User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 710 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 70 out of 710

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 28, 2014
    10
    Best rap album you could expect from Eminem in 2013. This album is absolutely amazing. Rap God is the best rap song i have heard in years. Evil Twin is amazing. Legacy is breathtaking. Berzerk is an unrepeatable throwback. and so on......
  2. Dec 27, 2014
    5
    At first listening, that's great noticing a complex diversity of genres. Different music and different way of singin also. But wtf with Eminem, i used to like him like anybody singer i like, but making talk bout him with clash for instance Lana del Rey. What does he got in mind, he doesnt need that i guess. Plus she did not do nothing. Too bad we got a pretty good singer with no brain
  3. Dec 21, 2014
    9
    Eminem back in tip top form, and so is Slim Shady. Very good production, though occasionally too poppy for its own good (and does Eminem have to insist on singing so much on choruses?), the album never ceases to be entertaining and filthy and also, dare I say, meaningful. He works rhyme schemes that are pretty extraordinary and even the weaker songs on the album shouldn't be skipped.Eminem back in tip top form, and so is Slim Shady. Very good production, though occasionally too poppy for its own good (and does Eminem have to insist on singing so much on choruses?), the album never ceases to be entertaining and filthy and also, dare I say, meaningful. He works rhyme schemes that are pretty extraordinary and even the weaker songs on the album shouldn't be skipped. Highlights are Bad Guy, Legacy, Rap God, Love Game and Evil Twin. And just about every song on the DX Edition Bonus Disc. Expand
  4. Dec 17, 2014
    8
    Si nos ponemos a analizar en retrospectiva los albumes de Eminem, nos daremos cuenta que lo tenemos a el en su máxima forma durante sus pistas más personales, así como lo ha sido durante TMM LP, TES y TSS LP.
  5. Nov 29, 2014
    6
    This album is better than the heaping piles of **** that Shady released between 2002-2010, but it still isn't that good. Every hook on here is terrible, and it just so happens that the best track, "Evil Twin" doesn't have a hook. Eminem has always been terrible at making hooks, so it's not like I was surprised. Some of the verses are alright. Four songs in a row, "So Much Better",This album is better than the heaping piles of **** that Shady released between 2002-2010, but it still isn't that good. Every hook on here is terrible, and it just so happens that the best track, "Evil Twin" doesn't have a hook. Eminem has always been terrible at making hooks, so it's not like I was surprised. Some of the verses are alright. Four songs in a row, "So Much Better", "Survival", **** and "Legacy" all sound like Recovery throwaways (see my review of Recovery and you'll know how I feel). "Stronger Than I Was" and "The Monster" are god awful. Just terrible. I will say that even though I wasn;t huge on part 1 of "Bad Guy", the second part was pretty epic. "Rhyme or Reason" is the runner-up to "Evil Twin" for the best track on the album. The last four tracks is the best part of the album, so I'm glad he at least gave a strong finish on the album.

    I didn't include the 5 bonus tracks on the deluxe edition of the album, because that probably would have lowered my grade from a 6.5 to at least a 5.5.

    Overall, I wuld say 'ehhhh'.
    Expand
  6. Sep 29, 2014
    7
    Not as funny and offensive as some of his other albums but makes up for it by use of modern mixing and effects. Overall good lyrics and sound. This is good because Eminem has had many albums and this proves that he still has game.
  7. Sep 26, 2014
    10
    Eminem is Back ! Now None can beat him, On May 24, 2012, Eminem announced he was working on his next studio album., set to be released in 2013 Even without a title or release date, the album was included in multiple "Most Anticipated Albums of 2013" lists; including MTV, Complex Magazine where it was listed in sixth position; and XXL Magazine, where it was listed in fifth.

    On June 30,
    Eminem is Back ! Now None can beat him, On May 24, 2012, Eminem announced he was working on his next studio album., set to be released in 2013 Even without a title or release date, the album was included in multiple "Most Anticipated Albums of 2013" lists; including MTV, Complex Magazine where it was listed in sixth position; and XXL Magazine, where it was listed in fifth.

