User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 59 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 59
  2. Negative: 3 out of 59

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. TravisF.
    Feb 18, 2008
    7
    This album is good but certainly not a 93 out of 100 or an 8.9 average review by other listeners. Perhaps a 7 but not even the best Talking Heads album released, let alone one of the best albums released in the last six or seven years.
  2. FrancisW
    Aug 25, 2004
    10
    At last!
  3. hughm
    Aug 31, 2004
    10
    I have waited years for this album to come out on cd. A classic, not to be missed
  4. JonH
    Sep 9, 2004
    10
    One of the greatest bands of the last 30 years at their best.
  5. jasont
    Sep 18, 2004
    10
    The definitive live collection from quite possibly the best band of the last 30 years.
  6. MartijnV
    Sep 21, 2004
    10
    The name of this comment is "The name of this album is The Name Of This Band Is Talking Heads."
  7. [Anonymous]
    Oct 3, 2004
    10
    amazing
  8. MichelleW
    Oct 21, 2004
    10
    Why did this release take so long? The live versions of some of their early songs are better on this cd than on their original albums.
  9. NormS
    Oct 29, 2004
    10
    It doesn't get any better. THIS is Talking Heads.
  10. Taylor
    Aug 26, 2004
    10
    super cool
  11. AshleyM
    Feb 26, 2005
    10
    Long lost, but not long forgotten, this is a collection of live Talking Heads tracks from many different concerts over a certain period after the '77 album. It is a great chronicle of how the band progressed over their career, going from a small funk ensemble to the Big Electronic Band sound with Bernie Worrell. Definitely a must have.
  12. DanM
    Mar 11, 2005
    10
    Modern Classic
  13. DaveB
    Aug 13, 2005
    9
    Brings back a lot of memories. I grew up listening to this and hearing it again sounds amazingly fresh. Only bad thing is...makes the music coming out now seem very corporate and uninspired.
  14. salomey
    Sep 2, 2005
    10
    this should make even the biggest 80's hater a Talking Heads fan what a remarkable collection awe inspiring all the way though but especially disc 2 will leave you wondering what happened to music since then
  15. MarcoR
    Sep 21, 2005
    10
    Anyone with a minimum of musical ear can understand this live album is a masterpiece playing it the first time.
  16. Anandgyan
    Apr 4, 2006
    9
    A live anthology of some sort though this has an exquisite track selection, crisp sound and Andrian Belew's eccentric play on lead guitar to boot on some songs. What a set of documents all wrapped-up in a treat of a fabulous release. Say more? Creaming pants material.
  17. chrisc
    Jul 7, 2006
    10
    the talking heads never got the acclaim they deserved,this album shows the listener that they wiped the floor with anything that was around at that time,ie crap british punk/new romantics,where are they now?byrne is still thunmping it out???
  18. MintL
    Aug 1, 2006
    9
    The first disc demonstrates Talking Heads at their tightest and most radikle however the second disc doesn't shine quite as brightly. This is a great introduction to the band -- better than Sand In The Vasaline or the Best Of.
  19. roycem
    Sep 20, 2006
    9
    made me love them all over again
  20. ejr
    Jul 6, 2007
    10
    an immediate top 10 album for me. a great stepping stone into the depth of the talking heads for listeners just getting to know the band. unbelievable stuff.
  21. timC
    Aug 24, 2007
    10
    Just trying to counter-act Joe B's horrible 0 rating for this amazing classic. Hating the Talking Heads is like actually saying, out-loud, in front of everyone, that you have no taste, and no sense of humor. Awesome album by one of the all-time great innovators of American rock.
  22. ChrisR.
    Oct 7, 2007
    9
    Tim C gave it a10: Just trying to counter-act Joe B's horrible 0 rating for this amazing classic. Hating the Talking Heads is like actually saying, out-loud, in front of everyone, that you have no taste, and no sense of humor. Awesome album by one of the all-time great innovators of American rock. Wow thanks for the hegemonic statement. What else should I buy o, seer of musical tastes?
  23. BrianK
    Oct 27, 2007
    10
    Best live album I have ever heard. The energy and musicianship on this album is hard to beat (no pun intended).
  24. RubenM.
    Dec 6, 2007
    10
    This is a MUST HAVE. One of the best releases of Talking Heads, it's fresh, powerful and if anyone dislikes this, they just dislike real good music.
  25. MarkD
    May 17, 2008
    10
    How can people give this anything less than a 9? Brilliant album charting the evolution of a band from relatively small beginnings to their creative peak.
  26. DerK.
    Aug 9, 2008
    10
    When I first bought the original cassete version as a teenager in the 80's I was hooked on to this album. The expanded CD version perfects it. There is no other live album in the New Wave/Alternative genre that can match TNOTBITH. The jury is still out as whether it's the greatest live Rock album but for New Wave/Alternative nothing comes close to it before or since.
  27. unico
    Aug 13, 2008
    10
    Well, I will give a ten probably 10 times in my life. this is the essential talking heads. one of the greatest live albums you will ever get to listen to.
  28. VitoV
    Jun 8, 2009
    10
    Greatest live record of all time.
  29. May 16, 2011
    9
    Another great live record I have heard recently (the other being Led Zeppelin's How the West Was Won). If they had only released disc 1, I would have given this a perfect score. The first disc is just an amazing record...maybe not Talking Heads rawest, but the band sure feels loose yet pointed. Disc two is very good, but maybe a little too tightly-wound with additional musicians. MaybeAnother great live record I have heard recently (the other being Led Zeppelin's How the West Was Won). If they had only released disc 1, I would have given this a perfect score. The first disc is just an amazing record...maybe not Talking Heads rawest, but the band sure feels loose yet pointed. Disc two is very good, but maybe a little too tightly-wound with additional musicians. Maybe Byrne was trying to be too perfect, which I feel deterred from the overall feel of the disc. Still, though, this was a great refresher for me on the Talking Heads. They were a great live band! Expand
  30. j30
    Nov 10, 2011
    9
    I wasn't sure whether the Talking Heads would translate well live or not. But rest assured, they bring on home.
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. The result is both the best career-spanning snapshot of and single-purchase introduction to Talking Heads-- odd accolades for a live record-- and a treat for longtime fans.
  2. 100
    Terrifically thorough. [Nov 2004, p.131]
  3. 80
    It's too taxing for the less intense of the band's admirers. [Nov 2004, p.127]