The Pick Of Destiny OST

  • Record Label: Sony
  • Release Date: Nov 14, 2006
User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 48 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 48
  2. Negative: 5 out of 48

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. PeterG.
    Mar 19, 2007
    10
    How this is only a 52 just baffles me. This is one of the more hillarious rock songs in recent history.
  2. LukeB
    Apr 22, 2007
    10
    it was good.
  3. JCopland
    Dec 21, 2006
    10
    Seriously, people, this is a very funny and rockin' record. And who gives a crap how long the playing time is as long as all the tracks are as strong as this material is. Jack Black's vocal skills put to shame 95% of the singers that currently populate the airwaves today.
  4. JacksonG
    Dec 2, 2006
    3
    I've seen the movie and I still feel this album pales in comparison to the s/t. What were they thinking releasing this before the movie.... what were they thinking releasing this at all?
  5. ToddW
    Feb 16, 2007
    2
    If I want humor or pathos while I'm getting my rocks off, I'll turn to Bob Dylan, Sparks, Frank Zappa, or Warren Zevon, thank you very much. Fat Jack the schizophenic entertainer just doesn't do it for me as a metal head. Oh sure, he's got talent. But Kevin Federline can flip a mean hamburger, too. That doesn't imply I want him on the board of directors. The only If I want humor or pathos while I'm getting my rocks off, I'll turn to Bob Dylan, Sparks, Frank Zappa, or Warren Zevon, thank you very much. Fat Jack the schizophenic entertainer just doesn't do it for me as a metal head. Oh sure, he's got talent. But Kevin Federline can flip a mean hamburger, too. That doesn't imply I want him on the board of directors. The only thing tenacious about these guys is their dogged pursuit of cultural relevance. I guess the joke's on those of us who actually listen to this garbage. Expand
  6. aaronj
    Dec 12, 2006
    2
    This album was terrible, like they didnt even try.. my opinion they need to take music more seriously
  7. Sep 14, 2010
    0
    Man this movie sucked. There story could have been written by a 10 year old. Dough i love both Jack Black and Dave Grohl, there is no excuse for this movie. I think turned it off 3 times. I would have called Jack and asked for my money back if I didnt borrow it for free from a friend.
  8. dpb
    Jul 27, 2007
    6
    the album isn't even the same league as the first but its still has some redeeming qualities, it just doesn't coerce well into the story line, jumping from song to song in a semi linear pattern, better luck next time boys...
  9. EricS
    Feb 1, 2007
    10
    This album is absolutely hilarious!! I laughed so hard, milk came out my nose!
  10. CodyS
    Jun 10, 2007
    9
    of course the songs don't stand out on their, own its a musical. its a movie soundtrack, so don't listen to it before you see the movie.
  11. NielsK
    Aug 3, 2009
    8
    Come on 52? the user rating of 77 at time of writing is a lot more realistic! this album is not utter greatness but still a very fun (if short) ride. listen to Dave Grohl in Beelzeboss on drums and doing the devils vocals on that song... it´s brilliant. really. and that´s just one of the little pearls found on this album.
  12. keithh
    Nov 19, 2006
    10
    This CD is awesome
  13. LouisP.
    Dec 4, 2006
    7
    It doesn't reach the comic brilliance of the first album. The main reason being, it's music made to score the movie. The visuals do help. I'm listening to this album quite a bit right now. Thinking back to the movie diffinitely enhances the enjoyment. Watch the movie and listen to "Master Exploder" and try not to smile. Impossible.
  14. BenW
    May 10, 2007
    9
    dont be harsh! its not as good as the first album but its still the best of its kind.
  15. DillonS
    Nov 20, 2006
    10
    Tenacious D is the best fucking band on earth
  16. [Anonymous]
    Nov 20, 2006
    6
    30 min?! That's not cool...
  17. JustinM
    Nov 20, 2006
    7
    Though Tenacious D: The Pick of Destiny is not the masterpiece of comedy and rock-worship that was their debut, the soundtrack still offers a handful of 'hot-and-tasty' cuts. We finally get to hear the unholy union of Dio and the D in the opening track, and it works to set the album up as a sort of neo- rock opera. It may not work as well as a standalone record, certainly not a Though Tenacious D: The Pick of Destiny is not the masterpiece of comedy and rock-worship that was their debut, the soundtrack still offers a handful of 'hot-and-tasty' cuts. We finally get to hear the unholy union of Dio and the D in the opening track, and it works to set the album up as a sort of neo- rock opera. It may not work as well as a standalone record, certainly not a fully realized rock opera, but it doesn't have to. The songs exist as part of the film and shouldn't be judged totally apart from it. At first listen, it may appear to be a re-hash of some of the spoofs and jokes from their older material, but the songs prove to be subtle (yet rocking!) pokes at some of the more ridiculous song-styles and lyrics that have been passed off as rock and metal in the past 30 years. We shall see if the film offers as much. Expand
  18. Proto
    Nov 27, 2006
    9
    If a tad worse then their debut album, it's because of lack of innovation factor and its short running time. Other then that it positively rocks the socks off. Yet to see the actual movie.
  19. JacksonL
    Dec 16, 2006
    10
    awesome!
  20. Feb 13, 2011
    10
    Funny movie and great music.
  21. Feb 5, 2016
    10
    This album again displays the D's prowess as a legendary Rock-Metal band and their special blend of tounge-in-cheek gives them a unique edge. Yeah the movie sucked a bit but the soundtrack is superb.
  22. Mar 27, 2012
    8
    It has been said in other reviews that Tenacious D should take their music more seriously . . . I bet the guys writing those reviews are a lot of fun at parties.

    Sometimes not taking yourself too seriously is the point. As far as the comments about â
  23. May 6, 2013
    10
    This is is certainly an acquired taste but this is probably one of the funniest and just plain awesome albums I have heard in a while. Jack Black and Kyle Gass are just great in this album with excellent and funny song writing and good music to go along with it. Love this album.
  24. Nov 1, 2013
    8
    This is an album that is genuinely funny and the songs stand out to me. It was the first album i've purchased on my phone and it's well worth it. It's not the greatest album ever made, but how it has a rating this low (52) shocked me. Watch the movie first; this is definitely worth a listen.
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 16
  2. Negative: 4 out of 16
  1. It plays like a hilarious concept album more than anything.
  2. Billboard
    70
    Tenacious D insists it is the greatest band in the world, and on a couple occasions during this soundtrack to the duo's upcoming film of the same name, you kinda believe it. [18 Nov 2006]
  3. Not only are these not the greatest songs in the world, they're not even a tribute to them.