The Lost Tapes

  • Record Label: Columbia
  • Release Date: Sep 24, 2002
User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 69 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 69
  2. Negative: 3 out of 69

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 13, 2017
    10
    This is probably my second favourite album from Nas next to Illmatic. While Illmatic was a narrative packed with dense street lyrics and that classic Nas finesse - The Lost Tapes is less so and takes the listener on a journey through the introspective musings of Nas' where he constructs smaller stories tying into an overarching narrative of his life (Fetus or Purple). This album then isThis is probably my second favourite album from Nas next to Illmatic. While Illmatic was a narrative packed with dense street lyrics and that classic Nas finesse - The Lost Tapes is less so and takes the listener on a journey through the introspective musings of Nas' where he constructs smaller stories tying into an overarching narrative of his life (Fetus or Purple). This album then is really personal but just as thought provoking and hard hitting as Illmatic or It Was Written - and God to I love this album. 10/10 Expand
  2. Jan 3, 2017
    10
    Nas est né légende, cet album ne fait que consolider son statut. Un diamant pur, des phases inoubliables... Apres Illmatic c'est mon préféré. Incontestablement un classic
  3. Jan 6, 2016
    10
    A classic compilation of unreleased Nas material. The album is a testament of Nas' forte as a writer. The Lost Tapes is proof that Nas is one of the greatest writers in music history.
  4. Mar 22, 2015
    8
    8.3/10................................................................................................................................................
  5. Jul 31, 2014
    10
    Everything know, the best Nas album is Illmatic, but after Illmatic, The Lost Tapes is the best Nas album. After the wack, weak and lean Nastradamus. Stillmatic and The Lost Tapes is classic albums.
  6. Apr 11, 2013
    10
    one of the greatest rap album by one of the greatest rapper what more can i say.
    ah yes this album is a compilation with unreleased songs of iam and nastradamus and it sounds together like perfection 10
  7. May 8, 2011
    9
    yes this what im talking about i love this album so much. every song was almost perfect. i love this guy if i wanted to learn how to rap i would listen to nas 2pac and rakim. they all are great lyricist. but this album is better than average.
  8. Nov 27, 2010
    10
    It could stand as an studio album all by itself. A great compilation that doesn't have the feel of your average compilation. Great lyrics over complementary production and guest free which allows Nas to showcase his best.
  9. VictorM
    Jul 6, 2009
    10
    This album is perfect!
  10. MohammedU
    Mar 22, 2007
    10
    This is no doubt a certified modern classic. It's my for Nas Yes I think, it's better than one of his other classics Illmatic. Evey song on the album is flawless. I never felt obligated to skip a track. In my opinion one of the greatest hip-hop albums of all-time.
  11. rubenf
    Apr 5, 2005
    8
    notquit a master piece put close to it. Nas gives it his best. his grtty rhymes and witty remarks make up fpr his not so good chorus's. Nas gives you a piece of himself. allowing listeners to go deeper into his own life and turmoils. In my book Nas is truly king of new york.
  12. alexc
    Mar 9, 2005
    10
    this to me is one of nas;s best albums since ill matic its a for sure classic and even though its not radio freindly the album can hold its weight up against any body out there i think
  13. DanyelleH
    Feb 4, 2005
    8
    This c-d is all dat i listen to it all the time. I know the words to all the songs. And Nas is like my idol. He's definately better than Jay-Z i don't care what nobody say. I'm 13 years old and i wish i was him but i'm a girl i would live to meet him. That's my wish
  14. DonovanC
    May 20, 2004
    9
    This album is probably one of Nas's top 3 albums of 8. The beats have a nice flow to it and his lyrics are just sick. I play this album every night while im sleep. There are many songs where hes rapping non-stop for a minute plus such as "No ideas original", "U gotta luv it", and "Everybody's crazy." This is an instant classic. Hes very truthful and gives good advice on life This album is probably one of Nas's top 3 albums of 8. The beats have a nice flow to it and his lyrics are just sick. I play this album every night while im sleep. There are many songs where hes rapping non-stop for a minute plus such as "No ideas original", "U gotta luv it", and "Everybody's crazy." This is an instant classic. Hes very truthful and gives good advice on life like in songs, "nothing lasts forever" and "doo rags." Who is the greatest rapper alive and 2nd all time? NAS!!!! Expand
  15. dominica
    Jan 14, 2004
    10
    this is just exceptional.
  16. Biggestfan
    Nov 21, 2003
    10
    The guy is a genius, one of the best story tellers of all time. Definetly one of the best albums i ever listened to by Nas. Keep doing your thing man, im counting on you, your the last one left
  17. ScottP
    Nov 6, 2003
    10
    simply amazing. it all starts out wth what else but a poetic light nas hip hop like track of doo rags which made me know i was going to like the cd the minute i put it in. two weak tracks follow with my way and u gotta love and the only reason i gave it a 9. nothing lasts forever, one of my personal all time favs starts the long finale of great tracks. from the crazy blaze a 50 to the simply amazing. it all starts out wth what else but a poetic light nas hip hop like track of doo rags which made me know i was going to like the cd the minute i put it in. two weak tracks follow with my way and u gotta love and the only reason i gave it a 9. nothing lasts forever, one of my personal all time favs starts the long finale of great tracks. from the crazy blaze a 50 to the great end of poppa was a playa the cd caps off as one of my favs. yes illmatic was great and personally i like stillmatic even better but lost tapes definetly is up there with those albums Expand
  18. TripC
    Oct 17, 2003
    10
    In essence a Hip Hop Classic
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. A filler-free tour de force.
  2. Showcases Nas' incredible talent as a lyricist and social commentator.
  3. From a few listens, it's clear most of these weren't bumped because they were low-quality; "Doo Rags," "No Idea's Original," and "Black Zombie" stand up to anything Nas has recorded since the original Illmatic.