User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 99 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 88 out of 99
  2. Negative: 3 out of 99

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JamesM
    Sep 27, 2005
    8
    Please don't buy this album expecting to hear anything original. Interpol are the most obvious reference and anyone who likes them will get on with Editors. All Sparks is almost the sound of an Interpol tribute band! A few low points but at least 5 or 6 belting tracks probably the best being the anthemic (almost U2 like) 'Bullets.' Top live band as well.
  2. MattD
    Sep 3, 2005
    8
    Great album, which grows on you with each play. Some of the tracks do have a feeling that they may have been rushed, but excellent for a debut
  3. DJ
    Apr 8, 2007
    10
    Truly beautiful record by this band. They dp everything right and the end product is truly mesmerizing and uplifting. One of the best albums in the last 10 years, which is saying alot.
  4. Steve
    Aug 19, 2005
    10
    This is no Interpol copy. I appreciate Interpol for what they do, but honestly there is no magic to their music, sometimes I think they're quite dull. On the other hand, when I first heard this album it blew me away. This band is special. I am very picky and these days I feel most bands have no quality to them. I get bored listening to the same thing over and over again, even though This is no Interpol copy. I appreciate Interpol for what they do, but honestly there is no magic to their music, sometimes I think they're quite dull. On the other hand, when I first heard this album it blew me away. This band is special. I am very picky and these days I feel most bands have no quality to them. I get bored listening to the same thing over and over again, even though I may have only heard it for the first time. I didn't feel this way with Editors. If anyone deserves the honor of being dubbed a new Joy Division band, Editors do it proudly. Expand
  5. MusicMaven
    Sep 7, 2005
    8
    Yes, at times they sound like Joy Division. And other post-punk bands too. There seem to be a lot of bands sporting similar influences lately. But I rather like that kind of sound, and Editors are among the cream of the crop. If you like Interpol, definitely check this out as well. Search out the 2CD limited edition if you can -- the 6 extra songs are worth it!
  6. Edgar
    Apr 30, 2007
    10
    Truly spectacular!
  7. kayt
    May 17, 2006
    10
    editors are brilliant musicians & lyricists. the sensual & dark tracks are much more complex & haunting than many of the current 'new retro' groups. the constant comparison of editors to joy division are uninspired &, frankly, far too simple. in terms of rhythm, excitement, & emotion, the editors are consistently passionate track after track. what's more, the singer's editors are brilliant musicians & lyricists. the sensual & dark tracks are much more complex & haunting than many of the current 'new retro' groups. the constant comparison of editors to joy division are uninspired &, frankly, far too simple. in terms of rhythm, excitement, & emotion, the editors are consistently passionate track after track. what's more, the singer's voice is rich & haunting (think peter murphy, dead can dance, depeche mode). truly a bloody amazing group well-worth the listen & the accolades. Expand
  8. DanilioL
    Feb 3, 2006
    4
    Anyone who said Interpol ripped of Joy Division will have a field day with Editors. The lead vocalist is actually trying to sound like Ian Curtis, without effect. Interpol haters, Editors are the band you should be slagging off
  9. BenJ
    Aug 12, 2005
    3
    Rather than trying to copy Joy Division then seem happier aping Interpol. Altogether, a very poor cliched record.
  10. KreshnakKrake
    Aug 15, 2005
    2
    It's a great pity that Editors try to copy Interpol this bad. I think a band should have it's own style. And i'm pretty sure Editors would be creative and inspiring if they would try to develop their own style. But they don't. Too bad. This band doesn't inspire me at all.
  11. BLJay
    Jun 11, 2007
    10
    The best British album since the Stone Roses brilliant debut.
  12. MarkR
    Dec 3, 2005
    8
    The Back Room strikes the middle-ground between Turn on the Bright Lights and Antics
  13. sirtoli
    Oct 29, 2005
    10
    very great
  14. Ralph
    Oct 5, 2005
    8
    Great album. Echo and the Bunnymen seems to me the most clear influence but who cares if it's better or worst as long as it pleases some of us...
  15. BertR
    Aug 12, 2005
    9
    A true grower. take your time. When In doubt: listen to 'munich' and 'fall'... a fine album.
