The Bones of What You Believe

Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
Buy On
  1. Oct 11, 2013
    60
    These singles are still some of the best music being put out today, but the filler songs are so forgettable that it's hard to see the forest through the trees.
  2. Sep 23, 2013
    60
    There's enough crunch to their hooky electropop to dispel accusations of unwarranted hype.
  3. Sep 23, 2013
    60
    It is powerful but blunt electronic pop; hooks always aimed to tear, melodrama at an uncomfortable volume. Still it often works.
  4. Dec 17, 2013
    50
    The Bones of What You Believe loses steam quickly, leaving nothing new that approaches the promise of the group’s early releases.
  5. Sep 23, 2013
    50
    While the album has its fair share of sweet spots, the handful of capable melodies never quite balances out its bizarre impulses or the utter lack of thematic unity.
  6. Sep 20, 2013
    50
    It is hard to care too much about something this safe.
  7. Sep 27, 2013
    40
    It’s merely average, one likely to fade into memory once the buzz dies down and the fire goes out.
User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 191 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 19
  2. Negative: 1 out of 19
  1. Sep 26, 2013
    10
    This is really one of the most accessible albums I've heard this year. You really can't fault well-crafted pop albums for sticking to theThis is really one of the most accessible albums I've heard this year. You really can't fault well-crafted pop albums for sticking to the genre; I find it a complete buzzkill to speculate on the possible future when they've released one album. Every song on this is a pretty perfectly crafted pop song, in the best sense. Full Review »
  2. Sep 24, 2013
    7
    Crystal clear vocals, flawless production and a sound which is both familiar and fresh this is a band who puts their best foot forward. "TakeCrystal clear vocals, flawless production and a sound which is both familiar and fresh this is a band who puts their best foot forward. "Take no chances" Lauren sings on 'Tether', and to some degree they take their own advice. This might not have been the adventurous debut many had anticipated, but they do what they do best, which is upbeat, likeable electronic pop. This is a strong showing, but I fear in coming years it will not be too memorable. Full Review »
  3. Oct 26, 2014
    10
    This album is great. The perfect blend of the pop, electronic, and synth music genre. You can tell the band was influenced by some 80s musicThis album is great. The perfect blend of the pop, electronic, and synth music genre. You can tell the band was influenced by some 80s music by the sound of some songs. The band sounds just as good live as they do on the album. A must have in my opinion. Science/Visions is my personal fave Full Review »