    On June 30, 2012, Eminem talked about the album with DJ Whoo Kid, on his own radio station, Shade 45. He stated that the material is taking shape, and that Dr. Dre will be involved in some way. On August 30, 2012, Slaughterhouse member Royce da 5'9" gave his thoughts on the album, stating "I'm not so sure how the world is going to respond from some of the things that I've heard from him." Close friend and fellow rapper 50 Cent is also confirmed to feature on the album. Eminem also was featured on Pink's album The Truth About Love on the track "Here Comes The Weekend".
    Expand
  8. Sep 18, 2014
    7
    This is one of Eminem's finest albums. I really enjoyed his work on Rap God, Headlights, and Bad Guy. There are some songs that sound familiar but Eminem provides enough humor that makes you forget that. It doesn't feel or sound anything like the first MMLP album but that is a good thing since you can't recreate a classic.
  9. Jul 14, 2014
    7
    For starters if you were disappointed with this album, you have no one to blame but yourself. Eminem's last 3 albums haven't been the best and are covered with flaws. People need to realize that he's not going to make the same quality music that he made from 99-03, it's just not going to happen. He's not the same person and he's a slightly different artist. With that being said, thatFor starters if you were disappointed with this album, you have no one to blame but yourself. Eminem's last 3 albums haven't been the best and are covered with flaws. People need to realize that he's not going to make the same quality music that he made from 99-03, it's just not going to happen. He's not the same person and he's a slightly different artist. With that being said, that doesn't mean Eminem can't continue to make good music. I don't want this to sound like a typical "Eminem has fallen off" review but people do need to recognize that and accept it. I thought Encore and Relapse were poor efforts, Recovery showed a glimmer of light but still had a lot of flaws which leads us to MMLP2. It surprised me that he decided to do the whole "going back to my roots" theme, I wasn't sure how it was going to turn out. For the most part though I feel like MMLP2 succeeds. Bad Guy was a great way to start off the album, I love how it's a continuation of Stan & the last verse where the beat changes is just fantastic! So much emotion in that last verse and Eminem does a great job at basically summing up his whole career in that one verse. Brainless is another stand out track for me where Eminem goes back to a kind of SSLP style rather than MMLP. Throughout the song he's being clever and witty while sort of lashing out at people in a way we haven't really heard him do in a very long time. The two bonus tracks on this LP Baby and Groundhog Day deserve a mention as well. Why these two tracks didn't make the albums final cut is beyond me because these tracks are great! Baby's first verse sounds like it was taken straight out of the The Eminem Show era, absolutely incredible and easily one of Eminem's best verses since his come back. Groundhog Day's beat and Eminem's delivery flow so smoothly together and Eminem just sounds so effortless. Now while I think this album succeeds in many aspects, it's not flawless. Survival is exactly the type of song I would expect to find on Recovery. Super bland, mediocre writing (along with some cringe worthy bars) & his annoying shouting delivery. The Monster is another song I would expect to find on Recovery. I have no problem with popish songs, in fact I thought Love the Way You Lie was a good song.....maybe a bit over played but nonetheless good. The Monster is Eminem trying super hard to recreate a Love the Way You Lie type song and it falls flat. Writing is down right bad for the most part and I just find the whole song extremely corny and unoriginal. It's a shame because the song has a really good music video. Than we get to Stronger Than I Was..... Now I'm not quiet sure what inspired him to make this disaster but nothing works. The singing is straight awful, the writing sounds like lines taken from a 14 year old girls diary. I mean... I don't know if he was trying something new or what but someone needs to tell him to never attempt to do a song like this again. Despite that though, overall I feel like this is a good album. He kept the flaws to a minimum for the most part and I think this is easily his best project since The Eminem Show. I give this project a 7/10, if I was being exact I think I rated it like a 7.3/10 which is about right for me. Expand
  10. May 17, 2014
    10
    truly the best album after The Eminem show. truly the best album after The Eminem showtruly the best album after The Eminem showtruly the best album after The Eminem showtruly the best album after The Eminem showtruly the best album after The Eminem showtruly the best album after The Eminem showtruly the best album after The Eminem showtruly the best album after The Eminem showtruly thetruly the best album after The Eminem show. truly the best album after The Eminem showtruly the best album after The Eminem showtruly the best album after The Eminem showtruly the best album after The Eminem showtruly the best album after The Eminem showtruly the best album after The Eminem showtruly the best album after The Eminem showtruly the best album after The Eminem showtruly the best album after The Eminem show Expand
  11. Apr 30, 2014
    9
    Eminem is back with a great comeback, bringing back the lyricism, creativeness and wordplay we loved about him during his prime years 1999-2003. You will already notice the album starts off with a pure classic track "Bad Guy", it is a sequel to the critically acclaimed track "Stan" from the first MMLP. MMLP2 continues where the first MMLP left off, with Bad Guy then a "Parking Lot" skit, aEminem is back with a great comeback, bringing back the lyricism, creativeness and wordplay we loved about him during his prime years 1999-2003. You will already notice the album starts off with a pure classic track "Bad Guy", it is a sequel to the critically acclaimed track "Stan" from the first MMLP. MMLP2 continues where the first MMLP left off, with Bad Guy then a "Parking Lot" skit, a that is continues where Criminal, the last track on MMLP left off. Rhyme or Reason has great lyricism, it along with "Bad Guy" is one of the best tracks. "Legacy" is also a great track talking about his childhood. Rap God is an amazing track filled with insane lyricism, wordplay, speed and he also pays homage to other rappers. On "Love Game", Eminem collaborates with Kendrick Lamar. Another Highlight of the album is "Headlights", where Eminem apologizes to his mom. Overall this is Eminem's best project since The Eminem Show that he released back in 2002. Expand
  12. Apr 21, 2014
    9
    He's back and he's back with a bang. This is a great album and one of my favourite Eminem albums he's ever made. I enjoy every song on this album except for maybe Monster because it is over played on the radio and annoys me a bit now. This is my working out album to listen to.
  13. Apr 2, 2014
    0
    I understand as a critic you have to look at different elements/aspects brouht into the song, BUT...

