Light Up, and CeCe's Interlude (not really a track, its an interlude, but still i dont like it that much). I Think that 11 out of the 14 songs on the CD are that good. This is why I gave it a 9 out of 10. Expand
  24. DougL
    Jun 16, 2010
    9
    This wasn't what we expected, and it's the best surprise of the year.
  25. Nov 16, 2010
    9
    In this album, Drake voices his opinion on fame, fortune, and women. From his strong to soft voice, to his excitement in the lyrical raps that he writes, this album shows a promised future for the X Degrassi star. I wish him all the best.
  26. Jun 10, 2011
    9
    Powerful and deep. Drake's self-conscious persona mixed with addicting beats conjures up a masterful album. His singing may not be the best, but his vocals help paint a more vivid picture for the average listener. Drake does not disappoint on this album, he is a very talented rapper who is aware of the rewards and consequences of fame.
  27. Jul 10, 2011
    9
    After over a year of listening to Thank Me Later I have come to the realization that this is a classic album. Though many hip-hop fans discredit his talent because of the fact that he was an actor, or because he's half white or because of how often he sings, there is no denying the impact this album will have on hip-hop's future. I'm not saying impact alone makes a classic, but I believeAfter over a year of listening to Thank Me Later I have come to the realization that this is a classic album. Though many hip-hop fans discredit his talent because of the fact that he was an actor, or because he's half white or because of how often he sings, there is no denying the impact this album will have on hip-hop's future. I'm not saying impact alone makes a classic, but I believe Drake's unique style of music will continue to influence new artists such as The Weeknd and others. The main reason Thank Me Later is a classic is the lyrical talent displayed. Drake has mastered the art of connecting to listeners in a way that few artists ever have. Songs like The Resistance and Unforgettable tell the stories of young people all around the world. Over is a perfect example of what every new artists dreams their first single will be, epic, catchy and revolutionary all at the same time. Top to bottom this album satisfies. Expand
  28. Oct 21, 2011
    9
    This man and J. Cole will lead hip-hop into this decade. Nov. 15 Take Care
    Best Tracks
    "Karaoke"
    "Fireworks"
    "Over"
    "Fancy"
    "Miss Me"
    "Shut It Down"
    "Light Up"
  29. Mar 8, 2012
    9
    Not the worse debut but not the best. Drake is at his best when rapping so you wouldn't expect this album by a rapper to have slow songs where he's actually singing. The writing on the album is best part about it because he is talking about his life and about how it'schanging now that he is famous. People will look back on this album and say it was better than all the other rap albums thatNot the worse debut but not the best. Drake is at his best when rapping so you wouldn't expect this album by a rapper to have slow songs where he's actually singing. The writing on the album is best part about it because he is talking about his life and about how it'schanging now that he is famous. People will look back on this album and say it was better than all the other rap albums that released in 2010. Expand
  30. JD
    Jun 16, 2010
    8
    Its pretty good. I could you some more of his mixtape style rapping. Also I dont like the AUTOtune in some of the songs.
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Given his limitations, his famous friends are a mixed benefit, because they show him up.
  2. Thank Me Later may not have been the game-changing release everyone was hoping for, but we now have every reason to believe that the hype will ring true on his next album.
  3. Because of his relatively privileged upbringing (he's from a wealthy part of Toronto), Thank Me Later is less about chronicling and rising up out of his environment (like basically every rap debut since Illmatic) and more about how Drake is uncomfortable being famous.