• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
The Odd Couple Image
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 36 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This is the sophomore album for producer Danger Mouse and rapper Cee-Lo Green.

Top Track

Going On
I've seen it with my own eyes How we're gettin' otherwise Without the luxury of leavin' (of leavin') The touch and feeling of free Is intangible... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 35
  2. Negative: 1 out of 35
  1. Odd Couple is every bit as musically inventive as "Elsewhere."
  2. While the production values on the album are stronger, so is The Odd Couple's focus on Cee-Lo's voice.
  3. And yet, as is often the case with music crafted solely in the key of strife, the result is bizarrely life-enhancing, chiefly thanks to the head-spinning fashion in which Gnarls condense 40 years of rock'n'roll into one seamless psychedelic whole.
  4. 80
    If this is soul, it's soul for 21st-century sociopaths. [Apr 2008, p.77]
  5. At times, The Odd Couple is a more beautiful record than its predecessor. But all too often Cee-Lo relies on the same sort of lyrical cipher as on St. Elsewhere, although none of them are as effective.
  6. 60
    The Odd Couple is basically a more refined "St. Elsewhere," without the rap aberrations or goofy covers that made the debut such a wild, bumpy ride. [Apr 2008, p.91]
  7. Boring grooves that last a couple of minutes before ending abruptly just don’t cut it. What a letdown.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 15
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 15
  3. Negative: 1 out of 15
  1. JacobS.
    Mar 27, 2008
    10
    Awesome. There's only 2 or 3 tracks really worth complaining about (examples; Would Be Killer, She Knows), all of which I feel were Awesome. There's only 2 or 3 tracks really worth complaining about (examples; Would Be Killer, She Knows), all of which I feel were great concepts that would have been astoundingly good had they been fully realized. Unfortunately, they are a little too repetive (for my taste, anyway). The rest of the album is amazing, though. I've listened to Open Book and Going On both many times, and I still get chills everytime I hear the chorus of either. Whatever is just annoying and whiny enough to be hilarious and somewhat addictive. A Little Better's lyrics/vocals are beautiful and eerie,perfectly sealing together and drawing to a close the somber feel of the album. Definitely worth a listen. Expand
  2. JJB.
    Mar 25, 2008
    10
    The simple fact is that all the potential I saw on St. Elsewhere (a revolutionary album that I bought before the monumental hit Crazy) is The simple fact is that all the potential I saw on St. Elsewhere (a revolutionary album that I bought before the monumental hit Crazy) is realized on this groundbreaking album. It's a true classic that I'm thinking I'll be listening to for ages to come. It takes you to another place and you never want to come back. Danger Mouse's beats and Cee-Lo's vocals have made another amazing album. Expand
  3. EugeneJ.
    Mar 26, 2008
    10
    Album is on constant replay. The vocals on "Open Book" were quite a powerful surprise. Have been listening to this album non-stop since Album is on constant replay. The vocals on "Open Book" were quite a powerful surprise. Have been listening to this album non-stop since yesterday. I'm pretty picky when it comes to food or music. This one tastes great. Expand
  4. IanM.
    Mar 25, 2008
    9
    Overall, The Odd Couple is a stronger album than St. Elsewhere. Although individual tracks do not quite reach the dizzying heights of Crazy Overall, The Odd Couple is a stronger album than St. Elsewhere. Although individual tracks do not quite reach the dizzying heights of Crazy and Smiley Faces, there are plenty of highlights and the album undoubtedly feels more unified. Going On, Blind Mary, No Time Soon and A Little Better are all at least equal to the lead single Run so if you liked that then make sure you pick up the album!! Expand
  5. DouglasL.
    Mar 27, 2008
    9
    Dangermouse and Cee-lo as Gnarls Barkley are like a dystopian Partridge Family going through a mid-life crisis. And we all want to read about Dangermouse and Cee-lo as Gnarls Barkley are like a dystopian Partridge Family going through a mid-life crisis. And we all want to read about it in the tabloids. Expand
  6. SeanC.
    Apr 3, 2008
    8
    Great blended album. I loved the incorporation of different sounds in music and Cee-lo voice makes a majority of the tracks really eerie and awesome.
  7. ChrisW.
    Apr 2, 2008
    1
    The guy can't sing. The music is nothing more than sampled experimental computer BS.

See all 15 User Reviews