    As a long time eminem and bigtime rap fan for about as long as I can remember, this is the most digusting album ever made. Em has changed, and not for the better (well, for the better for the financial aspect, I guess). Even tho I like the lyrics what the hell are these intrumentals????
    I understand as a critic you have to look at different elements/aspects brouht into the song, BUT...

    As a long time eminem and bigtime rap fan for about as long as I can remember, this is the most digusting album ever made. Em has changed, and not for the better (well, for the better for the financial aspect, I guess). Even tho I like the lyrics what the hell are these intrumentals???? Rapgod on traplike electro bass music, man it's like one of the most oldschool rappers just singed the death certificate for real rap. If there's one eminem verse that's applicable here: "And when your run is over just admit when it's at its end"

    For me this album made eminem a **** modern day I try to hard rapper instead of like the biggest legend in white rap.

    how does Dillon cooper - state of elevation, or prof - gampo or kool g rap and necro'l last album get under 500.000 views on youtube and such a mediocre score??? Rap god has like 60 million views, this makes me think I'm the only one who dislikes this album. He has certainly gone mainstream radio music, but I don't like it and I know the rap community doesn't either... So yeah it maybe deserves a 82 but not in the rap category

    Just my opinion though...
    Expand
  14. Mar 16, 2014
    10
    As crazy as this sounds, Eminem is my hero, his music has helped me through slumps and downfalls in my life. His music has helped me keep on task and push through. This album is no different for me, with funny songs and lyrics, to sad songs about betrayal. Being a fan since I was 7 (The Eminem Show was just released). He has hit it big with no "WTF" songs like "Kim" in MMLP, or "Drips" inAs crazy as this sounds, Eminem is my hero, his music has helped me through slumps and downfalls in my life. His music has helped me keep on task and push through. This album is no different for me, with funny songs and lyrics, to sad songs about betrayal. Being a fan since I was 7 (The Eminem Show was just released). He has hit it big with no "WTF" songs like "Kim" in MMLP, or "Drips" in The Eminem Show. If you like any kind of rhyming music, you will like this. (If you like country and don't listen to anything but, don't listen to this, your drunk asses won't be able to keep up with his fast rapping. Your big trucks won't be able to keep up either. :D) Expand
  15. Mar 9, 2014
    10
    Eminem continues to prove he's the most creative, most talented, and just flat-out greatest lyricist of this generation. There's not a single rapper out there that could dream of keeping up with him on Rap God, and not one that would be brave and honest enough to put out something as heartfelt and open as Headlights. This album is just brilliant.
  16. Mar 3, 2014
    7
    Even though it seems more like 16 tracks thrown together rather than created with a particular theme connecting them together, it's still a great album and one of Eminem's more energetic pieces. It tries to be original and even though it doesn't always succeed, its works. Out of the standard 16 songs, 'Bad Guy', 'So Far...' and 'Headlights' stand out the most for me. The bonus 6 tracks forEven though it seems more like 16 tracks thrown together rather than created with a particular theme connecting them together, it's still a great album and one of Eminem's more energetic pieces. It tries to be original and even though it doesn't always succeed, its works. Out of the standard 16 songs, 'Bad Guy', 'So Far...' and 'Headlights' stand out the most for me. The bonus 6 tracks for the deluxe version and the Call of Duty bonus track 'Don't Front' are 6 of the best songs Eminem has created for a long time. 'Groundhog Day' being my favourite. Good album overall but not perfect, still missing a few things here and there. Expand
  17. Feb 19, 2014
    8
    I want to say Eminem is back, but this might be his final studio album. MMLP2 is a great album, Eminem's best work by far since The Eminem Show. The lyrics, the flow, and the Slim Shady-esque verses make this one of the best albums of 2013. I thought "Berzerk" was definitely one of the weak spots of the album; Rick Rubin's production was outstanding and I can appreciate the effort toI want to say Eminem is back, but this might be his final studio album. MMLP2 is a great album, Eminem's best work by far since The Eminem Show. The lyrics, the flow, and the Slim Shady-esque verses make this one of the best albums of 2013. I thought "Berzerk" was definitely one of the weak spots of the album; Rick Rubin's production was outstanding and I can appreciate the effort to channel old school hip-hop, but Em tries a little too hard on this track to achieve that old school sound. Most of his raps are altered and depend on Rubin's production. I liked the track, but it just didn't work in the context of the album. ~ 8.3/10

    Best track: "Legacy"

