The Blueprint 2: The Gift & the Curse

  • Record Label: Def Jam
  • Release Date: Nov 12, 2002
User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 70 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 70
  2. Negative: 8 out of 70

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MrCharisma
    Jan 10, 2003
    4
    jay-z has some skill, but this album is rushed and too much like the original *blueprint
  2. dontezg
    Sep 17, 2004
    10
    i liked the album alot matter of fact i liked every album by jay-z cuase he's my favorite rapper.
  3. DarrenR
    Nov 26, 2002
    8
    there are some songs that get your attention but there are songs that you have to listen to 2 really understand
  4. KamalJ
    May 8, 2003
    9
    This album is hott as hell. It may not be as good as Blueprint, but I say give credit where credit is due.
  5. trevorm
    Mar 13, 2004
    9
    good album a few unsoulfull songs
  6. alexf
    Jan 26, 2007
    7
    jiggas lp was hot but nas album was hotter nas 4 ever: stillmatic >>>> blueprint 2
  7. NigelF
    Jan 2, 2003
    10
    That nigga jay-z done did it again, this alnum is outa this world, theres something for everyone, the greatest flows i've eva heard. he has always been the king, and he will always be. nas is Sh@t compared to jigga. HOVA 4 EVA BABY, YEAH, JAMAICAN'S SAY DAT.
  8. BobC
    Feb 21, 2006
    9
    H O V A I got my mojo back baby oh behave
  9. JohnMurrayHill
    Apr 9, 2008
    7
    When this came out - for Jay-Z fans - it was the bomb. Listening to it now, some of the tracks aren't great. That said, the second CD - the darker CD - is damn good. There are a lot of gems on here. Fans of Jay-Z will definitely find some good stuff here. Some nice Kanye West productions too.
  10. Jared
    Nov 23, 2002
    9
    I enjoyed this album. Listen to the lyrics don't skim through the music.
  11. TarikT
    Dec 3, 2002
    0
    Another rushed album by one of the shames of Hip Hop. Senseless rap sucks. The 3 main sensless rappers are: Jay-Z, Ja-rule, and nelly. Please guys come up with something original, Jay-Z isnt a an eighth of the man he used to be five years ago. POP SUKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  12. AHink
    Dec 7, 2002
    10
    People are always hatin on jigga but he doesn't make horrible music at all he is on another level but y'all aint feelin' him
  13. Andrew
    Nov 21, 2002
    5
    So frustrating! Roughly one listenable song for every 2 horrible ones. If he would have cut a bunch of the crap and put this on just one disc, you'd have a solid album. Not enough party tunes for my taste, and thats what I look for from Jigga.
  14. rico
    Nov 26, 2002
    10
    This album is absolute genius. One of his best since Reasonable Doubt. From dance tracks(the Bounce), to hype tracks(You Don't Know 2), to deep tracks(Meet The Parents,Ballad For The Fallen Soldiers). Those who don't think so dont know great music.
  15. MoisesB
    Nov 28, 2002
    10
    Is great MUSIC ABOUT TIME!!! Something that's different into another level...
  16. TBut
    Dec 23, 2002
    10
    Amazing simply amazing.... How incredible....from "some people hate" to "bluprint2" an overall great album
  17. Aug 17, 2010
    1
    Are u kidding. This album is no good. I gave the 1 because of Hov's other music such as classics like the black album and reasonable doubt. This in my opinion is pop garbage
  18. Jul 4, 2013
    5
    The Blueprint was Jay-Z’s most entertaining album to date and though this overlong sequel to the 2001 CD recalls the catchy and eloquent lyrics of its predecessor at times, it is a disappointing follow-up if you look at it as a whole. The 25 tracks on 2 discs are departed into three categories: a few really great songs, a lot of nice ones that just aren’t rememberable, and some unnecessaryThe Blueprint was Jay-Z’s most entertaining album to date and though this overlong sequel to the 2001 CD recalls the catchy and eloquent lyrics of its predecessor at times, it is a disappointing follow-up if you look at it as a whole. The 25 tracks on 2 discs are departed into three categories: a few really great songs, a lot of nice ones that just aren’t rememberable, and some unnecessary and annoying fillers so that the album accomplishes its almost 2-hour-long running time. It seems to me that Carter wanted to put the album out as quickly as possible so he can still brag about his 7-year-7-albums consistency. It just would’ve been better if he’d stopped this seemingly obsessive all-time-presence he had at the time The Blueprint 2 came out, and focused on creating songs that are actually good and not completely forgettable. But don’t get me wrong, this album is fine to listen to and clearly a lot better than all three of the Vol. albums in the late 90’s. It’s just unspectacular and boring way too often. Despite all that, it’s undeniable that Jay-Z is a formidably talented lyricist and therefore, The Blueprint 2 is only really bad if you compare it to the original The Blueprint. Collapse
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 19
  2. Negative: 2 out of 19
  1. Uncut
    40
    We've heard too much of this before. [Jan 2003, p.119]
  2. If The Blueprint proved that coming back is easy, The Blueprint 2 proves it’s difficult to stay on top.
  3. What a curse Jay-Z's ideas represent: Nearly everything about The Blueprint 2 sounds like a retread, including its title.