The Girl In The Other Room

  • Record Label: Verve
  • Release Date: Apr 27, 2004
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Entertainment Weekly
    91
    Alternately poignant and playful. [30 Apr 2004, p.161]
  2. This bold recording is a jazz record made with care, creativity, and a wonderfully intimate aesthetic fueling its 12 songs.
  3. The pretty ballads meditating on the vast wilderness and lonely highways of the great white north provide the perfect showcase for Krall's sultry voice and Costello's classic melodies.
  4. Key to the success of the disc is Krall's stretch on the keys, making this her strongest jazz outing.
  5. Q Magazine
    70
    There's a bolder choice of material.... Her playing has loosened up too. [Jun 2004, p.100]
  6. The Girl In The Other Room represents an experiment for Krall, and not an entirely successful one, but at the end of the record, having demonstrated the confidence to explain herself, she comes out with some of her most persuasive music yet.
  7. Mojo
    60
    Starts strong and finishes weak, but it's forgivable considering the gems contained in this 12-song set. [May 2004, p.97]
  8. Unfortunately, the spell breaks down and the songs grow tedious as the album nears its end, practically running out of a steam like an emotional rollercoaster stranded at the bottom of the tracks.
  9. Blender
    40
    For all their craft, the songs are bland and vague. [May 2004, p.126]
  10. Uncut
    40
    It's Krall's voice that has always been her biggest problem... consequently, these songs feel like elegant but bloodless conceits. [Jun 2004, p.85]
User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 10 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. FrankG
    Oct 24, 2005
    10
    Norah Jones eat your heart out! In her husband Elvis Costello she found the right songwriter to match her voice, and she also (co)wrote some Norah Jones eat your heart out! In her husband Elvis Costello she found the right songwriter to match her voice, and she also (co)wrote some songs herself. An excellent album and much much better than Norah Jones, Madeleine Peyroux and Regina Belle. A talent re-born!!!! Full Review »
  2. SteveD
    Jan 10, 2005
    4
    Technically well done. The sound quality is good, but where are the melodies? With the exception of 'The Look of Love' I raved Technically well done. The sound quality is good, but where are the melodies? With the exception of 'The Look of Love' I raved about her CDs, but this one is filled with songs that go nowhere, and that are easily forgettable....I'm not saying she should resume just doing jazz standards, but better material than this has to be available somewhere...I found it tedious. Full Review »
  3. PeterB
    Oct 18, 2004
    10
    This is simply fantastic. I have always been lukewarm about jazz, but this puts a different light on it. My favorites are the songs she has This is simply fantastic. I have always been lukewarm about jazz, but this puts a different light on it. My favorites are the songs she has written, and the Joni Mitchell song. I play this again and again and again Full Review »