User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 160 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 9 out of 160

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BlakeG
    May 24, 2007
    10
    Best album of 01.
  2. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    This album is just a classic. I love every track on their. The production is perfect. The lyrics are great although there are better lyricists out there. I really enjoyed the album overall. I wish Jay Z would make music like this again.
  3. Aug 17, 2010
    10
    easily one of the best rap album of the decade if not the best. personally i believe it matches the black album and reasonable doubt in quality and may even outshadow them. ultimately jay z at his best
  4. BalkyB
    Jul 27, 2009
    2
    I don't see the appeal of Jay Z. Monotone robotic delivery of weak rhymes that often don't rhyme. I thought hiphop had graduated from "I'm the baddest dude" and "I've got the biggest d***" back in the 80's. Can't compare to Nas- Illimatic or Mos Def- Black on Both Sides. Both with relevant material about the real world. The Blue Print focuses on superficial I don't see the appeal of Jay Z. Monotone robotic delivery of weak rhymes that often don't rhyme. I thought hiphop had graduated from "I'm the baddest dude" and "I've got the biggest d***" back in the 80's. Can't compare to Nas- Illimatic or Mos Def- Black on Both Sides. Both with relevant material about the real world. The Blue Print focuses on superficial materialism and club life. Why do hip hop heads believe Jay Z when he says is the best? I wish this was good. Expand
  5. richard
    Nov 15, 2008
    5
    Jay-z hires the best song producers in the business. he creates fairly clever but shallow improvised lyrics. but the songs are boring and repetitive. There are much more creative and talented rappers, but since he is an a hole people say he is great. he is overrated.
  6. chimsijheh
    Feb 20, 2004
    0
    wack dont was ur time
  7. JoeyM
    Sep 13, 2009
    5
    It's so hypocritical that Jay-Z first puts a track on the album, called D.O.A. (Death Of Autotune) and then records a song with Kanye West, who clearly used de voice altering software. Do as you say, not as you do, Jay!
  8. goatman
    Mar 19, 2005
    0
    ew
  9. May 12, 2011
    6
    overrated album i only liked a few songs on it................................................................................................ its not his best album. REASONABLE DOUBT IS...........................................................................................
  10. May 30, 2013
    8
    Finally, we’ve got a confirmation that Reasonable Doubt wasn’t just a one-album wonder. The knickerbocker rapper stepped in the booth again for a 6th studio album in 6 years and while the last 4 were really forgettable for most of the time, he really surprised with a release full with elaborately-phrased, greatly flowed, and very well-produced hip hop tracks that peak in two fantasticFinally, we’ve got a confirmation that Reasonable Doubt wasn’t just a one-album wonder. The knickerbocker rapper stepped in the booth again for a 6th studio album in 6 years and while the last 4 were really forgettable for most of the time, he really surprised with a release full with elaborately-phrased, greatly flowed, and very well-produced hip hop tracks that peak in two fantastic verses by the new, white rap-phenomenon Eminem on Renegade who’s actually the only featured artist on this album (his last album, The Dynasty; had 22 credited feature artists on only 16 songs!). Jay-Z himself is also very nice to listen to with songs that really appeal to the mainstream listener, but should also be good for entertaining his fans in the ghetto. It may not be as good as his debut, yet it’s an undeniably enjoyable listen that doesn’t get boring. Expand
  11. D_McNorris
    Jan 2, 2004
    10
    Clearly his best album of his carrer. So many great tracks over and over again. Classic Album.
  12. Frank
    Apr 21, 2007
    10
    Just as good as his classic debut "Reasonable Doubt", wait, actually... it's better, alot better overall. I don't think Jay-Z's ever going to top this album. EVER!!
  13. MiguelA
    Jun 6, 2009
    10
    The reason you cant always trust the user ratings on Metacritic (especially in the Rap genre) is because there are the "haters" who will not even listen to the album and rate it a 1 because that rapper has "beef" with his favorite rapper. Even though this album has an 8.5 rating, I'm disgusted. This is one of the greatest Hip Hop albums of ALL TIME. Jay's rapping is sick, and so The reason you cant always trust the user ratings on Metacritic (especially in the Rap genre) is because there are the "haters" who will not even listen to the album and rate it a 1 because that rapper has "beef" with his favorite rapper. Even though this album has an 8.5 rating, I'm disgusted. This is one of the greatest Hip Hop albums of ALL TIME. Jay's rapping is sick, and so are the beats. That's all you need to know. It's balanced. Expand
  14. JohnS
    Aug 5, 2003
    9
    Yes, every track in this album/compilation/life story/masterpiece sounds like a hit. Can't get over it until Jay releases a better one.
  15. trevorm
    Mar 13, 2004
    10
    true classic
  16. shawnj
    Apr 10, 2004
    10
