• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
The  Head and the Heart Image
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 19 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Buy On
  • Record Label: Sub Pop
  • Genre(s): Folk, Americana, Alternative/Indie Rock, Alternative Pop/Rock, Indie Folk
  • More Details and Credits »

Top Track

Lost in My Mind
Put your dreams away for now I won't see you for some time I am lost in my mind I get lost in my mind Momma once told me You're already home where... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 18
  2. Negative: 1 out of 18
  1. If they stick to the melodic folk at the core of their best songs, that fateful open-mic night could be the beginning of something really great.
  2. Uncut
    May 25, 2011
    80
    It's a long time since a debut album forged its influences into something quite as fresh and rich as this. [May 2011, p.87]
  3. 80
    If well-crafted folk-pop leaves you feeling lukewarm, by all means join the naysayers; otherwise, I'll be on the side of those dancing and singing along.
  4. May 25, 2011
    70
    For all the humming and picking, the songs feel too similar to each other to hold interest throughout.
  5. May 25, 2011
    50
    More problematic are the melodies and the songs themselves; they strive for rousing resonance, a deep sense of loss, but often settle for pat prettiness and easy sentimentality.
  6. Sep 13, 2011
    40
    There's potential in the chemistry, but no daring.
  7. May 25, 2011
    38
    Conceptually, they're close to Mumford & Sons: opportunistic in their borrowings, yet entirely unimaginative in the execution. Theirs is a thoroughly timid, tentative take on Americana: roots music without the roots.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 4
  2. Negative: 1 out of 4
  1. Sep 9, 2016
    10
    Sorry user davidson, but this album isn't either of the two negative things you mentioned.

    It's both original and is quite far from being
    Sorry user davidson, but this album isn't either of the two negative things you mentioned.

    It's both original and is quite far from being repetitive.

    Give this album a listen from an amazing band that might have had it's best work on it's first wide release album, which is getting more typical these days.

    I have some great memories attached to this album and with good reason, it's can hit you in the feels very often and can catch you singing along without even knowing it.
    Expand
  2. May 3, 2014
    10
    The Head and The Heart prove to be a powerful band, that includes folk aspects in metaphorical touching songs, their debut is, without aThe Head and The Heart prove to be a powerful band, that includes folk aspects in metaphorical touching songs, their debut is, without a doubt, a genuine piece of magic. Collapse
  3. Feb 27, 2017
    5
    This is an enjoyable album to listen to, it serves as decent music for casual listening but that is all. The lyrics are not particularlyThis is an enjoyable album to listen to, it serves as decent music for casual listening but that is all. The lyrics are not particularly creative and the melodic arrangements of the songs are predictable and uninspired.

    The song rivers and roads seems to be an anthem of millennial uncertainty, and while some may find it relatable, its discussion of changing times is trite. The songs follow rather predictable patterns, verse, courus etc swelling guitar cords and the occasional delicate sound of a piano or violin. While well executed by talented musicians it is uninspired in the sense that I have heard that same sound from other bands.

    However this should not detract from a persons enjoyment of this album; while their music itself is forgettable the memories I made with my friends while listening to the head and the heart are quite fond.
    Expand
  4. Dec 10, 2013
    0
    Repetitive and derivative., but at least it's repetitive.

    Over sentimental, overly borrowed, overly styled, overly lacking in content. I'm
    Repetitive and derivative., but at least it's repetitive.

    Over sentimental, overly borrowed, overly styled, overly lacking in content. I'm sure there's someone trying on a tight fitting grey pleather jacket and seeing which pouty face goes with it and I'm sure this person likes the band and would make an impassioned argument against my claims. If it wasn't for the uninspired live performance I may have kept said opinion to myself. But sister, this is a cruel world and some people are gonna knock the stuff you like. And sister, sometimes they're right.
    Expand