    Other notable tracks: "Bad Guy", "Rhyme Or Reason", "Rap God", "So Far…", "Headlights", "Evil Twin" & "Baby"
    Expand
  18. Feb 15, 2014
    10
    I have always been a big fan of Eminem, each of Eminem albums always have been distinctive. MMLP2 shows Eminem unique story telling, word play, humor, and lyrical ability. Tracks like bad guy, legacy, and head lights shows how Eminem story telling is top notch. Rap god and evil twin showcases Eminem's word play and lyrical ability, while tracks like so much better, so far, and love gameI have always been a big fan of Eminem, each of Eminem albums always have been distinctive. MMLP2 shows Eminem unique story telling, word play, humor, and lyrical ability. Tracks like bad guy, legacy, and head lights shows how Eminem story telling is top notch. Rap god and evil twin showcases Eminem's word play and lyrical ability, while tracks like so much better, so far, and love game illustrates how humorous and funny Eminem can be. Overall this album got a piece of Marshall, slim shady, and a few aspects of recovery . I recommend this album if you like lyrical, emo, horror core, cautious, and back pack rap. Expand
  19. Feb 1, 2014
    5
    Where do you start with Eminem career... It has its ups and downs. Sure he's one of the best diss rappers out there but lacks direction on most of his tracks other than his emotional ones. Unfortunately when Eminem releases a poor album his army of fans will defend it to the end of the earth. Here's the thing. This album is good. It is nowhere near the best album of 2013, no matter howWhere do you start with Eminem career... It has its ups and downs. Sure he's one of the best diss rappers out there but lacks direction on most of his tracks other than his emotional ones. Unfortunately when Eminem releases a poor album his army of fans will defend it to the end of the earth. Here's the thing. This album is good. It is nowhere near the best album of 2013, no matter how much his fans say it is. This feels like what should have been an EP, because Eminem doesn't have a consistent and solid track list. The singles and the intro are the best part of the album. The rest ranges from sub par (for Eminem) to the deafeningly awful "Stronger than I Was". I know this is a new Eminem and this isn't gonna be SSLP Eminem, but I feel like this album, similar to Relapse, was rushed to shelves. All that said, this album is dope, flow wise. The beats, lyrics, and production... I just was not feeling it. This is his best work since TES, but I just expect more Expand
  20. Jan 29, 2014
    8
    Eminem is back in full storm to remind everyone of his place among hip-hop as a "rap god." In fact, in the song Rap God, he takes a breathless six minutes to relentlessly shove the argument down the throats of his listeners. MMLP2 is a diverse album with some laid back numbers as well as some bass-bumpin' heavy swingers. Eminem's flow is refreshingly original, as he sets out to do inEminem is back in full storm to remind everyone of his place among hip-hop as a "rap god." In fact, in the song Rap God, he takes a breathless six minutes to relentlessly shove the argument down the throats of his listeners. MMLP2 is a diverse album with some laid back numbers as well as some bass-bumpin' heavy swingers. Eminem's flow is refreshingly original, as he sets out to do in Bezerk, saying, "Let's take it back to straight hip-hop, and start it from scratch." He is just as furious and bitter as ever, throwing in some overused (but excellently executed) references, including, but not limited to, Monica Lewinsky and Helen Keller ("Even Helen Keller knows life stinks..." brilliant). His pop culture references and out-of-the-park analogies are just as good as ever, if not better. The 21 track deluxe album plays through from start to finish without boring. Stand out tracks are **** Rap God, Bad Guy, Rhyme or Reason, and Love Game feat. Kendrick Lamar. Expand
  21. Jan 24, 2014
    9
