The Age of Adz - Sufjan Stevens
The  Age of Adz Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 130 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Known for his genre-bending instrumentation and soulful lyricism, the Detroit-born indie rocker returns five years after his last proper album with an experimental variety of electro-orchestral folk pop songs.
  • Record Label: Asthmatic Kitty
  • Genre(s): Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, Alternative Pop/Rock, Contemporary Pop/Rock, Indie Rock, Indie Pop
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. After all those years that people remarked and possibly, tried to shut him out, Stevens has returned with what just might be the best music he has ever crafted.
  2. The Age of Adz complements rather than distracts from the heartrending melodies and ambitious orchestration underneath.
  3. Each pass cements that Stevens has done the impossible yet again: He's released another album that's both genre-defining and genre-defying.
  4. The Age of Adz is not an unqualified success; occasionally it does feel like a little too much, and until the dust has settled it is difficult to say where it will sit in his discography as a whole.
  5. As an expression of a restless artist trying to stretch his own limits, The Age Of Adz is simultaneously admirable and exhausting.
  6. It's a semiconcept record, using work by the artist Royal Robertson as a springboard for music that evokes a visionary psyche.
  7. With The Age Of Adz, Stevens may simply be trying too hard.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 47
  2. Negative: 5 out of 47
  1. Oct 13, 2010
    10
    I'm not sure how or why anyone would rate an album without actually listening to it first. Why even waste your time posting a review. ThisI'm not sure how or why anyone would rate an album without actually listening to it first. Why even waste your time posting a review. This album is a 10 and any BS vote of 6 without any frame of reference besides Sufjan's former album from 5 years ago is not accurate and meaningless. Expand
  2. Aug 10, 2011
    10
    The first time I left a review for this album I was dumb struck by all the great reviews it was getting upon it's release. It took me a lotThe first time I left a review for this album I was dumb struck by all the great reviews it was getting upon it's release. It took me a lot more time than usual to get into this album. There is so much depth and levels to this album that it just takes some time to fully digest it. At this very moment it is now my very favorite album in the world. I've seen him on tour with this album and it was my most very favorite tour ever! I can't say enough good things! Expand
  3. Nov 18, 2010
    10
    This album was an unexpected delight after _The_BQE_, which was good, but not very accessible. _The_Age_of_Adz_, on the other hand, isThis album was an unexpected delight after _The_BQE_, which was good, but not very accessible. _The_Age_of_Adz_, on the other hand, is charming and energetic. Lyrically, it is thoughtful and transcendent, and it suggests the complexity of human emotion without making lists of grievances. Sonically, it is dense and lush, but so skillfully crafted that it both surprising and listenable. "I Walked" is, I think, the loveliest song of the year.

    Further, I think it's interesting that people are calling this album just an experimentation of noise of experimentation's sake. No, that was _Enjoy_Your_Rabbit_ or possibly "The BQE." Anyone with even a cursory familiarity with Stevens's work would know this.
    Expand
  4. dtb
    Oct 22, 2010
    10
    I registered on metacritic just to give this record a 10. It is beautiful and unique and wonderful. Put your headphones on for the fullI registered on metacritic just to give this record a 10. It is beautiful and unique and wonderful. Put your headphones on for the full auditory experience, and be sure to listen past the sonic incredibleness and get to the soulfulness. When All Delighted People came out, I thought it was a little harsh to call it an EP because it is pretty complete effort. But now, in context, it makes sense. The Age of Adz is so fully developed that it makes (the really, really good) ADP seem almost like a throwaway effort. Total musical bliss. Expand
  5. Mar 10, 2011
    9
    This is easily the greatest album that sufjan has made to date. Revolutionary is the way to describe this album. Sufjan has his finger on theThis is easily the greatest album that sufjan has made to date. Revolutionary is the way to describe this album. Sufjan has his finger on the pulse of the indie music scene and now that he has gone electronic you will see several more bands going that way. Not only is this album superb musically but is also superb lyrically. This album is the deepest album in terms of emotions and lyrical depth. Expand
  6. Nov 5, 2010
    9
    This is not my favorite sufjan stevens album...
    it is my second favorite. I always like it when a musician breaks off into different genres
    This is not my favorite sufjan stevens album...
    it is my second favorite. I always like it when a musician breaks off into different genres and tries new things. some might find the Experimental nature of the album in audible, but i have loved every single beat of it.
    Expand
  7. Oct 27, 2010
    1
    I was appalled by the quality of this album. Especially, "Futile Devices" which is quite average in a sense that it sounds the same as everyI was appalled by the quality of this album. Especially, "Futile Devices" which is quite average in a sense that it sounds the same as every other song on the album except it has added nihilism which makes the overall quality of the album inappropriate and downright shameful to be called The Age of Adz.

    But that's just my opinion,
    - Jamie Valerio
    Expand

See all 47 User Reviews