The Graceless Age - John Murry
Metascore
88

Universal acclaim - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. May 21, 2013
    100
    The dark matter of his fall that holds The Graceless Age together is formidable stuff. [Jun 2013, p.85]
  2. May 21, 2013
    100
    I don't expect to hear a better album this year.
  3. May 21, 2013
    90
    This is what The Graceless Age as a whole does so unforgettably, bearing witness to a burning world. [Sep 2012, p.70]
  4. 90
    There are standouts everywhere.
  5. May 21, 2013
    80
    As harrowing and honest as some lyrics may be, though, the intensely beautiful Southern Sky at least offers his "crooked arms" some redemption. [Sep 2012, p.104]
  6. Fans of Springsteen's downer side might flow with the music's riverine vibe.
  7. 60
    It’s a well-crafted debut from a worthy new artist, but it’s competent rather than compelling.
User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 14 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Jun 29, 2013
    9
    What a great album? Start to end, every song. Favorites- The Ballad of the Pajama Kid, California, Little Colored Balloons, Southern Sky, Penny Nails, really all are excellent. The style has the ballad expertise of Springsteen, Kathleen Edwards but the lyrics are so powerful they demand a close listen, Full Review »
  2. Jun 22, 2013
    10
    To me this is an album of 2012, but anyway, John Murry has made some of the best songs this decade. "Little Colored Balloons" is one of the strongest songs I've ever heard, "Southern Sky" is a masterpiece, "Things We Lost In the Fire" presents the great singer/songwriter, and "Thorn Tree In the Garden" shows he sure knows to pick his cover-songs. The rest is brilliant! Full Review »
  3. Jun 8, 2013
    9
    At first listen I thought this is a bit dreary and it had a sense of it's been done before.Ten listens later and I'm stopping what I'm doing, placing myself between the speakers and savouring every moment. Fantastic! Full Review »