User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 70 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 63 out of 70
  2. Negative: 4 out of 70

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 10, 2011
    10
    é o que se pode chamar de obra perfeita. as músicas tem letras muito bem escritas, o vocal é bem destacado , os arranjos são muito bons. Enfim, é um diamante.
  2. Mar 18, 2015
    8
    Track by track review:
    1. Harlem's Nocturne 9.5/10
    2. Karma 10/10 3. Heartburn 10/10 4. If I Was Your Woman/Walk on By 9/10 5. You Don't Know My Name 8.5/10 6. If I Ain't Got You 7/10 7. Diary 10/10 8. Dragon Days 10/10 9. Wake Up 10/10 10. So Simple 10/10 11. When You Really Love Someone 9/10 12. Feeling U, Feeling Me (Interlude) 6/10 13. Slow Down 8/10 14. Samsonite Man
    Track by track review:
    1. Harlem's Nocturne 9.5/10
    2. Karma 10/10
    3. Heartburn 10/10
    4. If I Was Your Woman/Walk on By 9/10
    5. You Don't Know My Name 8.5/10
    6. If I Ain't Got You 7/10
    7. Diary 10/10
    8. Dragon Days 10/10
    9. Wake Up 10/10
    10. So Simple 10/10
    11. When You Really Love Someone 9/10
    12. Feeling U, Feeling Me (Interlude) 6/10
    13. Slow Down 8/10
    14. Samsonite Man 9/10
    15. Nobody Not Really 8.5/10

    Highlights: Karma, Diary, So Simple, Heartburn, Wake Up
    Potential singles: You Don't Know My Name, If I Ain't Got You, Heartburn, Karma
    Expand
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. 90
    Brimming with updated old-school joints, original balladry, and classic-sounding R&B, Diary finds Keys more relaxed, confident, and committed to the tunes of the '70s than ever before. [Feb 2004, p.127]
  2. The project is clearly laboring to be relevant to the current marketplace and thus suffers from a serious lack of cohesion.
  3. Keys plays it far too safe here: There's nothing that will offend, and the content is patently generic enough that almost anyone, lovelorn or heartbroken, can build a personal soundtrack of romantic woe from its raw materials.