    Eminem has made the comeback that everybody expected and more. With his re-entry into the world with old school hip-hop on Bezerk, people were unsure as to what to expect on his new record. But as soon as they got to the 4th verse on Bad Guy, they knew that he was back, bigger and better than ever before. He takes us through the album with minimal filler. Bouncing back from slower, moreEminem has made the comeback that everybody expected and more. With his re-entry into the world with old school hip-hop on Bezerk, people were unsure as to what to expect on his new record. But as soon as they got to the 4th verse on Bad Guy, they knew that he was back, bigger and better than ever before. He takes us through the album with minimal filler. Bouncing back from slower, more personal songs with upbeat tracks such as So Far... He concludes the album with Evil Twin, where he even explains his journey so far - I've Got no backstreet boys to make fun of. All in all, he has given us the record we wanted with his incredible mechanical rapping skill and unbeatable storytelling ability. Expand
  22. Jan 19, 2014
    10
    Loved this album! Just superb! Bad Guy is amazing , Headlights is one of the best songs i've ever heard by Em. However , my favorite song from this album is Beautiful Pain. :D
  23. Jan 7, 2014
    10
    All I can say is WOW, not just because this album is so great, but because there are so many blind people that have no clue what Eminem really are rapping about and can't see the good in this album. Get some knowlegde and don't review Eminem's albums if you no nothing about rap, please. Enough said, this man will always be the God of rap. I'm glad I don't really give a about what theseAll I can say is WOW, not just because this album is so great, but because there are so many blind people that have no clue what Eminem really are rapping about and can't see the good in this album. Get some knowlegde and don't review Eminem's albums if you no nothing about rap, please. Enough said, this man will always be the God of rap. I'm glad I don't really give a about what these nonsense people say about the album, I just wanted to say this short; get some knowlegde. Expand
  24. Jan 2, 2014
    8
    I have to agree with what people are saying, that this is easily the most creative, energetic & inspired Eminem's been in a while. It has a lot of the same attitude & sense of humor as his first few albums, but you can tell that a lot of genuine effort was put into these tracks, rather than just being some desperate attempt to reclaim his “former glory” or whatever. He touches on a lot ofI have to agree with what people are saying, that this is easily the most creative, energetic & inspired Eminem's been in a while. It has a lot of the same attitude & sense of humor as his first few albums, but you can tell that a lot of genuine effort was put into these tracks, rather than just being some desperate attempt to reclaim his “former glory” or whatever. He touches on a lot of the same themes, but develops them & updates them to fit this point in his career. “Bad Guy” is a perfect example of this, a sequel to “Stan” that features fantastic storytelling & some of the most insightful meta-commentary Eminem has ever done. That's another thing that makes this album work: his self-awareness is as effective as ever. He spends so much time not only addressing his controversial reputation, but embracing & poking fun at it too as a vehicle for clever wordplay & a confidence-packed delivery. Speaking of, Eminem's delivery is another significantly improved area on this album. He's fully reclaimed what made him so appealing in the first place: personality. He knows exactly how goofy, intense, emotional, tongue-in-cheek or conversational to sound in any given moment, and the unique flows from track to track really help keep the admittedly very long album engaging all the way through. He also does a great job at revisiting themes from an album that, again, for the most part feel more like interesting updates than boring retreads, and there are comparisons in subject matter to be made between the albums. Probably the most notable example of this is “Headlights”, where he basically apologizes to his mom about all the songs he made against her, and it makes for easily one of the most mature songs he's ever written. But my favorite has got to be “So Far...”, which is just plain hilarious all the way through, complaining about fame & the current generation in a wonderfully tongue-in-cheek way.

