• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
The Moon & Antarctica Image
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 109 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 22
  2. Negative: 1 out of 22
  1. Moment for moment, there's not a more significant collection of songs to spend your life with...
  2. Production notwithstanding, the major-label move is the lyric sheet, which situates their circular minor-key riffs in a congruent worldview: eternal recurrence as infinite regress as cosmic bummer.
  3. 80
    Remarkably mature and absorbing.
  4. 80
    A dark album that shines very brightly. [#46, p.85]
  5. A visit to desolate regions... a 60-minute, 15-song treatise on isolation, displacement and a seemingly bottomless spiritual void.
  6. 30
    The Moon and Antarctica does show Modest Mouse willing to change. Too bad it wasn't for the better.... Mistaking subject for style, Modest Mouse has chosen to accentuate on a tendency to drift rather than an ability to write emotionally effective songs.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 53
  2. Negative: 0 out of 53
  1. kenf
    Jan 11, 2005
    10
    One of the most interesting listens i've heard in a long time. The masterpiece has finally arrived in the bands most creatively brilliant album.
  2. Dan
    Aug 31, 2002
    10
    well, let's start from the beginning. moon... opens with 3rd planet, easily among the most beautiful songs i've ever heard before well, let's start from the beginning. moon... opens with 3rd planet, easily among the most beautiful songs i've ever heard before continuing into the luscious pop hooks of gravity rides everything and the fiercely individualistic albeit catchy dark center of the universe and the simple, acoustic beauty of perfect disguise. from there on, the songs only grow bigger, more expansive, and ultimately more beautiful. lives is a lovely isaac brock solo number, the stars are projectors a mind-blowing tour de force of mercury rev/yerself is steam intensity, and life like weeds a pained, unpretentious probing into the sadness at the heart. the "i could have told you all that i love you" verse is simply stunning for all of its poetic beauty. absolutely essential. the best offering from one of the best bands around. 3rd planet stands with sparklehorse's sunshine and son volt's windfall as one of the three best songs of the decade. buy this record! Expand
  3. Jack
    Jul 12, 2006
    10
    Oh yes... Ohhh yes.
  4. AndrewK
    Sep 9, 2005
    10
    So just because lame music review sites in some drunken stupor rate this amazing album 30-70 it gets an 80????? That is incredibly stupid as So just because lame music review sites in some drunken stupor rate this amazing album 30-70 it gets an 80????? That is incredibly stupid as this album is amazing. A tip for reviewing an album is to actually listen to ALL songs instead of the two widely advertised ones..... Anyway woohoo pitchfork media, best music site ever Expand
  5. TylerC
    Nov 1, 2006
    10
    I started listening to modest mouse about two years before "Good News" came out and the song that caught my ears to them was first "Mice Eat I started listening to modest mouse about two years before "Good News" came out and the song that caught my ears to them was first "Mice Eat Cheese" and then I heard 3rd Planet, which i believe is easily one of there best songs. I love so many songs they have made and all there albums and this is easily there best. I love his voice and the music is so different and i could listen to this album over and over and i do. Expand
  6. Kevin
    Nov 5, 2009
    10
    I first caught on to Modest Mouse after hearing Ocean Breathes Salty. For a while, all I listened to was their more mainstream albums. I I first caught on to Modest Mouse after hearing Ocean Breathes Salty. For a while, all I listened to was their more mainstream albums. I thought they where great at the time, and they where, but they got old. That's when I came across this album. Compared to The Moon and Antarctica, Good News and We Were Dead are fluff. Sure they've got some pretty cool guitar jams and catchy tunes, but they're nowhere near as deep and inquisitive as The Moon. I'm not saying that they're bad albums, they're definitely listen worthy, but The Moon and Antarctica is just so good. Expand
  7. time
    Nov 14, 2006
    5
    Give me a break! Spin magazine was right the first time. And this was back when Spin was considered groundbreaking. Nobody even payed Give me a break! Spin magazine was right the first time. And this was back when Spin was considered groundbreaking. Nobody even payed attention to this album until "Float On" became a hit. People were pissed off at them for making it big so they just went to this album because it was more "Indie" than "Good News..." Hating a band because they had a hit. How pathetic. Good News is not only their best but it's one of the best albums of the entire decade. Collapse

See all 53 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Best Albums of the Decade: A Roundup of Critic Lists

    Best Albums of the Decade: A Roundup of Critic Lists Image
    Published: December 15, 2009
    We collect over 20 best-of-the-decade lists from leading music publications and websites, and reveal which albums turn up the most.