The Magic Numbers

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 76 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 76
  2. Negative: 9 out of 76

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Hannah
    Nov 10, 2005
    10
    This is an album that comes from a talented group of people. Those who boo it have obviously no idea where real talent comes from, infact i dare to whether they have ever listened to a single note of talent? this is a great cd from a great band!
  2. sarahb
    Jan 10, 2006
    10
    brilliant! great sounding tracks with good rythym and harmonies.
  3. brenh
    Oct 15, 2005
    9
    awesome harmonies, excellent song writing, this album blew me away. video killed the radio star unfortunately
  4. Rol
    Oct 9, 2005
    9
    Excellent, well-written, well-sung, unpretentious( and maybe this is why people are having a go at it) collection of songs most people will enjoy. Close analysis of music is pointless it either moves you or not, and I'm confident it will move more people than it will turn off.
  5. MattJ
    Sep 1, 2005
    9
    This is a great record, "ahh this song reminds me of the summer of 2005" is what we will all be saying for years to come, a true summer pop classic, to be enjoyed because its enjoyable!, the reason it isnt a 10, is because im afraid its getting overplayed and is possibly going to be a great album ruined yet again
  6. CaptainFishy
    Sep 5, 2005
    9
    Gotta say......after catching this band during the 2005 summer festival season.......I aquired the album.....and it is quite simply a masterpiece for its time.
  7. BuckRodgers
    Jan 9, 2006
    10
    All the bullshit about the Mama's and the Papas is ridiculous.
  8. BrettN
    Jul 14, 2006
    7
    Easy to listen to but is that something to get so excited about some nice songs just not enough of them. Mornings Eleven, Forever Lost, This Love, Love's A Game
  9. TheFirethief
    Dec 10, 2005
    8
    I give this album an 8.9. If you're an unashamed pop enthusiast, you'll get a lot of mileage out of this album. 13 songs, no duds.Great hooks, very polished harmonies with beautiful bass lines. A few bets: if you liked the Strokes first hit album, you'll like this more...if you ever liked Lloyd Cole, you'll hear hookier echos...a bit like Oasis meets Marshall Crenshaw I give this album an 8.9. If you're an unashamed pop enthusiast, you'll get a lot of mileage out of this album. 13 songs, no duds.Great hooks, very polished harmonies with beautiful bass lines. A few bets: if you liked the Strokes first hit album, you'll like this more...if you ever liked Lloyd Cole, you'll hear hookier echos...a bit like Oasis meets Marshall Crenshaw - or, Dr. Dog on Earl Grey with cream. I'm a harsh critic who was tempted to give this a 9. It deserves a higher average. Expand
  10. PodunkieBabbager
    Oct 6, 2005
    9
    I like the album. It's good solid pop music, with just a few songs that are too precious and delicate, even for me. But the rest of the album is full of great hooks, melodies, and harmonies. It's not supposed to be the second coming of the 60s, it's just a good pop album. Some of you should stop reading music journalism so much. It's the first step towards becoming a I like the album. It's good solid pop music, with just a few songs that are too precious and delicate, even for me. But the rest of the album is full of great hooks, melodies, and harmonies. It's not supposed to be the second coming of the 60s, it's just a good pop album. Some of you should stop reading music journalism so much. It's the first step towards becoming a curmudgeonly music snob. Expand
  11. ChadS
    Oct 9, 2005
    8
    I love how "Mornings Eleven" seems to be on the verge of sounding like "Unchained Moment" for a split second during the bridge. It's a nice introduction to this promising band, who sounds, to my ears, like The Harvest Ministers. The only time they sorta sound like Deacon Blue is on "Love me Like You", in which some of the female background vocals recalls "Real Gone Kid"(and maybe the I love how "Mornings Eleven" seems to be on the verge of sounding like "Unchained Moment" for a split second during the bridge. It's a nice introduction to this promising band, who sounds, to my ears, like The Harvest Ministers. The only time they sorta sound like Deacon Blue is on "Love me Like You", in which some of the female background vocals recalls "Real Gone Kid"(and maybe the female soloing on "I See You, You See Me is similar to "Twist and Shout"). How the song returns to its chorus after the bridge is pretty enthralling. The Magic Numbers might be a little overrated, but not too much. We need a band that's sorta Prefab Sproutish. Expand
  12. CJ
    Jul 21, 2005
    9
    Simply beautiful! An album that you find beautifuller each time that you listen it again and again...
