The Resistance

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 417 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 36 out of 417

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 4, 2010
    8
    The Resistance is different sounding from Muse's predecessor's Black Holes And Revelations and Absolution. They somewhat slowed down on the rock and went for more the singing. Matt Bellamy's voice has definitely matured form their previous album. A few great tracks are Mk Ultra, Uprising, Unnatural Selection, and the beautiful 3-part symphony Exogenesis. All In All, The Resistance showsThe Resistance is different sounding from Muse's predecessor's Black Holes And Revelations and Absolution. They somewhat slowed down on the rock and went for more the singing. Matt Bellamy's voice has definitely matured form their previous album. A few great tracks are Mk Ultra, Uprising, Unnatural Selection, and the beautiful 3-part symphony Exogenesis. All In All, The Resistance shows another side of Muse that sounds really good. B Expand
  2. Aug 26, 2012
    8
    UPDATED REVIEW!!! I decided to re-listen to the album, and this time I ended up really enjoying it. I am a fan of MUSE's work, and this is a must have for fans.
  3. May 9, 2016
    9
    Excelente & Magnífico Álbum Do Muse

    A Única que chega a desejar um pouco é a "Unnatural Selection" Que é um pouco fraca.

    Top Músicas Do "The Resistance" (2009)

    1-Resistance
    2-Guiding Light
    3-Undisclosed Desires
    4-Exogenesis: Symphony Part 3 (Redemption)
    5-Exogenesis: Symphony Part 1 (Overture)
    6-United States Of Eurasia (+Collateral Damage)
    7-Uprising
  4. May 11, 2016
    9
    ....................................................................................................................................................Great album
  5. Apr 26, 2012
    10
    A beautiful album. The classical music compositions are astounding! The orchestrations are amazing too!! "Undisclosed Desires" is sexy and so rock n' roll, and "United States of Eurasia" is soft and very beautiful. Geniuses.
  6. Sep 10, 2011
    8
    This is very hard work Muse has done for their audience. What a great band, but listening to stuff like this, we start to wonder why rock is so underrated and why everyone goes and listens to stuff like pop and hip-hop.
  7. Sep 20, 2010
    7
    The most classically themed album from the Devon trio, it falls heavily from being unoriginal, unexciting and uninspired but does manage to keep Muse's over the top attitude towards their own work which still makes it a worth while listen.
  8. Feb 20, 2011
    7
    I don't really know were to begin. Although Muse never fail to deliver i do feel this album lacks. Through track 1-7 you do hear the 'sound of Muse' , for the most part. With riffs from 'Unatural Selection' and the end of 'MK Ultra' reminding you why you love this band so much, and lyrical content from such tracks as 'Uprising' and 'Resistance' that make you want to march to the areas ofI don't really know were to begin. Although Muse never fail to deliver i do feel this album lacks. Through track 1-7 you do hear the 'sound of Muse' , for the most part. With riffs from 'Unatural Selection' and the end of 'MK Ultra' reminding you why you love this band so much, and lyrical content from such tracks as 'Uprising' and 'Resistance' that make you want to march to the areas of the world that do not accept you for who you are and simply hand them the Muse back catalogue as a sign of peace. This album mostly offers stunning sound, creation and emotion that only bands like Muse can give.But the first negative i'd like to point out is the Exogenisis Symphony, but not for is creation, effort or simply fasinating composition but simply for the fact it's on the album at all. I feel it takes up what could have been another 3 rock songs. After track 8 i'm left wanting more individuals, more of that - what's coming next feeling, but instead i get one BIG masterpiece. That you would think would be a good thing, but this is not the case. The second negative i'd like to make clear is one track, and one track alone. 'I Belong To You', considering this is the last song on the 'album' (excluding the Symphony) it does not seal the package, it leaves me with a sence of - what the hell was that ? Muse are ROCK, they create rock music, rock music with a twist, with sounds not used by any another band, but 'I Belong To You' is just POP music, pop music that sells, pop music used in terrible films, it's lyrically bland, it gives you no feelings, no memories and no inspiration. Overall this album is worth the money and time. It's creative but not confusing, loud but not deafening, vocally impressive and an all round memorable album. Expand
  9. Oct 4, 2012
    10
    IT'S SO HARD TO RESIST THE RESISTANCE! What an epic mixture of symphonic rock, new prog and classic rock. Matthew Bellamy knows what he's doing and he does it right every time. Best things about this album? The entire concept of singing about Illumanti, Resistance, Undisclosed Desires, United States of Eurasia, I Belong to You and Exogenesis: Symphony (listen to this three-part song andIT'S SO HARD TO RESIST THE RESISTANCE! What an epic mixture of symphonic rock, new prog and classic rock. Matthew Bellamy knows what he's doing and he does it right every time. Best things about this album? The entire concept of singing about Illumanti, Resistance, Undisclosed Desires, United States of Eurasia, I Belong to You and Exogenesis: Symphony (listen to this three-part song and you will fall in love with Muse). Expand
  10. Jun 9, 2015
    7
