• Record Label: Matador
  • Release Date: Jan 24, 2006
User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 88 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 76 out of 88
  2. Negative: 4 out of 88

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. StepanS
    Mar 6, 2006
    5
    Great form, but not really much content inside it.
  2. JayM
    Feb 7, 2006
    6
    Okay. Definitely overhyped. This is above average music, but nothing special.
  3. calvinh
    Feb 17, 2006
    6
    No depression? Don't listen this album. I can listen Chan Marshall's "You are free" (2003) only at a very low dosage, but I like it: not the same for this last work.
  4. RIck
    Feb 6, 2006
    5
    Honestly, what's so great about this?
  5. MeyaC.
    Mar 24, 2006
    6
    it kind of bored me, but there were still a few good songs on it. chan marshall's voice is as beautiful as ever.
  6. Andy
    Aug 22, 2006
    6
    Gets a little monotonous as it drags on. The first three tracks are fantastic though.
  7. JeremyF
    May 8, 2007
    6
    I give it a 6, 3 stars out of 5. I personally think it has lost something major... but so cryptically that I can't put my finger on what. YOU ARE FREE and MOON PIX are so much better, in my opinion. They have all the sadness and mood, but melody and feeling to boot. Although "The Greatest" and "Hate" are two of her best songs ever, this cd fails in comparison to her previous works. I I give it a 6, 3 stars out of 5. I personally think it has lost something major... but so cryptically that I can't put my finger on what. YOU ARE FREE and MOON PIX are so much better, in my opinion. They have all the sadness and mood, but melody and feeling to boot. Although "The Greatest" and "Hate" are two of her best songs ever, this cd fails in comparison to her previous works. I think I even like DEAR SIR better, but, that might be pushing it. Expand
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. Aside from one or two bore-me-ups, this is an album of understated perfection.
  2. It doesn't take a genius to see that this is a wicked concept on paper: Marshall's got the voice and the vibe to make it work, but there's a nagging sense that it wasn't properly planned out.
  3. Uncut
    90
    Similarly to Lambchop's Nixon, it weaves together new and old, soul and country, black and white, love and hate, to form an understated masterpiece. [Feb 2006, p.74]