• Record Label: Epitaph
  • Release Date: Jun 8, 2004
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 15
  2. Negative: 1 out of 15
  1. 91
    Good records from the Descendents and Bad Religion in one year? Joe Strummer's ghost must be keeping close watch. [Jul 2004, p.110]
  2. One of its most charged and inspired records in years.
  3. 80
    As potent and timely as anything it released during the Reagan era. [#64, p.83]
  4. 80
    This is the band at their melodious best. [Jun 2004, p.112]
  5. Even if some tracks unfold more like political manifestos than songs, Bad Religion has succeeded in expressing its outrage more eloquently while sustaining its musical muscle over the years. [6 Jun 2004]
  6. While not as edgy as The Process of Belief, it is more complex and better produced.
  7. 70
    Angrier than ever, Bad Religion aim punk's adolescent fury at grownup targets. [Jun/Jul 2004, p.134]
  8. Bad Religion sound more relevant than ever on their incendiary, political manifesto The Empire Strikes First.
  9. A thrill from first to last. [Aug 2004, p.106]
User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 21 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 17
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 17
  3. Negative: 2 out of 17
  1. SteveH
    Feb 3, 2010
    6
    This is a solid album that does exactly what Bad Religion are supposed to do. It's melodic, it's angry, it gets to the point. Fans This is a solid album that does exactly what Bad Religion are supposed to do. It's melodic, it's angry, it gets to the point. Fans won't be disappointed. Full Review »
  2. Dan
    Mar 22, 2007
    9
    I think i have listened to this cd a dozen times in the past 24 hours and each time i find myself singing along, fist in the air. Let them I think i have listened to this cd a dozen times in the past 24 hours and each time i find myself singing along, fist in the air. Let them Eat War is my new favorite Bad religion song. Full Review »
  3. Anders
    May 8, 2006
    9
    A solid, if unspecacular album. There are a bunch of good songs on here, and it's a good listen.