    I really wanna say these huge positives are all I have to say about this album. But unfortunately it has its low points too, in a few different areas. The first thing I wanna talk about are the features. To briefly go over the ones I like, Kendrick Lamar's verse on “Love Game” matches up to Eminem's level of storytelling perfectly. Also I love Nate Ruess' emotive chorus on “Headlights” & Skylar Grey's on The one in “Bad Guy” fits well with the theme in the same way Dido's did on “Stan”. But sometimes, the lineup of cookie-cutter female vocalists singing the hooks just feels unnecessary & desperate for a radio-friendly chorus. “The Monster” is possible the worst victim of this, surrounding its strong personal themes of self-doubt in the face of fame with severe overproduction & an annoyingly radio-baiting chorus from Rihanna. To me the best choruses Eminem's done have usually been the ones he does himself. Another song definitely worth bringing up is “Rap God”, which I actually really like for the most part. It captures a lot of what I already complimented this album for & the rapid-fire flow about halfway in is undeniably phenomenal. But before that part there are a couple parts that just have me scratching my head, like when he spends a few bars detailing a beef between Fabolous & Ray J that I doubt most people even knew existed or care about, or the “lookin boy” bit that's just awkward to listen to. I'm also not really a fan of the whiny bad relationship song “So Much Better” that can get embarrassingly melodramatic. But the worst moment has to be “Stronger Than I Was”, a horribly corny all-sung R&B ballad that has no reason to be on this album whatsoever. He's always been just a passable enough singer to do a chorus, but that's it. I didn't see much of a point in the “Parking Lot” skit either.

    Bringing it back to positives though, the production & instrumentals are fantastic almost all the way through. I love the bombastic rap-rock on “Berserk” & “Survival” that call back to early Beastie Boys. “Bad Guy” perfectly captures the same subtly eerie tone that “Stan” did while not feeling like a direct copy. And the heavy sampling on some tracks like “So Far...” & “Rhyme Or Reason” is executed really well, finding very clever ways of integrating the original songs into them in multiple parts of the song. Overall, as you can see I had mixed feelings about The Marshall Mathers LP 2, but I still love it as a whole. Eminem really is back in top form. Let's just hope he keeps his momentum this time around. (insert your own bad “guess who's back” joke here).

