The Carpenter

Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
Buy On
  1. Under The Radar
    Nov 30, 2012
    60
    The brothers [are] as painfully earnest as ever. [Oct/Nov 2012, p.128]
  2. Mojo
    Nov 21, 2012
    60
    The result is a trifle confusing. [Dec 2012, p.85]
  3. Nov 9, 2012
    60
    The Carpenter isn't a total dud, because the Avetts are so skilled with a melody, but the plain-speaking has turned to clunkiness.
  4. The Avetts are clearly happiest when they're miserable. Which is fine, if you're in that kind of mood.
  5. 60
    The Carpenter, like many pieces of art, is a record that becomes more relatable with age and, most frighteningly, loss. For those of us that have been lucky thus far, we'll have to wait and see.
  6. Sep 13, 2012
    60
    The North Carolina natives mix the boisterousness with the balladry well, while delivering image-evoking lyrics in between.
  7. Uncut
    Oct 26, 2012
    50
    Pleasant but faintly drippy folk-pop. [Dec 2012, p.65]
  8. 40
    Save for the opening "The Once and Future Carpenter", about a woodworker who abandons his trade to wander, this second album is pretty dismal fare.
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 23 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Sep 12, 2012
    10
    Two listens and I am absolutely hooked. There are some instant classics on this album, including "The Once and Future Carpenter" and "WinterTwo listens and I am absolutely hooked. There are some instant classics on this album, including "The Once and Future Carpenter" and "Winter In My Heart," which will remind you of a Don McLean classic. This is simple music with beautiful hooks, lovely turns of phrase and well-tuned harmony. Full Review »
  2. Sep 26, 2012
    7
    My favorite are the 1st two songs and then the rest are pretty mellow and chill but they sound very similar. Its a very nice album that isMy favorite are the 1st two songs and then the rest are pretty mellow and chill but they sound very similar. Its a very nice album that is definitely for one of those days when you need to relax Full Review »
  3. Sep 20, 2012
    4
    I feel like I'm alone here, but after five or six listens I still can't get into it. There are a few solid songs, but even those pale inI feel like I'm alone here, but after five or six listens I still can't get into it. There are a few solid songs, but even those pale in comparison to the originality and energy of their previous songs/albums. They play this one too safe for my tastes. Full Review »