  16. Joris
    Sep 9, 2005
    8
    J C I agree partly with Kreshnak, of course Interpol is what Joy Division would be in 2005, and echo and the bunnymen isn't a bad comparison at all too... but imho I can't deny that in a period that Interpol is a hype, a band that sounds exactly and I mean EXACTLY the same becomes a bit embarrasing. However you get over it eventually and when your open-minded enough you find a J C I agree partly with Kreshnak, of course Interpol is what Joy Division would be in 2005, and echo and the bunnymen isn't a bad comparison at all too... but imho I can't deny that in a period that Interpol is a hype, a band that sounds exactly and I mean EXACTLY the same becomes a bit embarrasing. However you get over it eventually and when your open-minded enough you find a good cd with some very VERY strong songs like Bullets and Lights. Still Antics is better and Turn on the bright lights the best of Interpols trilogy ;-) Expand
  17. MeyaC.
    Mar 24, 2006
    8
    This is pretty good. It's dark but fun, but i'm not so sure if i'd remain a fan.
  18. JamesL
    Apr 4, 2006
    7
    Its good i realy only like the songs munich and Fingers in the Factiories.
  19. Brendan
    May 2, 2006
    6
    I'll admit, I've caught heavily onto the recycled rock genre. You know, the one filled to the brim with countless glacial guitar arcs and songs about being frigid or the natural progression of time that comes off as pure pretention. However, when a band distinctly sounds like a band notorious for being a band-within-a-band, an amalgam of 80s post-punk influences and revivalist I'll admit, I've caught heavily onto the recycled rock genre. You know, the one filled to the brim with countless glacial guitar arcs and songs about being frigid or the natural progression of time that comes off as pure pretention. However, when a band distinctly sounds like a band notorious for being a band-within-a-band, an amalgam of 80s post-punk influences and revivalist intentions. The songs are entertaining, I'll grant it that much; but a record isn't influences. "The Back Room", for me at least, doesn't bring much to the table. Yes, rock and roll is theft, but this is pure robbery. If they can impress me later by breaking off from their father-son musical relations, they can possible flourish into an indie-rock staple. But I'm not sure. Expand
  20. GarryK
    Oct 19, 2007
    10
    Brilliant album. All the songs are catchy, modern and unforgettable. They remind me of a 21st century version of joy division.
  21. HeyPeople
    Feb 14, 2007
    7
    6.5 in fact. I think the Billboard review says it all: the counterfeit is so good that it sounds like the original. They are great, they just aren't quite original. I like it because the sound is pure, i hate electronic post-punk. And I love the guitars as well. They seem to hurt, don´t they?
  22. Roco
    Apr 20, 2007
    10
    Solid album by this british band. This album is powerful, epic, and very uplifting. I highly recommend.
  23. pl
    May 3, 2007
    8
    interpol is crap. while editors are a very promising band despite the fact that they are truly not too original. let's just wait and see how their upcoming album goes.
  24. ThompsonT
    May 8, 2007
    10
    Electrifying. Poetic. Terrific. A must buy!
  25. PeteF
    Oct 1, 2005
    8
    I'm quite disappointed with the ratings, I believe most people judge an album right after the very first listening. I've heard both - otherwise really great - Interpol albums (which also said to be a fascimile of Joy Divison's works); while Interpol have an obvious american favour, Editors is truly british band and this has to be clear for every serious listener even for I'm quite disappointed with the ratings, I believe most people judge an album right after the very first listening. I've heard both - otherwise really great - Interpol albums (which also said to be a fascimile of Joy Divison's works); while Interpol have an obvious american favour, Editors is truly british band and this has to be clear for every serious listener even for the first time. Many negative critics are from narow-minded people who are alway looking for correspondences with other bands. You will always find some... There are no music without influences and influences are not equal to expressions like stealing. Otherwise, new styles rarely born after The Beatles - to be a bit ironic. Expand
  26. voodoocookie
    Aug 12, 2005
    7
    If you are sick of listening to the existing Interpol albums but still would like to hear some Interpol sounding music then listen to this. Overall, a decent album!
  27. Eneas
    Aug 17, 2005
    9
    Great album. Almost perfect. As good as "Antics" and far better than "turn on the bright lights" althougth they have their own sound.
  28. Jenny
    Aug 18, 2005
    8
    Great album! Took a couple of listens for me to really get into it and the 2nd CD is good and shows a more upbeat sound to them
  29. JC
    Aug 19, 2005
    9
    Jesus christ, what a dumb ass remark, Kreshnak. Ever heard of joy division or echo and the bunnymen? Or do you think that interpol had discovered this kinda music?
  30. PiotrD
    Aug 23, 2005
    9
    Really good album. Been hearing it over and over again for 2 days now - can't remember last time a new album got to me that way. About the comparing them to Interpol, well some places the influence is clear, but if you listen to the whole album you find much more than the "Interpol-sound" - absolutely recommended!
