The Big Dream - David Lynch
The  Big Dream Image
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 13 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Band members: Dean Hurley
  • Summary: The second full-length solo release from the film director includes a cover of Bob Dylan's "The Ballad of Hollis Brown and a guest appearance from Lykke Li.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 28
  2. Negative: 1 out of 28
  1. Jul 16, 2013
    82
    Submitting yourself to its hazy beauty may prove challenging for some, but for those willing to explore these unsteady climes, the journey will provide countless delights for the senses.
  2. Jul 12, 2013
    80
    A thoroughly decent album from start to finish.
  3. Aug 16, 2013
    70
    It’s more of an unconscious escape hatch that Lynch has constructed with intangible aural elements--a fantasy place that he allows us to walk around in for a while until we are forced back into the realm of the painfully awake.
  4. Jul 15, 2013
    63
    The main weakness is the same one found on Crazy Clown Time: the songs. As songs, they don’t do much or say much.
  5. Jul 24, 2013
    60
    This is an unrelentingly difficult record, with all semblances of pop music and even melody eschewed for a Hound of the Baskervilles trudge through a gothic swamp.
  6. Aug 1, 2013
    50
    The Big Dream is but a pretty stone that withers the moment it is touched, lifted for further inspection.
  7. Aug 15, 2013
    30
    A series of one-dimensional tracks, produced by Dean Hurley, that at their best sound like a karaoke outsider artist running though some vocal exercises. [Aug 2013, p.54]

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 1 out of 2
  1. Jul 17, 2013
    7
    The celebrated film director of visual spectacles such as Inland Empire, Eraserhead, and the TV show Twin Peaks comes out with yet another mediocre album. The sophomore album The Big Dream shares a very similar feeling as Crazy Clown Time did in 2011. With the nasally, robotic voice of David Lynch, backed by echoing guitars, you know you're in a very specific place.

    Every song mimics the other, making sure there is enough echoing, rattling, and reverberation. David Lynch is no stranger to music. With many collaborations with artists over the years and the input in most of his own films, Lynch has a good idea of what he's doing. It's just a shame that he uses the same techniques over and over again for 12 songs. The hypnotic opener "The Big Dream" captivates the audience and pulls them into a Lynch-ian world. As soon as "Star Dream Girl" kicks in, the audience is quickly turned full circle in a different direction. A faster paced, yet still bluesy sounding song is the one outsider of the album. The rest of the album really flowed together as one song for me. There was no song that jumped out at me and made me absolutely love it. This is the type of music that is perfect for a movie.

    It's background music. It has a very progressive and repetitive sound. Although it taps into a generally unknown side of music, it does not impress as much as it could. The album lacks a certain appeal. What could have been a very strong, diverse album has become 12 songs of repetitive film music. Don't get me wrong, I adore David Lynch. His films are fantastic. And yes, he has some phenomenal songs in the past like "Ghost of Love", "Good Day Today", and "So Glad", but this second album has nothing special.
    Expand
  2. Aug 8, 2013
    2
    David Lynch does music? Oh, that got me pretty excited. Then I heard him singing. Sorry, couldn't really pay much attention to the music itself with the sound that I can't even call a voice torturing my ears. Collapse