The Alchemy Index Vols. I and II: Fire and Water Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 44 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The first of two volumes of EPs produced by their guitarist Teppei Teranishi.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. As a concept album, it's halfway to becoming an amazing cycle. There are a few flaws and the second half of the collection to worry about, but so far, Thrice has produced another stunner.
  2. Their clear evolution in terms of talent and ability is more than evident on songs like Firebreather and The Whaler. Between that and some pretty sweet packaging and liner notes, this is likely their best to date.
  3. Together Fire and Water form one of the most breathtaking albums of the year. [Nov 2007, p.166]
  4. The cleaving of The Alchemy Index into awkward chunks of opera violates a fundamental rule of prog rock: Go all the way out, or don't go at all.
  5. Ridiculous, yes, but to Thrice's credit, wanting to be Deftones (which they attempt here, at length) is a noble endeavour. But the results are still clunky.
  6. Examining classical elements is a novel concept, but spreading that concept throughout four EPs, two double-disc sets, and two record releases does little more than dilute an otherwise strong set of songs.
  7. 40
    There’s nothing like a concept album for faking musical maturity.

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 23
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 23
  3. Negative: 3 out of 23
  1. Jun 27, 2013
    Exceptional. Conceptually sound, strongly written, tightly preformed. While perhaps not of the same accessibility of its 'Earth/Air' sibling, this is one of the strange and wonderful instances of a concept album coming out in spades. Expand
  2. MattyP
    Nov 26, 2007
    I feel embarrassed to ever have enjoyed Identity Crisis. This album destroys nearly ever album they have previously released and is easily the best rock album of 2007. Pure genius. Expand
  3. Nov 28, 2011
    Amazing album. For me it was very memorable, especially lyrically; Dustin keeps writing amazing lyrics that just blow my mind over and over again with every piece they release.
    The hiatus they just announced was truly devastating for me...
  4. KiranS.
    Oct 24, 2007
    An absolutely gorgeous album, from start to finish. Thrice create yet another marvelous album to compliment their already impressive discography. The ambitious (and extremely well done) concept of the album alone is enough to make the purchase of this album truly worth it. Expand
  5. AndrewB.
    Nov 3, 2007
    In a time when melody has been thrown out the window by ninety percent of rock bands to accommodate nu-metal structured, scream-o garbage, Thrice has found a niche. This is not the greatest album, by any means, but it is the best I've heard in a long time. "Fire" allows you to rock out - something I've yearned to do since every worthwhile band that doesn't replace singing with screaming has either disbanded or turned sour. "Water" is laid-back, as cliche as that may come across, but still a good listen. I insist you try this album out, disregarding any (mis)conceptions you have about Thrice's first two albums. Expand
  6. DavidL.
    Oct 31, 2007
    cons: divided by 4 make it less homogen and easy to listen all straight. pros: Its Thrice that evolve and doing what they want, leading the way for a new generation of band, breaking stupid music industry rules and pushing further their personnality. It's full of good ideas well done but not a 100% perfect like in vheissu. Expand
  7. JohnK
    Oct 21, 2007
    Absolutely awful. I liked thrice in the sub-city days, but these guys are way overstepping their musical boundaries. Bad Massive Attack-esque electro coats the second half, while the first half is completely monotonous color-by-numbers screamo. Do yourself a favor and break out Identity Crisis instead of wasting your money on a washed up album by a band trying to reinvent themselves. Expand

See all 23 User Reviews