The Information

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 102 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 89 out of 102
  2. Negative: 5 out of 102

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. mikes.
    Oct 5, 2006
    5
    Beck has gotten into a comfortable groove as of late and I believe AMG overrated this album. Yes Nigel Godrich is a great producer and does a good job in giving Beck focus. In theory, this album should be good enough to be considered one of his best. It will satisfy hardcore Beck fans. But Beck's original albums had an inviting vibe that helped him break into mainstream pop culture, Beck has gotten into a comfortable groove as of late and I believe AMG overrated this album. Yes Nigel Godrich is a great producer and does a good job in giving Beck focus. In theory, this album should be good enough to be considered one of his best. It will satisfy hardcore Beck fans. But Beck's original albums had an inviting vibe that helped him break into mainstream pop culture, this new release lacks that energy. This is largely due to the fact that Beck hasn't modernized his production. If Beck grabbed Scott Storch, Timbaland, Max Martin: he could of made something special and refreshing. Don't get me wrong Godrich does a good job, lots of depth and consistency in production and in Beck's songwriting. However, he seems to be retracing his earlier artistic career and trying to recreate what he did with his earlier albums. If this album came out 10 years ago it would be a masterpiece. Now he sounds comfortable, not lazy, but also not quite inspiring. What disappoints me the most is that he continues to remain in the same genre of funk,rap,pop,folk, indie and throws them all into a melting pot. For an artist that has previously displayed creativity and variety with Sea Changes, Odelay, and his earlier more experimental work, it seems Beck is now repeating himself, musically and with the retro production by Godrich as well. Overall the album is average, and not that fun or entertaining. Expand
  2. zzgreen
    Oct 20, 2006
    3
    Beck continues to dissapoint! He started his career with a few loud bangs, and now he seems to just be whimpering more with each new album. There is nothing peppy and interesting in his music anymore. No more jump. Just bland music, mixed with bland lyrics. Come on! Get back to the basics!
  3. RickS
    Oct 29, 2006
    2
    You can tell straight off the bat the critics don't have a clue what there talking about, take the NY times-"[A] darkly intelligent album", ahhh NO did you listen to the album, this album is anything but dark as$#le. Ok take The Onion-"There's nothing here that Beck hasn't done before", why yes the same old sh!t he's been trying to find, but you seem to give him a high You can tell straight off the bat the critics don't have a clue what there talking about, take the NY times-"[A] darkly intelligent album", ahhh NO did you listen to the album, this album is anything but dark as$#le. Ok take The Onion-"There's nothing here that Beck hasn't done before", why yes the same old sh!t he's been trying to find, but you seem to give him a high score. Haa I love Rolling Stone almost everything they say is so wrong it just cracks me up-"One of the best albums Beck has ever made", right, alot of beck fans might want to take you up on that. Well for me this album was like listening to a "band" that Expand
  4. RyanH
    Jan 3, 2007
    9
    I do not see how anyone could rate this album poorly. Especially anything under an 8. While starting off with the free moving song elevator music every song is pretty solid but it does seem to sputter out at the end. Nausea could be the best song of 2006 to rock out to while having real musical quality.
  5. AlexA
    Oct 16, 2006
    10
    Beck has reached an optimal level of madness on this album. It is just perfect.
  6. GabeC
    Oct 10, 2006
    8
    As soon as I heard about Beck doing a 'hip-hop' album with Nigel Godrich, I got seriously excited. As hard as it was to imagine at the time, I knew it would be something special. And it is, for the most part. In fact theres absolutely nothing wrong about this album at all (except for 1000 bpm - I rarely admit that a beck song is truly just BAD). The problem is its just so smooth As soon as I heard about Beck doing a 'hip-hop' album with Nigel Godrich, I got seriously excited. As hard as it was to imagine at the time, I knew it would be something special. And it is, for the most part. In fact theres absolutely nothing wrong about this album at all (except for 1000 bpm - I rarely admit that a beck song is truly just BAD). The problem is its just so smooth and comfortable that it never really incites excitement or exhiliration, as previous Beck albums have. Luckily, after hearing about 9 of the tracks online before the album was out, my expectations were down - not in terms of the quality, but in regards to how much the album pushed the tempo (or didn't push the tempo, as the case is here). It rarely puts its foot on the accelerator, but in its slow pace is still very layered and gets more interesting with repeated listens. What it makes for is a smooth, breezy album with the same kind of homogenous feel that was all over Sea Change and Mutations (thanks to Mr Godrich), and some really nice moments that do stand out eventually. Elevator Music, Strange Apparition, Motorcade, Inside Out and Think I'm In Love are my favourites. In light of the variation and shapeshifting that Beck has already done, its totally reasonable that he can make a 'Beck-by-numbers' record and get away with it, especially since its so well produced and delivered, and since being straightforward like this is actually something he hasn't done before. It may be the middle of the road but its the middle of Beck's road and thats a pretty freaked out highway to be in the middle of. The trick now is for him to not fall into the trap of repeating this. I'm sure he'll keep it interesting by continuing to work with different producers (hopefully Tony Hoffer again) and by being his eclectic self. Then all he has to do is get around to touring Australia again and my life is complete. Expand
  7. ChrisM
    Oct 4, 2006
    9
    Awesome CD, perfectly captures the mood of 2006, and it has a great flow to it. Godrich's production is unreal, i dont think any radiohead fan ever thought he could produce something this dark and funky and actually make it sound good.
