The Lost Tapes

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
The Lost Tapes Image
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 65 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This compilation collects tracks recorded from 1998-2001 that, for various reasons (and not because they were of inferior quality), were not included on the rapper's albums released during that time.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. His gritty, yet hopeful, reflections make Lost Tapes a real find.
  2. two about his parents are juicier than the mother love gushing from God's Son. The Afrocentric pep song is so much deeper than the mawkish, misinformed new "I Can" that you believe he might yet get politics.
  3. From start to finish, Nas sets aside the rhetorical frills, contrived interludes, and mediocre guest appearances that have plagued much of his work since the classic Illmatic and concentrates on delivering classic material.
  4. Over subdued soul loops and improbably mellow piano work, The Lost Tapes displays Nas' gifts for tightly stitched narrative and stunningly precise detail.
  5. Separate, the songs all sound great, but together, they don’t make a real album.
  6. From a few listens, it's clear most of these weren't bumped because they were low-quality; "Doo Rags," "No Idea's Original," and "Black Zombie" stand up to anything Nas has recorded since the original Illmatic.

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 22
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 22
  3. Negative: 1 out of 22
  1. Jan 6, 2016
    10
    A classic compilation of unreleased Nas material. The album is a testament of Nas' forte as a writer. The Lost Tapes is proof that Nas is oneA classic compilation of unreleased Nas material. The album is a testament of Nas' forte as a writer. The Lost Tapes is proof that Nas is one of the greatest writers in music history. Expand
  2. Jul 31, 2014
    10
    Everything know, the best Nas album is Illmatic, but after Illmatic, The Lost Tapes is the best Nas album. After the wack, weak and leanEverything know, the best Nas album is Illmatic, but after Illmatic, The Lost Tapes is the best Nas album. After the wack, weak and lean Nastradamus. Stillmatic and The Lost Tapes is classic albums. Expand
  3. ScottP
    Nov 6, 2003
    10
    simply amazing. it all starts out wth what else but a poetic light nas hip hop like track of doo rags which made me know i was going to like simply amazing. it all starts out wth what else but a poetic light nas hip hop like track of doo rags which made me know i was going to like the cd the minute i put it in. two weak tracks follow with my way and u gotta love and the only reason i gave it a 9. nothing lasts forever, one of my personal all time favs starts the long finale of great tracks. from the crazy blaze a 50 to the great end of poppa was a playa the cd caps off as one of my favs. yes illmatic was great and personally i like stillmatic even better but lost tapes definetly is up there with those albums Expand
  4. MohammedU
    Mar 22, 2007
    10
    This is no doubt a certified modern classic. It's my for Nas Yes I think, it's better than one of his other classics Illmatic. Evey This is no doubt a certified modern classic. It's my for Nas Yes I think, it's better than one of his other classics Illmatic. Evey song on the album is flawless. I never felt obligated to skip a track. In my opinion one of the greatest hip-hop albums of all-time. Expand
  5. Nov 27, 2010
    10
    It could stand as an studio album all by itself. A great compilation that doesn't have the feel of your average compilation. Great lyricsIt could stand as an studio album all by itself. A great compilation that doesn't have the feel of your average compilation. Great lyrics over complementary production and guest free which allows Nas to showcase his best. Collapse
  6. DonovanC
    May 20, 2004
    9
    This album is probably one of Nas's top 3 albums of 8. The beats have a nice flow to it and his lyrics are just sick. I play this album This album is probably one of Nas's top 3 albums of 8. The beats have a nice flow to it and his lyrics are just sick. I play this album every night while im sleep. There are many songs where hes rapping non-stop for a minute plus such as "No ideas original", "U gotta luv it", and "Everybody's crazy." This is an instant classic. Hes very truthful and gives good advice on life like in songs, "nothing lasts forever" and "doo rags." Who is the greatest rapper alive and 2nd all time? NAS!!!! Expand
  7. Mar 22, 2015
    8
    8.3/10................................................................................................................................................

See all 22 User Reviews