• Record Label: Columbia
  • Release Date: Sep 24, 2002
User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 59 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 59
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 59
  3. Negative: 3 out of 59

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DonovanC
    May 20, 2004
    9
    This album is probably one of Nas's top 3 albums of 8. The beats have a nice flow to it and his lyrics are just sick. I play this album every night while im sleep. There are many songs where hes rapping non-stop for a minute plus such as "No ideas original", "U gotta luv it", and "Everybody's crazy." This is an instant classic. Hes very truthful and gives good advice on life This album is probably one of Nas's top 3 albums of 8. The beats have a nice flow to it and his lyrics are just sick. I play this album every night while im sleep. There are many songs where hes rapping non-stop for a minute plus such as "No ideas original", "U gotta luv it", and "Everybody's crazy." This is an instant classic. Hes very truthful and gives good advice on life like in songs, "nothing lasts forever" and "doo rags." Who is the greatest rapper alive and 2nd all time? NAS!!!! Expand
  2. DanyelleH
    Feb 4, 2005
    8
    This c-d is all dat i listen to it all the time. I know the words to all the songs. And Nas is like my idol. He's definately better than Jay-Z i don't care what nobody say. I'm 13 years old and i wish i was him but i'm a girl i would live to meet him. That's my wish
  3. rubenf
    Apr 5, 2005
    8
    notquit a master piece put close to it. Nas gives it his best. his grtty rhymes and witty remarks make up fpr his not so good chorus's. Nas gives you a piece of himself. allowing listeners to go deeper into his own life and turmoils. In my book Nas is truly king of new york.
  4. TripC
    Oct 17, 2003
    10
    In essence a Hip Hop Classic
  5. FelonyShine
    Feb 23, 2003
    10
    This album is an example of an artist that does what he has established as "his style." No matter how many try to copy, no one can master art better than the creater.
  6. rob
    Mar 28, 2003
    10
    Classic sh!t.......One of those CD's I will playing 10 years from now
  7. dominica
    Jan 14, 2004
    10
    this is just exceptional.
  8. alexc
    Mar 9, 2005
    10
    this to me is one of nas;s best albums since ill matic its a for sure classic and even though its not radio freindly the album can hold its weight up against any body out there i think
  9. VictorM
    Jul 6, 2009
    10
    This album is perfect!
  10. davids
    Nov 5, 2002
    8
    If you're looking for a thoughtful, mellow and groovy break from the unending bombast of the rap scene, Nas provides it here. The Queens, New York rapper has pulled together songs recorded over the last ten years that didn't fit on his louder, brasher, more commercial albums. With its piano tinkles, gentle beats, and horn and saxophone flourishes, you can imagine this music If you're looking for a thoughtful, mellow and groovy break from the unending bombast of the rap scene, Nas provides it here. The Queens, New York rapper has pulled together songs recorded over the last ten years that didn't fit on his louder, brasher, more commercial albums. With its piano tinkles, gentle beats, and horn and saxophone flourishes, you can imagine this music going over well in a cool, stockbroker-free New York club, where people go to dance, but also to talk. Nas' story-telling is provocative and evocative, bringing to life his past and his neighborhood. Highlights include "No Idea's Original," "U Gotta Love It," and "Doo Rag." Expand
  11. [Anonymous]
    Oct 18, 2002
    10
    I love you NAS!!!!!!!!!
  12. CipherUnborn
    Dec 25, 2002
    9
    Only a 9 because Illmatic holds the Dime Spot and you know ILLMATIC is the standard by which ALL hip-hop is judged. But if Illmatic didn't exist, The Lost Tapes would hold the top spot. This album is running a humbled second in Nas's list of hot albums just in front of Stillmatic and God's Son. Cuts like Doo Rags, Purple, Black Zombie, and Poppa was a Playa definitely Only a 9 because Illmatic holds the Dime Spot and you know ILLMATIC is the standard by which ALL hip-hop is judged. But if Illmatic didn't exist, The Lost Tapes would hold the top spot. This album is running a humbled second in Nas's list of hot albums just in front of Stillmatic and God's Son. Cuts like Doo Rags, Purple, Black Zombie, and Poppa was a Playa definitely reinforce Nas's ability to circumvent, metaphorically, the norm in rap rhetoric and bring to the forefront, once and for all, WHO THE GREATEST LYRICIST ON THE PLANET REALLY IS... NASIR JONES! Expand
  13. ScottP
    Nov 6, 2003
    10
    simply amazing. it all starts out wth what else but a poetic light nas hip hop like track of doo rags which made me know i was going to like the cd the minute i put it in. two weak tracks follow with my way and u gotta love and the only reason i gave it a 9. nothing lasts forever, one of my personal all time favs starts the long finale of great tracks. from the crazy blaze a 50 to the simply amazing. it all starts out wth what else but a poetic light nas hip hop like track of doo rags which made me know i was going to like the cd the minute i put it in. two weak tracks follow with my way and u gotta love and the only reason i gave it a 9. nothing lasts forever, one of my personal all time favs starts the long finale of great tracks. from the crazy blaze a 50 to the great end of poppa was a playa the cd caps off as one of my favs. yes illmatic was great and personally i like stillmatic even better but lost tapes definetly is up there with those albums Expand
  14. MohammedU
    Mar 22, 2007
    10
    This is no doubt a certified modern classic. It's my for Nas Yes I think, it's better than one of his other classics Illmatic. Evey song on the album is flawless. I never felt obligated to skip a track. In my opinion one of the greatest hip-hop albums of all-time.
  15. Biggestfan
    Nov 21, 2003
    10
    The guy is a genius, one of the best story tellers of all time. Definetly one of the best albums i ever listened to by Nas. Keep doing your thing man, im counting on you, your the last one left
  16. Nov 27, 2010
    10
    It could stand as an studio album all by itself. A great compilation that doesn't have the feel of your average compilation. Great lyrics over complementary production and guest free which allows Nas to showcase his best.
  17. May 8, 2011
    9
    yes this what im talking about i love this album so much. every song was almost perfect. i love this guy if i wanted to learn how to rap i would listen to nas 2pac and rakim. they all are great lyricist. but this album is better than average.
  18. Apr 11, 2013
    10
    one of the greatest rap album by one of the greatest rapper what more can i say.
    ah yes this album is a compilation with unreleased songs of iam and nastradamus and it sounds together like perfection 10
  19. Jul 31, 2014
    10
    Everything know, the best Nas album is Illmatic, but after Illmatic, The Lost Tapes is the best Nas album. After the wack, weak and lean Nastradamus. Stillmatic and The Lost Tapes is classic albums.
  20. Mar 22, 2015
    8
    8.3/10................................................................................................................................................
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. A filler-free tour de force.
  2. Showcases Nas' incredible talent as a lyricist and social commentator.
  3. From a few listens, it's clear most of these weren't bumped because they were low-quality; "Doo Rags," "No Idea's Original," and "Black Zombie" stand up to anything Nas has recorded since the original Illmatic.