    This and the follow-up The 2nd Law are probably the most polarizing records Muse have ever released. With this thing they started having a more experimental, melodic and symphonic approach rather than a straight-up progressive rock one. The result is a good and interesting album with some good tracks that really portray this desire of trying something completely different (a feeling thatThis and the follow-up The 2nd Law are probably the most polarizing records Muse have ever released. With this thing they started having a more experimental, melodic and symphonic approach rather than a straight-up progressive rock one. The result is a good and interesting album with some good tracks that really portray this desire of trying something completely different (a feeling that already was a bit foreshadowed by Black Holes & Revelations). Songs like Undisclosed Desires, Resistance or the Exogenesis trilogy are good examples of that. Other tracks still feel very old school, like Uprising or MK Ultra, but compared to what we listened in the previous records, they sound a bit less powerful. Overall, I like the LP, but considering what we saw in the 2000s, the Muse of 2010 did not caught my attention as much. Expand
  11. CRL
    Aug 27, 2011
    9
    With every subsequent listen this album just amazes me more and more. It starts out with two songs that, while not quite 'mainstream rock', have the usual rock and roll style. Undisclosed Desires is my surprise favorite, with a really jolting guitar rhythm that becomes almost addictive after a while. After that is strays almost into neo-classical territory with United States of EurasiaWith every subsequent listen this album just amazes me more and more. It starts out with two songs that, while not quite 'mainstream rock', have the usual rock and roll style. Undisclosed Desires is my surprise favorite, with a really jolting guitar rhythm that becomes almost addictive after a while. After that is strays almost into neo-classical territory with United States of Eurasia / Collateral Damage and I Belong to You, while also continuing with the progressive rock in Guiding Light and Unnatural Selection. Then it finishes with a literal bang with the massively ambitious Exogenesis Symphony, that could have, in the wrong hands, been unmeasurably awful. However Muse does it just right, and makes The Resistance an album that cannot be missed. Expand
  12. Dec 29, 2010
    10
    The best album of 2009. The best concert I attended in 2010. I've been listening to Muse since 2003 when Absolution came out and they were a featured artist on Yahoo Music. I was blown away by them with songs like "Stockholm Syndrome" and "Time is Running Out." I am a sucker for magnificent, multi-layered, orchestral and ambient production. Muse has perfected it. And while they wroteThe best album of 2009. The best concert I attended in 2010. I've been listening to Muse since 2003 when Absolution came out and they were a featured artist on Yahoo Music. I was blown away by them with songs like "Stockholm Syndrome" and "Time is Running Out." I am a sucker for magnificent, multi-layered, orchestral and ambient production. Muse has perfected it. And while they wrote great songs a decade ago, they are one of the rarest breeds who continue to grow and improve their near perfection every time they record something new. The Resistance opens with a relatively weak song for Muse with a repetitive, mundane beat in "Uprising," which made me concerned about this CD. Until I heard it...Within the construct of the entire album, every song melts into the next with perfect segueing. By the time I'm listening to "Undisclosed Desires," I am completely hooked. Their heavy Queen influence on "United States of Eurasia" is undeniable. From there, their symphonic brilliance carries throughout the rest of the album. Musical perfection. Expand
  13. Aug 18, 2010
    8
    Their resistance was good, even with their uprising!! Best songs ad album ever by Muse! I've only heard like 5 songs, and out of those 5 songs I must say: Excellent and well done! Awesome rock songs going on with Muse
  14. Nov 2, 2015
    10
    Another great album from Muse, which includes a couple of my favorite Muse tracks; "Unnatural Selection" and "Resistance." Someone mentioned that it was on par with Origin of Symmetry, and while that can be argued, I believe that it may not be quite on par with OoS, but nonetheless, this is still a fantastic album.
  15. May 23, 2015
    8
    This album is unapologetically over-the-top. Frontloaded with songs like Uprising, Resistance, and Undisclosed Desires, and finishing up with the beautiful Exogenesis Symphony trilogy, the only place this album suffers is in the middle. I Belong to You is the worst track, and United States of Eurasia is laughably comical, although props to Muse for the 1984 references. The grandeur of theThis album is unapologetically over-the-top. Frontloaded with songs like Uprising, Resistance, and Undisclosed Desires, and finishing up with the beautiful Exogenesis Symphony trilogy, the only place this album suffers is in the middle. I Belong to You is the worst track, and United States of Eurasia is laughably comical, although props to Muse for the 1984 references. The grandeur of the rest of the album more than makes up for the weak moments. Expand
  16. Dec 17, 2012
    8
    A good Muse album, definitely not their best but contains some excellent songs and is very well structured, a good listen that I'd recommend to all Muse fans.
  17. May 31, 2011
    8
    Questions have been raised over whether Muse had become too predictable. This album proved them wrong. There was the traditional rock sound, with graceful, piano fueled scores and a three piece symphony to finish. A very good album
  18. Nov 13, 2015
    8
    The Resistance was the first Muse album I managed to listen to, and it was the thing that got me hooked. This album describes 1984 loosely through each of the tracks (excluding the marvelous Exogenesis Symphony) and reeks of Queen in the best way possible.