    Jay -z's best album, Izzo and company provide a great album of rap/hip hop
  17. LanaG10T
    Aug 13, 2004
    8
    It's easy to make an excellent rap album when you're "stealing" so much from other people's songs. Anyway, this is Jigga's most confident album, and one of his best albums. And, All Music Guide gave him 5 stars and said it's his "masterpiece" and a "flawless" album so it's 100, not 90.
  18. johndough
    Oct 2, 2005
    10
    every song, verse, word is perfect
  19. [Anonymous]
    Sep 11, 2005
    10
    These guys who gave this album lower than a five is stupid. This is one of the best albums in all of rap music..Ever. Nuff said. the best from jigga. Also Kanye West's starting point (besides Roc la Familia) Go cop it
  20. DjH(KouroutaRulez)Hek
    Apr 18, 2006
    10
    It is truly THE MASTERPIECE of Jay-Z with Reasonable Doubt.Each Track is worth listen to,it has something for everyone.without feeling that jay-z is trying to please everyone.diss track,love tracks,club bangers,lyrical bangers...it has everything.it is and stays fochused from the beginning to the end.After so many 6-7 years since his debut he did and made an album equal to Reasonable It is truly THE MASTERPIECE of Jay-Z with Reasonable Doubt.Each Track is worth listen to,it has something for everyone.without feeling that jay-z is trying to please everyone.diss track,love tracks,club bangers,lyrical bangers...it has everything.it is and stays fochused from the beginning to the end.After so many 6-7 years since his debut he did and made an album equal to Reasonable Doubt.Neither you hate him or you like it,this shit is ill and god damn classic..With this album,having perfect beats and rhymes you cannot hate this album,neither you are an underground freek or a crunk juice groupie.hate it or love it,jigga is on top. Expand
  21. JohnnoH
    May 20, 2007
    10
    Very strong album - one of the best of all-time in the hip-hop genre. I don't give out 10's often, but the way this album flows as well as the beats, lyrics and flow from Jay-Z are outstanding. Hard to pick a favourite track - "Heart of the City" maybe.
  22. RyanT
    Dec 5, 2002
    8
    His best album since Reasonable Doubt. Standout tracks: Takeover, and Girls Girls Girls.
  23. KamalJ
    May 8, 2003
    10
    This album is easily Jay's best album since Reasonable Doubt (sigh, the memories)
  24. AlbertoC
    Jun 20, 2005
    10
    With out a doubt Jay-Z's best work of his career. Nuff said.
  25. MasZ
    Oct 9, 2006
    10
    best album
  26. JoeS
    Feb 21, 2006
    9
    Overall, I was impressed but know that the Great Jay Z could do better. the lyrics are what I wasnt impressed with on a high level. I mean, How could you go to writing Lyrics for the Man, Dr. Dre, to doing something like the blueprint and not adding up to the expectations of being a legend.
  27. GillC
    Apr 21, 2007
    10
    A Modern Day Masterpiece. Top notch production from start to finish. By far, Jay-Z's best work to date.
  28. GregB
    Jun 25, 2007
    10
    The best rap album since Nas' "Illmatic". It's a masterpiece.
  29. CristopherR
    Mar 23, 2008
    10
    This is one of only few albums that you can and must listen to from beginning to end. It is a classic in every way possible.
  30. BlindPainter
    Dec 6, 2009
    9
    I must Awesome album of this Year.
  31. DerekC
    Sep 18, 2009
    8
    Great album, but I don't believe this is Jay-Z's greatest. Reasonable Doubt, The Black Album and American Gangster are before Blueprint in my opinion. However, I do rate it an 8 out of 10, so it is a great album!
  32. DannyD
    Dec 11, 2006
    10
    A hip-hop classic thanks to Kanye West's genius production!!!
  33. jamie
    Nov 29, 2008
    10
    Its a shame that this albums overall user rating is at 8.4 because 2 people decided to give it a zero. Even if you didn't like this album, its obviously worth more than a zero. An amazing album, and one of the reasons people continue to put jay-z in their top 5. If your a hip-hop head, you deserve to treat yourself to, in my opinion, the greatest mc to ever hold a mic. Im not a "dick Its a shame that this albums overall user rating is at 8.4 because 2 people decided to give it a zero. Even if you didn't like this album, its obviously worth more than a zero. An amazing album, and one of the reasons people continue to put jay-z in their top 5. If your a hip-hop head, you deserve to treat yourself to, in my opinion, the greatest mc to ever hold a mic. Im not a "dick rider" in any way....but once i heard the Black Album, i went back and listened to this dudes whole discography......Amazing artist, Amazing album, Amazing dude. G.O.A.T! Expand
  34. JeremyE
    Sep 14, 2009
    8
    Overrated. One of the best produced albums ever, since every beat on this album is amazing. But the lyricism isn't quite there. Still a good album, but by no means worthy of a 10. Pick up The Black Album instead, it's better. Final Verdict: Worth a full listen if you're a Jay fan, but to anyone else, just hear these: Must Hear Songs: The Ruler's Back, Renegade, Breathe Overrated. One of the best produced albums ever, since every beat on this album is amazing. But the lyricism isn't quite there. Still a good album, but by no means worthy of a 10. Pick up The Black Album instead, it's better. Final Verdict: Worth a full listen if you're a Jay fan, but to anyone else, just hear these: Must Hear Songs: The Ruler's Back, Renegade, Breathe Easy (Lyrical Exercise) Also Great: Jigga That N*gga, Heart of the City (Ain't No Love), Song Cry, All I Need Expand