  31. TomR.
    Sep 13, 2005
    9
    You know, Editors is like Interpol (which is my fav.band) but who cares. It's a band with fantastic lyrics, good songs, a great guitar sound... So what else could you want?
  32. BenW.
    Sep 14, 2005
    4
    Eh? Who the hell are the Editors you might be asking. Well if moody rock were wheat production in the midwest, these guys would be connecticut. They are not particularly memorable and I kind of get the feeling this band is England's attempt to show ownership of the sound Interpol stole away. Their lyrics are trite and poppy without much substance and seem to land fairly flatly Eh? Who the hell are the Editors you might be asking. Well if moody rock were wheat production in the midwest, these guys would be connecticut. They are not particularly memorable and I kind of get the feeling this band is England's attempt to show ownership of the sound Interpol stole away. Their lyrics are trite and poppy without much substance and seem to land fairly flatly against the Killers influenced pop rock beats. Unfortunately, the band just doesn't do anything for me. I tried, but nothing connected with me; not the beats, not the vocals, not the lyrics, not the personality, not the tone, not even the production. I liked this band better when it was called Interpol. Expand
  33. Dan
    Mar 21, 2006
    5
    i saw these guys on KCRW's morning becomes eclectic. i was really bored 10 minutes into it. interpol comparisons aside, and i know they're earnestly trying to be a good band, but i just find it bland
  34. MisterThomYorke
    Mar 24, 2006
    2
    How Antics should have turned out? Antics was fantastic. Back Room is not so much. These are just copies of copiers and not even half as talented. I'm not sure what that equals mathmatically but I'm saying its probably 2. If you loved this you probably get off to She Wants Revenge also. This is watered down crap.
  35. WWalinski
    Mar 30, 2006
    9
    Interpol comparisons are a bit unfounded. Only in mood (which does remain consistent over the course of the record) is there a logical resemblence; otherwise Editors have far stronger song-writing capabilities providing some of the most lush and beautiful tunes to come out of any band in the past couple years. Excellent live too, they have a great energy.
  36. OtherJoey
    Apr 12, 2006
    6
    I saw them last week with Stellastar, and they blew me away. This doesn't even come close to capturing the intensity of their live show. "The Back Room" makes them sound far more derivative and less interesting than they did in concert. It's still good, but disappointing.
  37. BertD
    Apr 30, 2006
    10
    It's just one of the best alternative rock albums atm! Really good variation of songs that just does the trick for me !
  38. [Anonymous]
    May 17, 2006
    10
    for an original new waver & alternative rocker (back when it was actually ALTERNATIVE), i love the editors. their music is rich & layered; their lyrics are heart-felt prose. overall, brilliant. the joy division comparison is far too overplayed. consider depeche mode instead. for the younger fans of panic! at the disco, franz ferdinand, the killers, the bravery, et. all., you owe it to for an original new waver & alternative rocker (back when it was actually ALTERNATIVE), i love the editors. their music is rich & layered; their lyrics are heart-felt prose. overall, brilliant. the joy division comparison is far too overplayed. consider depeche mode instead. for the younger fans of panic! at the disco, franz ferdinand, the killers, the bravery, et. all., you owe it to yourself to have a go at editors. it'll be 'love at first track,' i'm sure. the lead singer's voice is emotionally husky & dark; reminds me of the guy in dead can dance. as for the musical structure, consider bel canto. certainly hope they'll passby close enough for me to see them in concert. i believe they'll be as good live as they are in the studio. Expand
  39. AlC
    Aug 4, 2006
    9
    Because the path of least resistance to the new is often through the familiar, people will, generally compare Editors to Interpol, Joy Division, etc. While this might be a helpful categorization, it is simply a point of reference. This is truly a ground breaking album that after a few listens emerges as unique and groundbreaking in its own right.
  40. MikeL
    Sep 28, 2006
    10
    One of the best albums I've heard in quite a while. I really enjoy it.
  41. DavidH.
    Nov 17, 2007
    9
    class music! only song not too fussed on is camera and maybe distance, they r by no means bad songs, just not as good as the rest, which are all excellent. It is a solid album, that is exceptionally well-made, wat an exciting debut! best songs- lights, munich, blood, all sparks, fingers in the factories, someone says and open your arms, which is pretty much all of them!