    Top 5 tracks: So Far..., Bad Guy, Headlights, Rhyme or Reason
    Score: 81/100
    (Check out a longer review on my Facebook page That Non-Elitist Music Fan.)
    Expand
  25. Dec 28, 2013
    10
    After some well earned time off, the best returns to be the best. Rap God, Bezerk, Survival and The Monster clearly show all his older styles including the hard lines of Bezerk and the up&downs of Rap God, the easier style of Survival and the emotional collab "The Monster"
  26. Dec 27, 2013
    9
    After Eminem released his 2010 project, "Recovery", fans and casual listeners alike were left wondering where his career was going. There were a few roads it could've been headed down; Retirement, another hiatus, or a continuation of the sober, somewhat apologetic Eminem we got from Recovery. His 2011 collaboration EP with Royce Da 5'9'' left many fans breathing a sigh of relief as we gotAfter Eminem released his 2010 project, "Recovery", fans and casual listeners alike were left wondering where his career was going. There were a few roads it could've been headed down; Retirement, another hiatus, or a continuation of the sober, somewhat apologetic Eminem we got from Recovery. His 2011 collaboration EP with Royce Da 5'9'' left many fans breathing a sigh of relief as we got a healthy helping of Slim Shady and Eminem in full blown attack mode on verbal fronts. That being said though, when the announcement of The Marshall Mathers LP 2 came to surface, nobody knew what to expect. Was the album title just a publicity stunt to increase album sales, and would Eminem leave us with a mess of an album and actually give us a Recovery 2? Being a massive Eminem fan, I can comfortably express my discomfort with Recovery, his last solo outing, but this album is no Recovery 2. This IS a sequel (or a continuation, as he likes to put it) to The Mathers LP in the grandest form. It's a culmination of the Eminem/Slim Shady we've grown to know, love and hate over the past 14 years. The album sets the tone right off the bat with the sequel to the classic "Stan", with "Bad Guy". Never could I imagine Eminem making a sequel to any song, let alone his most remarkable story telling piece, but he absolutely delivers with yet another chilling story. Eminem hasn't burned with so much purpose since his 2002 effort, "The Eminem Show". He sets out to prove his verbal skills and to engrave his place in rap history as a "Rap God". The album doesn't come without it's missteps of course. You have the sing-songy, strictly for the radio collaboration with Rihanna (which was really an inevitable piece of work based on the success of "Love the Way You Lie"). You also get one of the worst songs Eminem has ever composed with "Stronger Than I Was". Props to the MC for stepping outside of the box and trying something different, but it really doesn't fit in with the album nor does it sound very good anyway. Kid Cudi may not be a good singer, but he somehow makes his voice work for the songs he sings in. This is not the case for Eminem though, as his singing is absolutely cringe-worthy. I'm very sure Eminem is aware of this fact, and I wish he would've swallowed his pride and left this proud composition on the shelf maybe for Rihanna to sing on her next project. Back to the positives though; Eminem has shown maturation as an artist on his sequel here. It's exhibited through his heartfelt apology to his mother on "Headlights", a song that if you've followed Eminem from step one, is an absolute tear-jerker. Eminem has also proven himself to be very capable of stepping outside of the box and rhyming over some very unorthodox production. Take for example "So Far" and the hilarious collaboration with Kendrick Lamar, "Love Game". What other rapper would feature Kendrick Lamar in a role like this and make it work? Nobody. The song is a delight and a definite highlight from the album. "Evil Twin", the closing track from the album is perhaps one of the best from the album as a whole, and maybe his best concluding track yet. The song encompasses everything we love about Eminem and Slim Shady and ends the album on the highest point possible. Eminem may not have delivered a flawless record, nor should we have expected him to. BUT, it's a top 5 rap record of the year and some of his best work to date. It doesn't quite stand up as tall as the original Mathers LP, but it stands on it's own as a remarkable piece of work from an MC so deep into his career, who can still go bar for bar with any rapper to comes to mind. Expand
  27. Dec 18, 2013
    5
    oh man this iffy ok. well the lyrics are somewhat powerful but some are so boring and lame! the good ones are berserk hole and headlights and the monster, berserk is rad and old school, is a great take on the album and with Skylar grey, headlights is my favorite its about that he loves his mom but that she did up and its powerful as hell. but lets be honest there are some STUPIDoh man this iffy ok. well the lyrics are somewhat powerful but some are so boring and lame! the good ones are berserk hole and headlights and the monster, berserk is rad and old school, is a great take on the album and with Skylar grey, headlights is my favorite its about that he loves his mom but that she did up and its powerful as hell. but lets be honest there are some STUPID SONGS!!!!!! such as everything I did not just list. there are some mean lyrics im not offended by his music but he is calling people and retards for no ****ing reason. he used to have deep meaning full insults, but we just got screwy crappy bully lines. ok for example Im 13 I get called names like and retard but I don't expect a 40 year old ****ing man too say it its stupid with no rhyme or reason get it? I guess its well produced though but most of this is garbage and its a terrible buy. WTF IS THIS Expand
  28. Dec 18, 2013
    7
    Although new listeners of Eminem would feel isolated listening to this album, The Marshall Mathers LP 2 will sure enjoy long-time Eminem fans with its outstanding highlights.