  35. Nov 9, 2011
    10
    One of the few real classic in the genre of hip hop. Came out on 9/11 2001 and still went number one on Billboard. Musically very different and it ushered a new era of soul sampling in hip hop, thanks to the production from Kanye West, Just Blaze, Eminem a more.
  36. Apr 19, 2012
    10
    An album that flawlessly balances mainstream appeal and a high level of street (underground) credibility. Jay's flow and rhymes are at their respective peaks, and his lyrical content is as diverse as it is real. Upon its release, The Blueprint redefined the modern hip-hop sound and lived up to its title by creating a template for all future emcees to follow. In 2001, Carter created aAn album that flawlessly balances mainstream appeal and a high level of street (underground) credibility. Jay's flow and rhymes are at their respective peaks, and his lyrical content is as diverse as it is real. Upon its release, The Blueprint redefined the modern hip-hop sound and lived up to its title by creating a template for all future emcees to follow. In 2001, Carter created a masterpiece and (finally) an album that was on par with Reasonable Doubt. Expand
  37. Sep 17, 2011
    8
    The Blueprint is known as Classic for it's production. Lyrically the Album is good, I won't deny it, but there is many lyrical Albums which are better than this Album. Having said that, The Blueprint is a known as a way of perfecting Mainstream appealing Songs with soulful samples. This Album is known to be one of the best produced Hip Hop Albums of all time and also I have to give praiseThe Blueprint is known as Classic for it's production. Lyrically the Album is good, I won't deny it, but there is many lyrical Albums which are better than this Album. Having said that, The Blueprint is a known as a way of perfecting Mainstream appealing Songs with soulful samples. This Album is known to be one of the best produced Hip Hop Albums of all time and also I have to give praise to Kanye West and Just Blaze who were the main Producers of the Album. These Tracks are flawless for the production. We have Classics like Renegade and Takeover. Even though Renegade was produced by Eminem and the original version was performed by Royce da 5'9" and him; Renegade by Jay-Z and Eminem is still a Classic. Expand
  38. Feb 6, 2012
    10
    Top 10 Albums of all time. Jay really made this album a classic piece. One of these days im gonna pass this album down to my kids and there going to bump this when there 30. Good Job Jay
  39. Aug 13, 2012
    9
    Arguably Jay's best piece of work. Both the lyrics and the beats are top-notch. This album redefined the boundaries of rap and brought forth the new era of rap where soul-sampling became very heavy.
  40. Nov 3, 2012
    10
    truly a great album with some of the best on it like q tip and legendary producer just blaze made an all time classic! my 2nd favourite jay z album ever!
  41. Mar 20, 2013
    10
    Shawn Carter's 6th studio album, "The Blueprint", is the greatest hip hop album of the 21st century. And is a tough competitor for the best in any genre. You get every bit of Jay Z. His confidence, joy, and vulnerability. This album includes great production by newcomers Kanye West & Just Blaze. Every song is either a hit or very strong. One of Hip Hop's essentials.
  42. Oct 19, 2013
    8
    Overrated, but still great. Production-wise, this is an up & down album for me. A lot of corny, poppy production on tracks such as, "Izzo", "Jigga That "You Don't Know", "Hola' Hovito" & "All I Need". Jay-Z delivers his best lyrics on the tracks with great beats though like, "The Ruler's Back", "Takeover", "Heart of The City", "Never Change" & "Renegade". This is why every Jay-Z albumOverrated, but still great. Production-wise, this is an up & down album for me. A lot of corny, poppy production on tracks such as, "Izzo", "Jigga That "You Don't Know", "Hola' Hovito" & "All I Need". Jay-Z delivers his best lyrics on the tracks with great beats though like, "The Ruler's Back", "Takeover", "Heart of The City", "Never Change" & "Renegade". This is why every Jay-Z album is hard to ignore. He always has his best lyrics on his best beats. 8/13 songs is not good enough to call it a classic. Expand
  43. Mar 24, 2014
    10
    Wow.. This is one of the BEST rap albums of all time. it's up there with Reasonable Doubt, Illmatic, All Eyez on Me. Every single song is a great song. It should have won best rap album in 01
  44. Mar 24, 2014
    10
    Such a great album. Another Jay-Z CLASSIC! A good thing about this album is that you CANT get tired of hearing it. You can listen over and over and it never gets old. That's a good album. Jay-Z is the best
  45. Mar 24, 2014
    10
    This album is LEGENDARY. Its so good. CLASSIC. This is Jay-Z at his second best (Reasonable Doubt). BEST RAP ALBUM OF THE 2000s. If you haven't heard it give it a try.
  46. Jun 5, 2014
    10
    Better than theBetter than the MMLP................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................ Expand
  47. Jun 5, 2014
    10
    this is a really great album. its my favorite. I think everybody on planet Earth should hear this album. Jay Z is a beast on it.