    After OoS and Absolution, this is probably Muse's third best work. It's very tight in songs, has a good mix of Muse's offerings, and
    The Resistance was the first Muse album I managed to listen to, and it was the thing that got me hooked. This album describes 1984 loosely through each of the tracks (excluding the marvelous Exogenesis Symphony) and reeks of Queen in the best way possible.

    After OoS and Absolution, this is probably Muse's third best work. It's very tight in songs, has a good mix of Muse's offerings, and is a beaut that I think any progressive Muse fan can enjoy. From the anthemic Uprising to ballads like United States of Eurasia to the rocker Unnatural Selection, this is a classic for them.
    Expand
  19. Feb 13, 2011
    8
    worst muse album, but still good
    1st half is amazing uprising, resistance, undisclosed desires, but second half is not so good the only really good song is unnatural selection and exogenesis symphony was big disappointment
  20. Jul 27, 2011
    10
    Ladies and gentleman - this is what I call a masterpiece. It's not easy to produce a song that would make me cry, but there are two from this album that actually made me cry. (Well, Chopin and Beethoven are my kryptonite, Bellamy must've known that). A bit of classical music, a bit of rock and a lot of power. Whether you like Muse or not - it is good to know this album. This is howLadies and gentleman - this is what I call a masterpiece. It's not easy to produce a song that would make me cry, but there are two from this album that actually made me cry. (Well, Chopin and Beethoven are my kryptonite, Bellamy must've known that). A bit of classical music, a bit of rock and a lot of power. Whether you like Muse or not - it is good to know this album. This is how history is made. Expand
  21. Jan 17, 2012
    10
    One of the best albums of Muse, great sound as always, and the parts of Exogenesis closed this album in a great way. Amazing job, hope they'll continue like this.
  22. Jan 31, 2013
    8
    After a long journey in search of finding and inhabiting new worlds, we've finally done it. We can proudly call ourselves free and never look back to the past or maybe we should just once, while telling our offspring the glorious story or how we got to where we are now. No better way to do that then to play The Resistance. A masterpiece by muse, even though it is, by some, founded awful,After a long journey in search of finding and inhabiting new worlds, we've finally done it. We can proudly call ourselves free and never look back to the past or maybe we should just once, while telling our offspring the glorious story or how we got to where we are now. No better way to do that then to play The Resistance. A masterpiece by muse, even though it is, by some, founded awful, pretentious and well, too much, is conquering the walls that our minds have, those that have to be shattered. A love story, a story that hides the codes of our salvation, is engraved into this musically wonderful album that one, who has any interest in serious music or isn't so overly obsessed with radiohead that he/she disses every step muse make, can't deny. This symphonic blessing slaps you so hard in the head it is tough to realize the minor flaws it has to offer. But all is forgotten, if there is something to forgive, when the symphony arrives. The Exogenesis is the best, most beautiful, pretentious (this, when describing muse, is somehow a good thing - and well it is) piece of music The resistance has to offer. It is definitely the most profound piece of music I've heard in the previous decade, not exaggerating. It's surely not in my interest to slam everyone else nor am I so obsessed with them that I can't hear the real deal, but hearing this song gives you the chills