The Block Brochure: Welcome to the Soil, Pt. 3 Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score

No user score yet- Awaiting 2 more ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Released on the same day (and also as a three-disc set), The Block Brochure: Welcome to the Soil 1, 2, or 3 are E-40's 15th, 16th, and 17th albums. The third and final volume features guest appearances from such artist as Hieroglyphics, Daz, Raheem DeVaughn, Kurupt, Kokane, Kendrick Lamar, Snoop Dogg, Too $hort, comedian Katt Williams, and E-40's son, Droop-E. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Apr 26, 2012
    The Block Brochure, ponderous though it may be, is curated carefully and put together in a way that will actually hold up over time.
  2. Apr 26, 2012
    The production on The Block Brochure series roams a little wider and farther than the Revenue Retrievin series did, which helps when approaching such a seemingly undigestible block of music.
  3. Apr 26, 2012
    The final installment is arguably the best of the three.
  4. 70
    The Block Brochure is a daunting proposition and quite simply a difficult amount of music to process. This is unfortunate, though, given the sheer number and variety of gems strewn throughout.
  5. Apr 26, 2012
    Capping it off is the giant, bright soul that fuels "Sidewalk Memorial," and while that's a worthy exit for a project so impossibly huge, everything between the bookends is thrown about.
  6. Apr 26, 2012
    Even when things pick up on volume three, which includes choice collaborations with California stalwarts like Snoop Dogg, Too $hort, Kendrick Lamar, and Hieroglyphics, Block Brochure feels like too much of a good thing-way, way too much.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. May 13, 2012
    "The Block Brochure" is a series of three CDs simultaneously released by rapper E-40. The trilogy is more than three hours of solid music in various forms and styles - from gangsta rap by hip hop and west coast combined with electronic samples. Each of the discs contain up to 18 compositions on which appear artists such as: Richie Rich, Twista, T-Pain or Snoop Dogg. It's really hard to pick up some of the songs that are particularly distinctive, as all are on a really high level. For fans of the above mentioned genres, a must-have. Expand