  13. tomt
    Jul 6, 2005
    9
    Beautiful summer record, filled with some moving vocal harmonies, some great hooks and a chilled west-coast appeal.
  14. [Anonymous]
    Aug 2, 2005
    10
    An absolutely sublime sounding debut album. A trully mature first offering from a group I expect to hear more from in the future.
  15. robh
    Aug 28, 2005
    10
    A fantastic sounding band with tonnes of talent. The harmonies work perfect together to give an uplifting experience!!!
  16. arsos
    Aug 29, 2005
    9
    tocan bien chiditoy estoy de acuerdo con lo que dice Jason, y como bien lo señala sus influencias de la decada de los seseta para mi son muy buenas
  17. jasone
    Aug 5, 2005
    10
    This is some of the best music I've probably ever heard. Complex songs that sound really simple and beautiful, and although they obviously draw influences from sixties music they sound unlike anyone else I've ever heard.
  18. GeronimoH
    May 25, 2006
    10
    This is the best album released in 2005, its highly original, cannot be compared to anything else. Its Highly original and refreshing, especially to release this kind of sound where everybody goes arctic monkey or coldplay shit....sweet sweet voice, great melodies, emotional, funny, and the best thing is the songs sound cheerfull where the lyrics are pretty depressing....now thats This is the best album released in 2005, its highly original, cannot be compared to anything else. Its Highly original and refreshing, especially to release this kind of sound where everybody goes arctic monkey or coldplay shit....sweet sweet voice, great melodies, emotional, funny, and the best thing is the songs sound cheerfull where the lyrics are pretty depressing....now thats humour...gotta listen and listen again... Expand
  19. RoseD
    Oct 25, 2005
    10
    Just fantastic
  20. Keith
    Oct 28, 2005
    9
    the best music to come out of 2005
  21. bastiaanh
    Oct 29, 2005
    8
    An album I bought after listening to it for 30 amazing seconds, and appeared to keep up to this energy level for the next 30 minutes!
  22. mattd
    Jun 17, 2005
    10
    tremendous sound one of the best albums i have heard in years truely delightful.
  23. RicN
    Jun 18, 2005
    10
    Perfect summer music. Surprised that they have made the best track (Hymn To Her) a secret track at the end...
  24. SamMc
    Jun 27, 2005
    9
    This Album is perfect for the summer, actualy its just perfect. It is well and truly a beautiful album one of the best ive heared in a while.
  25. LizW
    Jul 19, 2005
    10
    By far the best album this year!!!! It is one of the few albums Ican listen to over and over again.
  26. adeelk
    Jul 26, 2005
    10
    Breathtaking album. Great pop tunes and then the duet "I see you, you see me" is just beautiful. I love the Magic Numbers!
  27. CarlosAT
    Aug 2, 2005
    10
    I find it excellent, beautiful duets and almost all the tracks are great. I love "Love is a Game"
  28. MBrown
    Aug 25, 2005
    9
    It's darn good and you know it booooiiii!!!!
  29. johnc
    Nov 13, 2006
    10
    What an album brilliant harmonies those guitars check them out live you wont regret it
  30. GZoST
    Jan 20, 2006
    10
    This stayed in my 512 MB-Mp3-player for a couple of months. It's just beautiful. Enough said.
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. A record that will endure beyond this year, this decade and the rest.
  2. Nothing quite prepares you for the sheer beauty of The Magic Numbers' music.
  3. The songwriting falls a couple of times too many into timid generalities about love and loss; the melodies, though lovely, are sometimes interchangeable.