• Band Name:
  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
The Block Brochure: Welcome to the Soil, Pt. 2 Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score

No user score yet- Awaiting 2 more ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Released on the same day (and also as a three-disc set), The Block Brochure: Welcome to the Soil 1, 2, or 3 are E-40's 15th, 16th, and 17th albums. The second volume features guest appearances from such artists as Celly Cel, JT the Bigga Figga, Spice 1, Suga-T, T-Pain, Tech N9ne, and Twista,.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Apr 26, 2012
    The Block Brochure, ponderous though it may be, is curated carefully and put together in a way that will actually hold up over time.
  2. Apr 26, 2012
    The production on The Block Brochure series roams a little wider and farther than the Revenue Retrievin series did, which helps when approaching such a seemingly undigestible block of music.
  3. 70
    The Block Brochure is a daunting proposition and quite simply a difficult amount of music to process. This is unfortunate, though, given the sheer number and variety of gems strewn throughout.
  4. Apr 26, 2012
    Regrettably though Soil 2 is a little more uneven than the last installment.
  5. Apr 26, 2012
    When compared to the Revenue Retrievin' onslaught, which was sorted into thematic sets (Day, Night, etc.), these unwieldy Block Brochures come off as a hyphy data dump, leaving all executive production up to the listener.
  6. Apr 26, 2012
    Fatigue sets in hard on the second album, where the beats sound a good deal cheaper, E-40's eccentric flow begins to nag, and the overall energy nosedives.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. May 13, 2012
    "The Block Brochure" is a series of three CDs simultaneously released by rapper E-40. The trilogy is more than three hours of solid music in various forms and styles - from gangsta rap by hip hop and west coast combined with electronic samples. Each of the discs contain up to 18 compositions on which appear artists such as: Richie Rich, Twista, T-Pain or Snoop Dogg. It's really hard to pick up some of the songs that are particularly distinctive, as all are on a really high level. For fans of the above mentioned genres, a must-have. Expand