The Name Of This Band Is Talking Heads [2004 Version] Image
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 61 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This two-disc set marks the long-awaited compact disc debut of the legendary band's 1982 live double album. While the original tracks are retained (and the discs follow the original's breakdown of 1977-1979 and 1980-1981), a whopping 16 tracks are added to the set, including 13 that wereThis two-disc set marks the long-awaited compact disc debut of the legendary band's 1982 live double album. While the original tracks are retained (and the discs follow the original's breakdown of 1977-1979 and 1980-1981), a whopping 16 tracks are added to the set, including 13 that were never before released in any format. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Uncut
    100
    Terrifically thorough. [Nov 2004, p.131]
  2. Entertainment Weekly
    100
    Captures the punk attitude, brittle R&B vamps, and quirky lyrical trips of their early years. [20/27 Aug 2004, p.123]
  3. A caterwauling hunk of avant-garde precision.
  4. A terrific and long-overdue reissue that's sure to satiate established fans as well as the new converts it hopes to earn.
  5. The Name of This Band Is Talking Heads is not only a vital document of an important, groundbreaking band on their way up, it's one of their best albums, easily surpassing Stop Making Sense.
  6. Blender
    80
    The momentous band [on the 1980-81 disc] stretches out and jams, both celebrating and escaping the band's trademark anxiety. [Sep 2004, p.158]
  7. Mojo
    80
    It's too taxing for the less intense of the band's admirers. [Nov 2004, p.127]

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 36
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 36
  3. Negative: 2 out of 36
  1. hughm
    Aug 31, 2004
    10
    I have waited years for this album to come out on cd. A classic, not to be missed
  2. Mar 20, 2016
    10
    This is Talking Heads at their peak, definitely a must have and one of the best live albums of the 80s. Stop Making Sense is overrated THIS isThis is Talking Heads at their peak, definitely a must have and one of the best live albums of the 80s. Stop Making Sense is overrated THIS is their best live album. Expand
  3. [Anonymous]
    Oct 3, 2004
    10
    amazing
  4. BrianK
    Oct 27, 2007
    10
    Best live album I have ever heard. The energy and musicianship on this album is hard to beat (no pun intended).
  5. unico
    Aug 13, 2008
    10
    Well, I will give a ten probably 10 times in my life. this is the essential talking heads. one of the greatest live albums you will ever get Well, I will give a ten probably 10 times in my life. this is the essential talking heads. one of the greatest live albums you will ever get to listen to. Expand
  6. May 16, 2011
    9
    Another great live record I have heard recently (the other being Led Zeppelin's How the West Was Won). If they had only released disc 1, IAnother great live record I have heard recently (the other being Led Zeppelin's How the West Was Won). If they had only released disc 1, I would have given this a perfect score. The first disc is just an amazing record...maybe not Talking Heads rawest, but the band sure feels loose yet pointed. Disc two is very good, but maybe a little too tightly-wound with additional musicians. Maybe Byrne was trying to be too perfect, which I feel deterred from the overall feel of the disc. Still, though, this was a great refresher for me on the Talking Heads. They were a great live band! Expand
  7. JoeB
    Aug 29, 2006
    0
    Pathetic group!

See all 36 User Reviews