The New Game - Mudvayne
The New Game Image
Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 18 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The fourth album for the metal band from Illinois was produced by Dave Fortman.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 7
  2. Negative: 2 out of 7
  1. Some of the fierce headbanging that is Mudvayne's stock in trade can still be found in 'The Hate in Me,' 'We the People' and 'Dull Boy,' but the bulk of the record finds the group playing its New Game with hard-hitting exuberance.
  2. Mudvayne used to be viewed as somewhat of a joke band with its costumes and makeup, but they're more out front and naked now, with markedly more genuine results.
  3. This fourth album finds them repeating the nifty trick of simplifying Tool's complex musical equations. Math metal for dummies, anyone? [Jan 2009, p.113]
  4. With a winning opener (the familiar but nonetheless brutal "Fish Out of Water") and a handful of other keepers (including "A New Game" and the surprisingly subtle "Never Enough"), fans looking for a repeat of L.D. 50, Beginning of All Things to End, End of All Things to Come, and Lost and Found will be more than pleased, but those looking for actual growth would be better off cleaning out their refrigerators.
  5. Mudvayne write some decent guitar hooks (check the title track), but their imagination is parched, with most songs hewing to one formula: riff, whimper, shriek, repeat.
  6. The New Game signifies Mudvayne's transition from elite metal juggernaut to their inevitable fade into obscurity.
  7. The album's gooey, mid-tempo grind at best evokes System of a Down stripped of ambition and eccentricity, and might elicit sympathy with whatever culprit is running around that no-stoplight town.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 1 out of 8
  1. AviP.
    Nov 30, 2008
    9
    The first time I listened to this album I was in a mild trance after two hours of meditation, and I was really impressed (and touched!). The sound of the album was shockingly weird to me, with mastery of instruments as usual. Now that I've listened to it a dozen times, I still really like the album, but I'm not as impressed, it might be my fault as the listener though. Chad does seem to have lost the intensity of suffering that he infused into his signing before, but his getting married might not let him get into deep insane drugged up depressions anymore. My roommate discovered something really cool though. It might be an illusion, but on the four first tracks at least, the opening riff is introduced in the song before it. Look for it, it's really cool! And it might be an indication that Mudvayne's hiding something in their music once again. Sorry if my writing isnt electrifying, I just ate a great deal of cookies. Expand
  2. J.J.
    Dec 2, 2008
    9
    If you do not like this type of music, don't listen to it. You both mention Disturbed and Mudvayne as if they're run-of-the-mill and ... overdo guitar solos? Yeah ... nice. You're both idiots. That is all. Expand
  3. VBS
    Dec 13, 2008
    9
    Great Album - Mudvayne have stepped up there game and put out lean, heavy, sometimes progressive, and catchy record.
  4. JacobP
    Apr 9, 2009
    8
    Not as good as I was expecting, but it's not bad. I think they went too soft on this album. The songs are good, but it's not the Mudvayne I was used to. There we're softer songs on other CD's, but this one is dominated by them. While it's still a good CD, I hope they go back to the old style for their next album. Expand
  5. MattF
    Nov 30, 2008
    7
    It's a good effort. The record is more mainstream than their past work, a little generic at times, but the heaviness is still there. Fans of Lost and Found won't be disappointed. It's no L.D. 50, though. Collapse
  6. MislavF
    Nov 19, 2008
    7
    First, it should be said that anybody who enjoyed Lost and Found will probably enjoy this album. Also, this should be listened to in context, preferably right after listening to previous Mudvayne albums, at least for the first listen. This album is not a large departure from their old sound, but it adds a few new elements to it. First, and most noticeably, is the addition of guitar solos. Those who shudder at that thought should not worry - there are not a lot of guitar solos, and those which are to be found aren't excessive (try Disturbed's latest album, Indestructible, for an example of overdoing it). Also, there are more layers of guitar in many songs which adds an entirely new melodic sound that previous Mudvayne songs didn't have. Some might say this is the beginning of them selling out to the mainstream or something, but it can also be seen as simple musical progression. The rhythm section is excellent as usual, the guitar riffs satisfyingly, and... Chad probably has the least inspired performance out of any of the members. Sure, he sounds good, he's definitely capable, but he lacks the emotion that most of his earlier work had (whether Hellyeah had any effect on his singing now is up to the listener). "Dull Boy" is probably the least interesting song on this album, closely resembling "IMN" from Lost and Found, and it was also released on their fan-inspired album. The first four tracks or so are quality Mudvayne material - "Fish Out of Water", "Do What You Do", "A New Game", and "Have It Your Way". "Fish Out of Water" is a strong opener, but it doesn't quite live up to "Silenced" and "Determined" from Mudvayne's previous two albums. "Do What You Do" sounds like a familiar mix of Lost and Found and The End of All Things to Come, and its accessibility makes it an obvious prime choice for a single. "A New Game" has a strong enough opening two minutes that it seems like it might have been a good opener, but then it slows down, featuring a guitar solo. It takes so long to fade out that it seems like it would have been an appropriate end to the album since "We The People" ends rather abruptly. "Have It Your Way" is a strong fourth track, but "A Cinderella Story" doesn't quite have the same punch. "The Hate in Me" is another strong track, still not quite living up to the anger of older Mudvayne work. "Scarlet Letters" is the first of the two softer songs, and its change of pace makes it a standout. It's more melodic than most of the tracks, and it lets a little beauty shine in an otherwise mostly dark album. The bottom line is that The New Game is a strong album, one that Mudvayne fans should embrace, and it's probably a good start for a more noticeable departure in sound - look out for the new Mudvayne album planned to come out in about six months. The progressive elements that could be heard on Lost and Found are beginning to materialize more in The New Game, and hopefully Mudvayne's newer work will continue to become more interesting. Flawed as it may be, it's definitely a step in the right direction. Expand
  7. FrankZ.
    Nov 22, 2008
    0
    Back when Mudvayne first came out they weren't the best band ever, just got another metal band, but they were okay. As time goes by and music evolves, music like this has become so dull and boring. Its hard rock (which isnt even good) they play on radio stations and in movie trailers. What is this band trying to do anyways? This record is weak compared to their previous which were also weak. Theyre obviously doing this to make money so they can... Honestly this album is horrible and I don't see this band ever progressing. So don't waste your money. Because you mine as well as listening to Disturbed. Theres better music out there. Expand

See all 8 User Reviews