  42. AC
    Jan 26, 2007
    9
    A terrific debut from these Birmingham boys. So, many excellent tracks to choose from (Blood, Bullet, Colors, Lights, Munich, & Release) but my favorite is All Sparks, Wow! just amazing to listen to. Really looking forward to there follow-up.
  43. TrekD
    Feb 27, 2007
    10
    Love this album! Clearly, one of the best debuts ever.
  44. Frank
    Apr 20, 2007
    10
    The Best album of 02 and the best album in the last 10 years.
  45. Smith
    May 23, 2007
    10
    Probably the best debut by anyone since Arcade Fire's The Funeral.
  46. Alun
    Jul 19, 2007
    6
    Okay album - sound is horrible though. No bass - tinny - a sonic assault and not in a good way. Somewhere under the awful clipping and over zealous mastering there might well be some good songs. Because the sound is so sh*te I can't be bothered to get to know them though.
  47. Drake
    Aug 5, 2007
    10
    Beautiful music!
  48. edyg
    Oct 13, 2005
    9
    This band is awesome. The only problem is that they sound alot like Interpol. But that's okay, because no band is totally original. This is the album Interpol should've followed 'Turn On the Bright Lights with.
  49. Dave
    Oct 29, 2005
    9
    Stunning debut!
  50. TheGoldenTiger
    Mar 29, 2006
    8
    Though no wholly original, Editors do succeed in putting a new twist on the (by now) old post-punk formula -- spiking their maudlin romantic bromides with swirls of shoegazer-y guitar and hijacked danced beats. This far outstrips anything Interpol has lain to tape, because let's be serious, Interpol are nothing but world-class chancers, and Antics was a pathetic follow-up to a Though no wholly original, Editors do succeed in putting a new twist on the (by now) old post-punk formula -- spiking their maudlin romantic bromides with swirls of shoegazer-y guitar and hijacked danced beats. This far outstrips anything Interpol has lain to tape, because let's be serious, Interpol are nothing but world-class chancers, and Antics was a pathetic follow-up to a piss-poor debut rife with forlorn imagery and listless tunes. Expand
  51. Glitch
    May 28, 2006
    9
    Their strong song-writing capabilities and excellent vocals are what made me buy the album. I started listening to editors after Hideo Kojima (MGS, anyone? ) recommended them on his blog and I must say the man has a great taste ;) Though Back Room has some monotonous songs (Camera, Open your Arms) the rest of the bunch more than make up for the two! My favorites are Bullets , Blood and Their strong song-writing capabilities and excellent vocals are what made me buy the album. I started listening to editors after Hideo Kojima (MGS, anyone? ) recommended them on his blog and I must say the man has a great taste ;) Though Back Room has some monotonous songs (Camera, Open your Arms) the rest of the bunch more than make up for the two! My favorites are Bullets , Blood and Munich but almost every song is a potential hit just waiting to be discovered. Now quickly,go out and buy the album ! :) Expand
  52. GaboS
    May 31, 2006
    8
    INTERPOL INTERPOL INTERPOL! I'm tired of hearing the comparisons, Editors have a sound of their own and I hate those who say that Editors stole interpol's sound. Suddenly interpol created an already existing genre and sound? Every time a band comes out, it's likely that they will sound similar to someone else, what's original now anyway? When you compare more than INTERPOL INTERPOL INTERPOL! I'm tired of hearing the comparisons, Editors have a sound of their own and I hate those who say that Editors stole interpol's sound. Suddenly interpol created an already existing genre and sound? Every time a band comes out, it's likely that they will sound similar to someone else, what's original now anyway? When you compare more than simply listening to an artist, you can't appreciate the passion behind the artist's songwriting, lyrics and sound found in "The Back Room" in this case. "The Back Room" flows very well, almost every song in the album is succesful from start to finish. One of those albums you listen the whole way through...amazing. Only complaint is the ending track which seemed a "filler," other than that, great debut. Expand
  53. epixsavior
    Jun 25, 2006
    9
    actually a 8.7 is my rating. i am SICK TO DEATH of hipster-centric music. all those endless number of bands that have joy division guitars, cure-esque accessiblity, psuedo-elctro beat drums and wash after wash after wash of moodiness. and all the ones that are vaguely pop-punkish, pixie-esque and anything you'd normally hear marketed by HOT TOPIC. i hear that ALL the time from t.v., actually a 8.7 is my rating. i am SICK TO DEATH of hipster-centric music. all those endless number of bands that have joy division guitars, cure-esque accessiblity, psuedo-elctro beat drums and wash after wash after wash of moodiness. and all the ones that are vaguely pop-punkish, pixie-esque and anything you'd normally hear marketed by HOT TOPIC. i hear that ALL the time from t.v., radio, internet and friends. it also seems most fo the critics think that this album too is just another