The Next Day

Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 44 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 44
  2. Negative: 0 out of 44
Buy On
  1. Mar 11, 2013
    50
    Put quite simply The Next Day is dull.
  2. Mar 4, 2013
    50
    The collision of rhetoric and intentions result in both colorless abstractions like piano ballad and first single "Where Are We Now," and grand melodrama like "You Feel So Lonely You Could Die."
  3. Mar 11, 2013
    60
    The Next Day is a good latter-day Bowie record, worthy of at least a few listens, but since it's so evocative of his earlier, better work there's little reason not to put on Scary Monsters or Heroes instead.
  4. Mar 14, 2013
    60
    Pop music is never a purely cerebral exercise, and despite its intriguing concept, The Next Day is woefully short on anything to sing along to.
  5. Mar 11, 2013
    60
    A dense, angry, complex rock album.
  6. The Wire
    Apr 24, 2013
    40
    The rest of the album makes the distance between now and (Berlin) then of "Where Are We Now?" painfully evident, a pain heightened by Visconti's failure to convert this collection of session muso workouts into anything memorable. [May 2013, p.55]
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 193 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 40
  2. Negative: 5 out of 40
  1. Mar 12, 2013
    8
    Even though I'm a die-hard David Bowie fanatic (I've even forgiven him for Tin Machine...), I must say I was a bit nervous/hesitant when IEven though I'm a die-hard David Bowie fanatic (I've even forgiven him for Tin Machine...), I must say I was a bit nervous/hesitant when I heard about this album being released. However, when I heard the lead-off single, I was quite relieved. I pre-ordered the CD and streamed it. This new release confirmed my hopes & desires for something awesome from Mr. Jones. I highly recommend buying this release. I'm debating getting a copy on vinyl when it's released in that format later this month. Full Review »
  2. Mar 16, 2013
    4
    I really, really don't know what all the fuss is about. This is a very dull album indeed in my opinion. Bowie is lionized to such a degreeI really, really don't know what all the fuss is about. This is a very dull album indeed in my opinion. Bowie is lionized to such a degree that he is now beyond reproach in the minds of fans and critics alike. Full Review »
  3. Mar 19, 2013
    3
    I've been a Bowie fan for almost exactly 30 years now. The Next Day just leaves me flat. Compared to his works such as Scary Monsters, Low,I've been a Bowie fan for almost exactly 30 years now. The Next Day just leaves me flat. Compared to his works such as Scary Monsters, Low, Hours etc this album just seems plain dull. It jumps around all over the place, almost like Bowie is riffing on his entire catalogue in an effort to "round things up". Bowie has sure had his highs (Scary Monsters, Low) and his lows (Tin Machine, anything in the mid to late 80s) but sadly The Next Day isn't the Bowie I've come to know and love. The album's only saving grace is a single track, Valentine's Day. And the album cover.. sorry.. not clever at all. Full Review »