    Lyrics 9.5/10
    production 10/10
    flow 10/10
    overall 10/10

    The Roc!!!!!!
  48. Jun 5, 2014
    10
    why does this album only have an 8.9 for user score. This is THE BEST album that is on Metacritic.

    The Rulers Back 10/10 - GREAT intro Takeover 10/10 - A trillion times better than Ether Izzo 10/10 - classic Girls, Girls, Girls 10/10 - classic. (very underrated) Jigga That Ni**a 10/10 - great lyrics, great song U Don't Know 10/10 - Possibly the best song on the album Hola' Hovito
    why does this album only have an 8.9 for user score. This is THE BEST album that is on Metacritic.

    The Rulers Back 10/10 - GREAT intro
    Takeover 10/10 - A trillion times better than Ether
    Izzo 10/10 - classic
    Girls, Girls, Girls 10/10 - classic. (very underrated)
    Jigga That Ni**a 10/10 - great lyrics, great song
    U Don't Know 10/10 - Possibly the best song on the album
    Hola' Hovito 9.5/10 - cool song, VERY underrated
    Heart of the City 10/10 - Gives U Don't Know a run for its money. classic
    Never Change 10/10 - great song, great production, great lyrics
    Song Cry 10/10 - really good song. Jay-Z shows his softer side
    All I Need 10/10 - (i love this song). Pays homage to 2Pacs Me and my Girlfriend (not to be confused with 03 Bonnie & Clyde)
    Renegade 10/10 - Great feature by Eminem (Jay-Z did not get beat by the way). classic
    Blueprint 9.5/10 - great outro. deep song.

    Bonus Tracks
    Lyrical Exercise 10/10 - Great Lyrics!
    Girls, Girls, Girls, Pt. 2 8.5/10 - not as good as the first but still good.

    overall 10/10
    Expand
  49. Mar 22, 2015
    8
    8.5/10................................................................................................................................................
  50. Apr 24, 2015
    10
    A hip-hop masterpiece, with Hova still eating the mic and Kanye joining Tim on the production, every single song sounds like a hit. Izzo, Heart of the city and Renegade (with Em's incredible verses) are arguably the album's best songs.
Metascore
88

Universal acclaim - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 12
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 12
  3. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. The Bed-Stuy boy musters up enough of his own charisma, charm and wit to build another solid release.
  2. A fully realized masterpiece.
  3. It's not radically new - although the Timbaland and the Trackmasters contributions are genuinely exciting - but it's exactly what a lot of people want to hear from a hip-hop album right now.