generic, paint by numbers, follow other non-formula formulas,made-just-for-I-tunes marketed music. wow, i think they so wrong on this one. i admit, the best way to describe this band tto someone who has not heard thier music would be to say they sound like interpol mixed with the bravery. but a) they only take the ONE good thing the bravery has going for them : thier drumming styles and uptempos. and b) they do remind me of intepol (who i like), but they sound less like they are playing in a underground sewer (like interpol always does) and more like they are playing in a large-ass, epic country side, or cathedral or hollow room with marlbe floors. and another thing: the difference between this and most of the music in the genre it's being compared to (current indie) is the fact that it's not really just following a formula like other band sound like they do, if you actually are indulgent and dramatic about the music, like the editors do. bands that just follow formulas don't care about the music enough to over indulge in the sonics for emotive power, and they often hold back on what their capable of, both sonically and creativly. i'm sorry, but you can't fake sounding like you're really believing what you're saying. and the production is nicely menacing and powerful. parts of it remind me of elbow and snow patrols more agressive stuff (especially since snow patrol's current producer produced the track "bullets" for this album.). the last track was surprising in how restrained and mature it sounded in an album of dominated by wailing and over excess. although i have to admit: the expert production and chord moods and heavily melodic vocal melodies make a lot of this album feel like it washes over me like digital tidal waves. shame a couple of the songs needed way more drums, or i would've gave this album a 9. the album starts of with 3 A-singles in a row, but once you hear track 6, you realize this album won't be as perfect as you thought. final thought: if your going to make a hipster-music album, do one of three things: over-indulge (it shows that you mean it and that you care), be consisent in the songs overall entertianment value (cause what's a hipster album if it's not entertaining?) and most importantly, don't be too cheesy, whiny or jittery. this album does all three. Expand
  54. kiki
    Aug 15, 2006
    4
    I thought this was an overrated album, and people I have spoken to about it agree. I think it was quite pants.
  55. DEE
    Apr 23, 2007
    10
    A brillaint debut.
  56. ShayG
    Apr 27, 2007
    10
    Definitely a modern masterpiece. Beautiful grandeur's songs throughout. I don't how this only has a 76 with critics, it deserves alot higher. But besides that this one of those albums that can change your life.
  57. RichardM
    Dec 17, 2005
    8
    Superb. How you wish 'Antics' had turned out. I offer one further snippet of advice: if possible seek out the 2cd edition with the 'cuttings' b-sides collection. 'Release', the b-side to 'Munich', is simply staggering and by far the best thing they've recorded to date, which given the quality of much of the album proper is really saying something.
  58. May 31, 2011
    8
    What a fantastic way to introduce yourself into the music world. This album has a great anthem feeling, with absolutely fantastic tracks such as "Munich", "All Sparks" and "Blood", all of which could easily be repeated over and over. And really loud, too.
  59. Dec 6, 2011
    8
    A great debut album from English Indie rockers. Every 2nd track is an anthem here and there is only one or two filler tracks here and even at that, these aren't that bad. It's very much influenced by Joy Division but the band do a good job of giving their own take on that dark/robotic rock here. Rifftastic - a great live band too.
  60. Nov 14, 2013
    5
    The English post-punk revivalists have their moments on The Back Room, like the forceful opening track "Lights" and the propulsive "Munich". The best track is "Bullets", whose insistent refrain sticks in the brain and leaves a lasting effect. However, the rest of the album is completely forgettable. "Fall" in particular comes across as a sterile attempt to replicate the sparse atmosphereThe English post-punk revivalists have their moments on The Back Room, like the forceful opening track "Lights" and the propulsive "Munich". The best track is "Bullets", whose insistent refrain sticks in the brain and leaves a lasting effect. However, the rest of the album is completely forgettable. "Fall" in particular comes across as a sterile attempt to replicate the sparse atmosphere of Unknown Pleasures. The repetitive strumming sounds forced, like a poor man's "I Remember Nothing". Do yourself a favour and listen to Turn On The Bright Lights instead. Expand
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. As much as The Back Room is a victory for style, it also strikes a blow for substance. [Aug 2005, p.135]
  2. "The Back Room" is, principally, a triumph.
  3. It’s how Interpol would sound like if they dealt with universal themes and reflection rather than singing about fellatio fantasies with Stella, or their length of loves.