you could only experience while your invocation is being answered. Maybe I am talking too much about it but this is one of the best songs ever written. Other highlight is the United states of Euroasia. This wonderful song is brought to the heights of grandeur and sumptuosity by it's instrumental, let's call it, chorus. With influences from Queen, muse have, kind of, established a more artistic version of art rock. The songs aiming just as high, but incapable of reaching them are I belong to you, Uprising who are not bad but are lacking some elements to make them ready for shipment. This album, maybe not as good as the previous three, contains the very best work modern music could offer us, in many minds covered by clouds and fog which are disabling them to hear it. The grandiosity is here, quality as well, but more of the highlighted would've made it complete. Expand
  23. Sep 5, 2010
    8
    this album is Muse's best. I had never heard of them until this album came out, and I was surprised at how good they were. Some people will just buy uprising, resistance, and undisclosed desires, but if you want the full experience, go buy the whole album.
  24. Feb 19, 2011
    10
    Some of the critics who reviewed this album seem to fit into the group of people who think that Muse is trying to be like Radiohead and instantly dislike them for it even though they aren't trying to be like Radiohead because neither band sounds anything alike and both are amazing for their own reasons. This album is incredible; the three part symphony at the end completely blew me away.Some of the critics who reviewed this album seem to fit into the group of people who think that Muse is trying to be like Radiohead and instantly dislike them for it even though they aren't trying to be like Radiohead because neither band sounds anything alike and both are amazing for their own reasons. This album is incredible; the three part symphony at the end completely blew me away. Keep doing what you're doing Muse, obviously you must be doing something right since you just won the Grammy for best rock album, despite Rolling Stone asking "what is the point of Muse?" Yea, you can **** off Rolling Stone. Collapse
  25. Dec 20, 2012
    8
    Muse love taking risks, it seems. With The Resistance, and the recent 2nd Law, Muse have expanded their musical range and compensated some fans along the way. Though as a proud lover of Muse (especially their earlier music, Origin of Symmetry being their masterclass in music), The Resistance is one of their poorer releases, and that goes without question. Forgetting the Exogenesis SymphonyMuse love taking risks, it seems. With The Resistance, and the recent 2nd Law, Muse have expanded their musical range and compensated some fans along the way. Though as a proud lover of Muse (especially their earlier music, Origin of Symmetry being their masterclass in music), The Resistance is one of their poorer releases, and that goes without question. Forgetting the Exogenesis Symphony (beauty defined), The Resistance has some risky releases from Muse, but still managed to be a solid release worthy of a 7 at bare-minimum for effort, and risk factor.

    Opening with the wonderfully powerful, clearly messaged Uprising, a progressive rock anthem designed for the heights of stadium tours, The Resistance seems promising. Gritty guitars, sci-fi electronics, the works. Then comes Resistance, a song so worthy of single material, it goes without saying that Resistance is a solid track. Undisclosed Desires follows, an experimental track setting the boundary for singles the follow, including Madness from The 2nd Law. One of the weaker tracks, Undisclosed Desires is a love-or-hate piece. Personally, I feel the album track is fine, though live it falls to Matt's ego.

