The Blueprint 2: The Gift & the Curse

  • Record Label: Def Jam
  • Release Date: Nov 12, 2002
User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 72 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 72
  2. Negative: 8 out of 72

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. dontezg
    Sep 17, 2004
    10
    i liked the album alot matter of fact i liked every album by jay-z cuase he's my favorite rapper.
  2. DarrenR
    Nov 26, 2002
    8
    there are some songs that get your attention but there are songs that you have to listen to 2 really understand
  3. KamalJ
    May 8, 2003
    9
    This album is hott as hell. It may not be as good as Blueprint, but I say give credit where credit is due.
  4. trevorm
    Mar 13, 2004
    9
    good album a few unsoulfull songs
  5. alexf
    Jan 26, 2007
    7
    jiggas lp was hot but nas album was hotter nas 4 ever: stillmatic >>>> blueprint 2
  6. NigelF
    Jan 2, 2003
    10
    That nigga jay-z done did it again, this alnum is outa this world, theres something for everyone, the greatest flows i've eva heard. he has always been the king, and he will always be. nas is Sh@t compared to jigga. HOVA 4 EVA BABY, YEAH, JAMAICAN'S SAY DAT.
  7. BobC
    Feb 21, 2006
    9
    H O V A I got my mojo back baby oh behave
  8. JohnMurrayHill
    Apr 9, 2008
    7
    When this came out - for Jay-Z fans - it was the bomb. Listening to it now, some of the tracks aren't great. That said, the second CD - the darker CD - is damn good. There are a lot of gems on here. Fans of Jay-Z will definitely find some good stuff here. Some nice Kanye West productions too.
  9. Jared
    Nov 23, 2002
    9
    I enjoyed this album. Listen to the lyrics don't skim through the music.
  10. AHink
    Dec 7, 2002
    10
    People are always hatin on jigga but he doesn't make horrible music at all he is on another level but y'all aint feelin' him
  11. rico
    Nov 26, 2002
    10
    This album is absolute genius. One of his best since Reasonable Doubt. From dance tracks(the Bounce), to hype tracks(You Don't Know 2), to deep tracks(Meet The Parents,Ballad For The Fallen Soldiers). Those who don't think so dont know great music.
  12. MoisesB
    Nov 28, 2002
    10
    Is great MUSIC ABOUT TIME!!! Something that's different into another level...
  13. TBut
    Dec 23, 2002
    10
    Amazing simply amazing.... How incredible....from "some people hate" to "bluprint2" an overall great album
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 19
  2. Negative: 2 out of 19
  1. Uncut
    40
    We've heard too much of this before. [Jan 2003, p.119]
  2. If The Blueprint proved that coming back is easy, The Blueprint 2 proves it’s difficult to stay on top.
  3. What a curse Jay-Z's ideas represent: Nearly everything about The Blueprint 2 sounds like a retread, including its title.