  8. mc
    Oct 4, 2006
    9
    back in fine form. entertainment weekly is correct...it is sonically incredible thanks to nigel's signature production chops. dark star is a real standout for me
  9. StevenG
    Oct 4, 2006
    10
    He's done it again! This album is utterly amazing. Beck has fiercely combined the hushed sounds he created with Nigel Godrich on Mutations and Sea Change, while also recalling his collaborations with the Dust Brothers, ultimately making for a mesmerizing listening experience.
  10. ToddW
    Oct 4, 2006
    5
    Beck is the living embodiment of the saying, "You can fool some of the people all of the time." This was a hold-my-nose, blindly hit any number key ranking. I'm really trying to understand and appreciate this guy, I really am. However, after getting my hopes wildly up following Odelay, everything that's followed has been sort of, well, ugh. Even enlisting uber producer Nigel Beck is the living embodiment of the saying, "You can fool some of the people all of the time." This was a hold-my-nose, blindly hit any number key ranking. I'm really trying to understand and appreciate this guy, I really am. However, after getting my hopes wildly up following Odelay, everything that's followed has been sort of, well, ugh. Even enlisting uber producer Nigel Godrich on his recent works has helped little to make his sound palatable. This guy may either be too talented for his own good, or he is a one-note wonder who sucks and is taking all of us along for a ride with his latest rehashing of the same three chords. Next... Expand
  11. BaileyR
    Oct 4, 2006
    10
    "The Information" is "Dark Side of the Moon" brilliant.
  12. gregor
    Oct 5, 2006
    10
    fantastic.
  13. jeffc
    Oct 6, 2006
    9
    Do not review ANY album until after 5 listens........ Pnik Floyd meets the artist- formerl-y known as Justin Timberlake. Beck...once again is doing what noone else does...
  14. RossG.
    Jun 8, 2007
    9
    This album is vastly underrated to the point that it's almost criminal. I'll admit I wasn't a huge fan at first, but repeated listens revealed its genius. On many of the tracks, Beck layers the sounds in the songs so perfectly you can't help but be amazed at his appreciation for texture and production. Songs such as Soldier Jane, Cell Phone's Dead and Dark Star This album is vastly underrated to the point that it's almost criminal. I'll admit I wasn't a huge fan at first, but repeated listens revealed its genius. On many of the tracks, Beck layers the sounds in the songs so perfectly you can't help but be amazed at his appreciation for texture and production. Songs such as Soldier Jane, Cell Phone's Dead and Dark Star (off the top of my head) among many others are classics. As a devout fan of his older albums including the overlooked Mellow Gold and the acclaimed Odelay, I can say with confidence that this album is up there with his best, beating out the previous year's Guero by a long shot. Expand
  15. Joris
    Oct 14, 2006
    10
    Of all of his releases, I enjoyed this the most. It's a no filler all killer blend of different genres, with haunting songs such as Movie Theme (that can meet with his fantastic "Broken Drum" from Guero) and timeless Beck anthems such as Nausea and Cell Phones Dead. Other highlights are No Complaints, Soldier Jane, I Think I'm In Love ... ah well vereything. Worth you Of all of his releases, I enjoyed this the most. It's a no filler all killer blend of different genres, with haunting songs such as Movie Theme (that can meet with his fantastic "Broken Drum" from Guero) and timeless Beck anthems such as Nausea and Cell Phones Dead. Other highlights are No Complaints, Soldier Jane, I Think I'm In Love ... ah well vereything. Worth you well-earned money. Maybe Beck's best Expand
  16. MattD.
    Oct 3, 2006
    7
    Disorganized. A little too much funk, though he can make it quite cool at times. Plenty of good Beck moments, but they are interspersed in this long album.
  17. [Anonymous]
    Oct 3, 2006
    7
    Beck is very creative, and doesn't seem to run short of ideas very quickly - well, the dorky Guero album was an exception last year. I didn't really expect much, especially with this album coming so soon after Guero, but the Information was surprisingly good. The songs pop songs with sound collages to make them unique and interesting - some work out and others are too Beck is very creative, and doesn't seem to run short of ideas very quickly - well, the dorky Guero album was an exception last year. I didn't really expect much, especially with this album coming so soon after Guero, but the Information was surprisingly good. The songs pop songs with sound collages to make them unique and interesting - some work out and others are too meandering, boring, and just fall flat. In general, the quality of this album is top notch, and some of the songs are better than anything Beck has made since Odelay (or maybe Mutations). The album does suffer from a little too much material, and runs a little long. I agree with one of the reviewers who said that Beck needs a better editor, for quality control. Grade: 7.4/10.0 Expand
  18. ThomasG
    Oct 3, 2006
    10
    Love it almost as much as guero! Awesome effort beck!
  19. julien
    Oct 3, 2006
    10
    it's all right beck...
  20. BenC
    Oct 4, 2006
    9
    A solid mix of Guero and Odelay with great basslines and interesting lyrics. A-
  21. WilliamM
    Oct 4, 2006
    10
    I don't think I will ever give beck a bad rap. I have probably listened to his music than most everything else combined.
  22. DavisW
    Oct 6, 2006
    9
    nothing short of awesomeness.
  23. RobertJ
    Oct 6, 2006
    8
    If Napoleon Dynamite made an album, this would be it. Cool in a very dorky way. Funky in a very forced, self-conscious way. It sounds like a Beck album, but different than any other Beck album. The songs are good, without ever quite reaching greatness. I'm not quite sure Beck's music will lend itself well to a maturing artist, and perhaps some immaturity and naivity are needed If Napoleon Dynamite made an album, this would be it. Cool in a very dorky way. Funky in a very forced, self-conscious way. It sounds like a Beck album, but different than any other Beck album. The songs are good, without ever quite reaching greatness. I'm not quite sure Beck's music will lend itself well to a maturing artist, and perhaps some immaturity and naivity are needed to pull off "loser" and "where it's at", but regardless, I think it's a strong album. Expand
  24. MarkN
    Oct 6, 2006
    9
    A surprisingly great album for such a quick release after Guero. The music videos that were made in the studio for each song makes it even better. Great job Beck!
  25. totallycool
    Jan 2, 2007
    10
    I agree with that fairrate guy, except on one thing. Nausea is an awesome song! They are all awesome!
  26. CoreyJ
    Jan 29, 2007
    10
    Perfection. My favourite Beck album ever and every track makes you wanna get up and dance
  27. RyV
    Feb 2, 2007
    10
    I'lll put it this way, on my new mp3 player; I put on this album and the slayer discography ;) Ppl who luv metal can luv beck ! -but I bet most don't listen
  28. TyeN.
    Oct 10, 2006
    10
    This is in my opinion Beck's finest album. It just feels so complete, and not in an over-stuffed filler kind of way. Every song has a purpose, and together they create a masterpiece of musical craft. 'The Information' is a bit happier sounding in parts than the darker 'Guero', but it has it's dark moments too. It also has it's sincere ones. "Think This is in my opinion Beck's finest album. It just feels so complete, and not in an over-stuffed filler kind of way. Every song has a purpose, and together they create a masterpiece of musical craft. 'The Information' is a bit happier sounding in parts than the darker 'Guero', but it has it's dark moments too. It also has it's sincere ones. "Think I'm In Love" is one of the best songs Beck has ever created. Other huge stand-outs include "Soldier Jane", "Cellphone's Dead", "New Round", "Nausea", "The Infomation", "We Dance Alone", and "No Complints". I absolutely love this album, and even non Beck fans should pick this up if they want something new and wonderful to listen to. Expand
  29. joshm
    Nov 3, 2006
    10
    The Information is a great example of Beck's unique style. He combines randomness with some meaningfull lyrics. It is a great album.
  30. MrFairrateX
    Dec 17, 2006
    9
    There was only one song on this album that i didn't like and that was Nausea (probably the most popular song). All the other songs are TOP QUALITY BECK. Especially 1000BPM: best beat ive ever heard from Beck.
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. This is their third collaboration, but neither the casual, light-bodied "Mutations" nor the intimate "Sea Change" anticipated this kind of flowering. [24 Sep 2006]
  2. If Beck gets better as he gets madder, this is definitely his best since 'Midnite Vultures' - maybe even since 'Odelay'.
  3. Without the bizarre lyrical invention and fuck-shit-up whimsy of his earlier work, Beck's attempts at party jams come off woefully overwrought and flat, making the darker bits interspersed throughout seem intriguing by default.