    The album then take a small turn into piano-induced territory, with the brilliant (and Queen-influenced) United States of Eurasia. A beautifully striking piece, with some mastery piano work, one could never dislike such a perfect design. Though potentially ruining the flow of the album and making it difficult to progress, this is one track which will surely go down in history as one of Muse's finest pieces. Though followed with Guiding Light, we're back into cheese territory. Undoubtedly a difficult track to sit through, Guiding Light is a mess, with extra helpings of brie.

    Now we're thrown back into the heavy stuff, with the flawless Unnatural Selection and the meaty MK Ultra, both driven by ridiculous but catchy riffs, impressive vocals, superbly arranged lyrics, and powerful bass surely to impress even the masters of rock. Two amazing tracks worth of Muse acclaim, and definitely some of the greatest works Muse have thrown out there in a good few years. This is what Muse are made of, right here. We're thrown into the deep end yet again, however, with I Belong To You, a piece so ridiculously out of proportion, you're not sure what to think. Personally, I think it's great. A fun track not meant to be taken seriously. Then we're given the Exogenesis Symphony, a beautiful, flawless, three-piece symphony of piano, strings, guitar and stunning vocals. If not the greatest achievement of Muse since Citizen Erased, a perfect end to a great album overall.

    The Resistance won't be to everyone's liking, but it has elements so magical, it can easily put you under a spell. Whatever that spell may be, of course. You'll either love The Resistance, or despise it.

    Overall Score: 8/10
    Expand
  26. BonyByron
    Oct 30, 2009
    9
    Apart from some facepalm-worthy lyrics here and there, this album is a masterpiece. Be it the stadium shaking "Resistance" and "Uprising", the operatic "United States of eurasia", the AMAZING symphony Muse had the balls to include and the GENIUS to compose. Gives me shivers and I can't stop listenning to this album. Bravo Muse, you're a bunch of geniuses.
  27. BenL
    Sep 15, 2009
    10
    Ambitious, beautiful, epic! Pure Muse.
  28. LuisC.
    Sep 15, 2009
    10
    A true odyssey in all kinds of music...with a "grande finale" (Exogenisis). Truly epic.
  29. YourMom
    Sep 23, 2009
    9
    Excellent album. I would rate it along with their best work. Exogenesis is truly great. Enjoy.
  30. LolCat
    Nov 6, 2009
    8
    Not their best but a couple of songs hit the spot and the symphony was fantastic.
  31. BenS.
    Dec 3, 2009
    8
    There are some excellent parts to this album, notably the Exogenesis Symphony, the sleek Undisclosed Desires, United States of Eurasia and MK Ultra; but you get the feeling that Muse are trying to do too much and cover too many genres, which backfires in several songs, notably Guiding Light and IBelong to You. Still, it makes for an entertaining listen, and it is still definetely worth There are some excellent parts to this album, notably the Exogenesis Symphony, the sleek Undisclosed Desires, United States of Eurasia and MK Ultra; but you get the feeling that Muse are trying to do too much and cover too many genres, which backfires in several songs, notably Guiding Light and IBelong to You. Still, it makes for an entertaining listen, and it is still definetely worth buying the whole album. However, it lacks the cutting edge of Black Holes of Revelations, and the originality and cohesion of Origin of Symmetry and Absolution in particular. Muse had a unique sound, but they are trying to hard to combine the style of other successful acts (notably Queen, Depeche Mode and U2) into their work. It appears Muse are unsure of their identity. Expand
  32. MarioP
    Oct 26, 2009
    10
    I'm a big fan of Muse and although I was a bit disappointed by Black Holes and Revelations, I liked that album quite a bit all the same. This one is fantastic, I personally rate it just under Absolution (which is my favourite 2000's album by anyone). The only weak point is Guiding Light, which should've been cut off. Other than that, a marvellous record, with a lot of high I'm a big fan of Muse and although I was a bit disappointed by Black Holes and Revelations, I liked that album quite a bit all the same. This one is fantastic, I personally rate it just under Absolution (which is my favourite 2000's album by anyone). The only weak point is Guiding Light, which should've been cut off. