The Great Escape Artist - Jane's Addiction
User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 17 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 17
  2. Negative: 2 out of 17

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 27, 2011
    9
    Let's start with what this isn't. It's not Nothing Shocking, it's not Ritual de lo Habitual, It's not Strays. If you want to listen to a Jane's album like those then listen to those albums. It's also not Jane's best album, in fact it probably their fourth best studio album after those mentioned above. So what is it? This is definitely a Jane's Addiction album, it is different to what has gone before, an evolution and an experiment in a slightly new more mellow direction but clearly identifiable as Jane's Addiction. Perry, Dave and Steve are still creating unique, interesting and moving music that is better than almost everything else out there. Expand
  2. Oct 20, 2011
    9
    Just picked up the new album. I like it, sounds like good ol' Jane's Addiction. I see reviews of "Same Stuff", but I like my band's to do what made me like them in the first place, not to add a harp player. If u like Jane's Addiction, u will like this album. Solid 9
  3. Oct 22, 2011
    10
    Where are the very positive reviews from USA Today, NME, MOJO, All Music Guide and Billboard? It's a pretty solid album. It's a new sound but it's genuine and has great atmosphere. Reminds me of when The Smashing Pumpkins released Adore.
  4. Jan 11, 2012
    10
    This album follows the "All killer no filler" motto. I can listen to this album straight through with no skipping tracks. Perry's voice sounds stellar and has not gotten worse with age and his lyrics and melodies are very dominant on this album. Dave Navarro lays down the guitar and shines especially in "Underground" and "End to the Lies". His performance is great. Perkins always steps it up another level with the drumming and it is no exception on this album. The technology used on this record makes it modern and bring Jane's Addiction towards the future. Expand
  5. Jun 25, 2012
    10
    Metacritic won't include positive reviews by NME, or other publications like USA Today, so I've decide to help balance out the playing field for those of you who base your music listening decisions off...of all things...review scores (yuck). The Great Escape Artist is Jane's for the modern day. They're older, wiser, richer, less adventurous, and happy. This happens in life once you succeed. Because of this, their music is not as dangerous or erratic as it once was. However, it is still layered with superb instrumentals and vocals that easily get the job done. It took me until my fourth spin of the album until it clicked, and now I love it. The only song I don't enjoy is "Word Right Out of My Mouth" simply because it is generic and boring; unlike Jane's. Strong cuts include "Underground" which sounds like it's straight out of their 1990 back catalog, "Irresistible Force" which is the most melodic and beautiful track on the album, and "Twisted Tales" as the 2011 Jane's anthem for the kids. Eric Avery may be gone, but Navarro took over handling most musical writing and has emerged victorious. This is exactly how I imagined Jane's of 2011 would be, and certainly not bad for a 52 year-old Perry Farrell. Expand
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 26
  2. Negative: 2 out of 26
  1. Dec 22, 2011
    80
    Periodically dormant they may be, but it's clearly a tactic that works for Jane's. [Nov 2011, p.93]
  2. Dec 15, 2011
    60
    Imagination and maturity abound, energy less so, although it bodes well for the next album. [Dec. 2001 p. 127]
  3. Nov 3, 2011
    40
    The Great Escape rarely moves past generic dance-floor thump and sway. [Oct 2011, p.100]