The Empire Strikes First

  • Record Label: Epitaph
  • Release Date: Jun 8, 2004
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 15
  2. Negative: 1 out of 15
  1. One of its most charged and inspired records in years.
  2. Bad Religion sound more relevant than ever on their incendiary, political manifesto The Empire Strikes First.
  3. Los Angeles Times
    75
    Even if some tracks unfold more like political manifestos than songs, Bad Religion has succeeded in expressing its outrage more eloquently while sustaining its musical muscle over the years. [6 Jun 2004]
  4. Mojo
    80
    This is the band at their melodious best. [Jun 2004, p.112]
  5. Blender
    70
    Angrier than ever, Bad Religion aim punk's adolescent fury at grownup targets. [Jun/Jul 2004, p.134]
  6. Q Magazine
    70
    A thrill from first to last. [Aug 2004, p.106]
  7. Spin
    91
    Good records from the Descendents and Bad Religion in one year? Joe Strummer's ghost must be keeping close watch. [Jul 2004, p.110]
  8. Magnet
    80
    As potent and timely as anything it released during the Reagan era. [#64, p.83]
  9. While not as edgy as The Process of Belief, it is more complex and better produced.
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 22 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 17
  2. Negative: 2 out of 17
  1. SteveH
    Feb 3, 2010
    6
    This is a solid album that does exactly what Bad Religion are supposed to do. It's melodic, it's angry, it gets to the point. Fans This is a solid album that does exactly what Bad Religion are supposed to do. It's melodic, it's angry, it gets to the point. Fans won't be disappointed. Full Review »
  2. Dan
    Mar 22, 2007
    9
    I think i have listened to this cd a dozen times in the past 24 hours and each time i find myself singing along, fist in the air. Let them I think i have listened to this cd a dozen times in the past 24 hours and each time i find myself singing along, fist in the air. Let them Eat War is my new favorite Bad religion song. Full Review »
  3. Anders
    May 8, 2006
    9
    A solid, if unspecacular album. There are a bunch of good songs on here, and it's a good listen.