The Girl In The Other Room

  • Record Label: Verve
  • Release Date: Apr 27, 2004
User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 10 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 10
  2. Negative: 1 out of 10

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. FrankG
    Oct 24, 2005
    10
    Norah Jones eat your heart out! In her husband Elvis Costello she found the right songwriter to match her voice, and she also (co)wrote some songs herself. An excellent album and much much better than Norah Jones, Madeleine Peyroux and Regina Belle. A talent re-born!!!!
  2. PeterB
    Oct 18, 2004
    10
    This is simply fantastic. I have always been lukewarm about jazz, but this puts a different light on it. My favorites are the songs she has written, and the Joni Mitchell song. I play this again and again and again
  3. BGrosz
    May 4, 2004
    8
    Some outstanding cuts, especially a cover of Love Me Like a Man, the title track, Joni Mitchell's Black Crow and the closing Departure Bay. This is unlike anything she has recorded before.
  4. VinceH.
    Jun 19, 2004
    7
    Many long-time fans have been complaining about Krall's new direction for this CD. It is much more like Elvis Costello's recent "North" than any of her previous work. Despite the same musicians and producer, it is truly unlike her old stuff. Personally I like a lot of the songs, but there are a lot of duds scattered throughout that mess up the momentum. There is some great music Many long-time fans have been complaining about Krall's new direction for this CD. It is much more like Elvis Costello's recent "North" than any of her previous work. Despite the same musicians and producer, it is truly unlike her old stuff. Personally I like a lot of the songs, but there are a lot of duds scattered throughout that mess up the momentum. There is some great music here, I just wish artists would learn to either be more discriminating with the songs they put on their albums or cut them down a bit. Expand
  5. SteveD
    Jan 10, 2005
    4
    Technically well done. The sound quality is good, but where are the melodies? With the exception of 'The Look of Love' I raved about her CDs, but this one is filled with songs that go nowhere, and that are easily forgettable....I'm not saying she should resume just doing jazz standards, but better material than this has to be available somewhere...I found it tedious.
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Key to the success of the disc is Krall's stretch on the keys, making this her strongest jazz outing.
  2. Entertainment Weekly
    91
    Alternately poignant and playful. [30 Apr 2004, p.161]
  3. Q Magazine
    70
    There's a bolder choice of material.... Her playing has loosened up too. [Jun 2004, p.100]