    Highlights: Parking Lot (Skit), Rhyme or Reason, Legacy, Berzerk, Rap God, Stronger Than I Was, The Monster, So Far... and Love Game Potential Singles After the Album's Release: Stronger Than I Was, So Far...
    Although new listeners of Eminem would feel isolated listening to this album, The Marshall Mathers LP 2 will sure enjoy long-time Eminem fans with its outstanding highlights.

    Highlights: Parking Lot (Skit), Rhyme or Reason, Legacy, Berzerk, Rap God, Stronger Than I Was, The Monster, So Far... and Love Game
    Potential Singles After the Album's Release: Stronger Than I Was, So Far... and Love Game.
    Personal Favorites: Parking Lot (Skit), Survival, Berzerk, Stronger Than I Was, The Monster and Headlights.
    Expand
  29. Dec 16, 2013
    10
    The album is classic, it's way better then Recovery. This is Eminem in his entirety, the flow is sick and the lyrics are just great, sensitivity and psychopaths at the same time with the touch of the street language. The beats are great, the rap rock and the piano especially, but he was should features more rappers than pop singers. One of the best rap albums ever. My rank is 9.5/10.
  30. Dec 15, 2013
    10
    Im going to go ahead and EXPOSE METACRITIC AS GARBAGE real quick, if anyone wants to stick around...

    Eminem goes unforgiving hard-as-nails in-your-face and mad-as-hell on MMLP1, and Metacritic slams him for being over the top. They claim the classic was a 78, and Yeezus, the ten song experimental embarrassment that Kanye can't get over 3.2 stars on Itunes, is an 85. Ok, fine. He
    Im going to go ahead and EXPOSE METACRITIC AS GARBAGE real quick, if anyone wants to stick around...

    Eminem goes unforgiving hard-as-nails in-your-face and mad-as-hell on MMLP1, and Metacritic slams him for being over the top. They claim the classic was a 78, and Yeezus, the ten song experimental embarrassment that Kanye can't get over 3.2 stars on Itunes, is an 85. Ok, fine.

    He lightens up on The Eminem Show, and Metacritic says it's too soft and they've heard it all before. 75.

    He mixes in other artists and dumbs down the "Slim Shady" persona on The Reup, and they absolutely trash it and say he's lost his voice. 50. A 50, supposedly a worse album than IANAHB 2.
    Do You Sense the Bullsh.it Yet.....

    He brings back Slim Shady as violent yet comedic as ever on Relapse, and they say he's forcing the issue. 59.

    He changes his content for the more mature, stays witty, address' his past demons and shows immense growth as an artist on Recovery, and they say he's boring. 63.

    THEN, on MMLP2, he combines Recovery, MMLP, and the Eminem Show in an experimental, mature, hard-as-nails, yet emotional reflection on his career, and they give it a 73. Thats 7 points worse than Teflon Don, by Rick Ross.

    METACRITIC: WHAT THE ACTUAL ARE YOU DOING.
    Expand
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 33
  2. Negative: 1 out of 33
  1. Jan 7, 2014
    60
    Even though his wit and word patterns still dazzle, they need a livelier canvas if the Eminem nostalgia experience is to be the thrilling one it should be. [Jan 2014, p.122]
  2. Dec 18, 2013
    60
    The music is almost secondary, his production' often leaden beats a mere sideshow to mind-bending internal rhyme pyrotechnics that jab hard at the surreal dial. [Jan 2014, p.92]
  3. Nov 21, 2013
    80
    Eminem might not be making “shock rap with Doc” like he used to be, but The Marshall Mathers LP 2 takes turns as equally bold and unpredictable as anything in his discography.