The Mouse And The Mask Image

Universal acclaim - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 52 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This collaboration between MF Doom and Danger Mouse includes voices and skits from Cartoon Network's Adult Swim shows. Non-animated folks like Ghostface Killah, Cee-Lo & Talib Kweli also lend a hand.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. 100
    As subversive as it is weird.
  2. Rather than detract from the funkified weirdness, the guest spots from the Adult Swim crew actually add to the craziness.
  3. The best album of the year in the hip-hop underground.
  4. The beats on The Mouse and the Mask are remarkably consistent, satisfactorily complex, and surprisingly subtle.
  5. It's not as revealing as Doom's other work, and Danger Mouse's big, Technicolor productions here are a little too trivial to be immortal. But for what it attempts-- which is basically a comedy record with no-joke skills-- it exceeds expectations.
  6. 70
    An entirely silly album. [Jan 2006, p.120]
  7. 50
    Surprisingly pedestrian. [Nov 2005, p.134]

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 32
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 32
  3. Negative: 3 out of 32
  1. Dec 12, 2010
    This album is a counter culture work of genius which borrows popular elements from the mainstream Gorillaz LP and subverts them in what can only be described as one of the most original hip-hop albums of all time. MF Doom is legendary like a modern day Shakespeare who growls and spits with vigour and distaste. Expertly crafted with compressed beats and samples that no one would have the balls to use, it is clear that DangerMouse is a voice for a movement of new school producers who cannot be pigeonholed or defined by genre. The only logical step is for them to create their own. Every track is similar in style and to the duo's credit each attempt is an improvement in quality and leaves you with a satisfied listening experience. Expand

See all 32 User Reviews