The Only Place - Best Coast
The Only Place Image
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 34 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Produced by Jon Brion, the second album for Best Coast is its first since drummer Ali Koehler was let go by the indie pop duo.
  • Record Label: Mexican Summer
  • Genre(s): Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, Alternative Pop/Rock, Indie Pop, Noise Pop
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 37
  2. Negative: 2 out of 37
  1. 100
    The Only Place [is] better-sung, slower, [and] expansively produced.
  2. May 14, 2012
    80
    The Only Place delivers riveting drama in a rousing pop package, with Brion rescuing Best Coast from the fuzzed-out, lo-fi indie template, cleaning up their sound and enhancing the potential for mainstream appeal exponentially without diminishing their artistic credibility.
  3. May 15, 2012
    78
    While Crazy For You sounded like fog rolling in over the bay with its reverb-heavy production, The Only Place effectively burns it off, even when Cosentino's dear-diary lyrics are at their gloomiest.
  4. May 16, 2012
    62
    The album does have its charms. Cosentino is still in fine voice, and she continues to have a warm and agreeable persona... [Yet linear] thinking permeates The Only Place, a grinding sense of marks being hit while inspiration is in short order.
  5. 60
    While there's certainly something to be said for BestCoast's paeans to the utopian side of life near the Pacific, the subtle shifts in Cosentino's songwriting are best experienced when the rays of sunshine are muted.
  6. May 16, 2012
    50
    With Cosentino's voice free of effects and upfront in the mix, it's more apparent just how rudimentary her songwriting is.
  7. May 16, 2012
    10
    Another eleven baseless mehs that belong nowhere else than on a blog that no one reads.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 9
  2. Negative: 1 out of 9
  1. May 17, 2012
    10
    I love this album. Let me begin by saying that I did not listen to Best Coast's first album before hearing this one, and I have not heard it all the way through as of writing this. So my perspective comes independent of their previous work.

    All of the critical reviews I've read say two things: the lyrics are too formulated and the album lacks depth/maturity. I respond with the following: lyrics are written, they are not spawned. They don't materialize in the depths of the soul and come flying out of the pen. You think of them with your brain and you write them. Criticizing lyrics for being formulated and thought-out is like criticizing a painting for being too painted. That's just not reasonable. Bethany obviously thought about these lyrics and wrote them for a reason, and it's not fair in the slightest to say that they lack meaning or depth. They have great meaning and depth to her, and to a great many listeners.

    Musically, I do not disagree that the songs sound similar and simplistic. 1) That's kind of the whole point of this genre of beach-y, surf-y, indie rock. It's not a symphonic composition, it's a pop song. It's simple, it's easy to sing along to, and it's fun. 2) Simplicity and similarity do not mean immaturity and thoughtlessness. These songs have a great deal of power, and if that isn't clear, you have not given the album a fair listen. I can't speak to how far they've "progressed" from their first album, as I haven't heard that one. But again I think it unfair to say that a band has to change their sound by "x" amount on each release. This album is sonically very different from (what parts I have heard of) the other album without leaving the neighborhood. Production-wise, there is no comparison; this album sounds great.

    This isn't the greatest album of all time, it probably will not win any awards. And that isn't really important. The album is fun and worthwhile, and it is a joy to listen to. I have no complaints.
    Expand
  2. May 16, 2012
    8
    I just heard the song No One Like You and I was pretty sold. It was an interesting listen, although it doesn't really seem like they have progressed since there last album. They are just in the same stage as they were; which isn't so bad in the end. Expand
  3. Jul 21, 2012
    8
    Best Coast's second album seems to ditch the Lo-Fi sound, which I had enjoyed a lot; however, with better production value, the album exposes increased depth in lyrics (compared to 'Crazy for You') and Bethany Consentino's vocal talents. Some tracks have more of a somber tone, which is different from their debut album. Not every track is a stunner, but it definitely worth the listen!
    Favorite tracks: Dreaming My Life Away, The Only Place, Why I Cry
    Expand
  4. May 16, 2012
    7
    Check out the full review at Manik Music: http://www.manikmusic.net/reviews/best-coast-the-only-place/

    C
    Picture every artist/band as a
    beverage. Iâ Expand
  5. May 16, 2012
    5
    Best Coast could be taking their sound to more grown-up landscapes, but it appears that they're heading down a very, very long road that will only see Best Coast limiting themselves to making music that only becomes the soundtrack to summer, rather than the whole year through. If Best Coast want to stay this way, then I suppose it's an accessible option that keeps their avid fans pleased - but if this really is the best coast, I'll be staying at home in the UK for my holidays this year. Collapse
  6. Aug 12, 2012
    4
    This album REALLY disappointed me. Crazy for You was fun and breezy, and the kitschy lyrics could be forgiven amidst the great melodies and stoner vibes. But trying to go all Neko Case on us Best Coast ends up falling flat on their face. Thing whole country thing just flat out doesnt work. Maybe if the rhymes weren't recycled from the last album and the subject matter matched the aesthetic, the album can be enjoyed, but the whole album just seems at odds with itself. But lets give credit where credit is due. With her vocals right up front in the mix, Beth Cosentino shows just how great her voice is, something that I think a lot of people missed on the first album, which again was a great album and I dont think a complete re-hashing of it would have worked out either so trying a new sound is at least commendable but just not likeable in this case. Expand
  7. May 15, 2012
    3
    I'd been looking forward to this album since my first listen of Crazy for You. With only one track that I have any desire to listen to on repeat, The Only Place is most certainly a disappointment. This album is completely lacking in the catchy melodies and memorable riffs that made Crazy for You so great. Bethany uses her lyrics rather than her songwriting to continue the beachy Southern California vibe that held the first album together so successfully through it's music. I was expecting a sophomore slump from Best Coast, but The Only Place just sounds empty. I did find a couple of saving graces however, in Bethany's new and improved clean vocals, first hinted at in the iTunes Session, and in the standout track, "No One Like You" which is really the only track that sounds new AND maintains the standard set by the first album, hinting at a possible future direction for the band perhaps? Well, time to get excited about album number three. Expand

See all 9 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Summer Music Preview: Over 40 Key Albums

    Summer Music Preview: Over 40 Key Albums Image
    Published: May 9, 2012
    We profile the most noteworthy albums scheduled to arrive between now and August, including new releases from Fiona Apple, Beach House, Hot Chip, Neil Young, Sigur Ros, Regina Spektor, The Walkmen, and more. You can also sample audio and video from each of the albums.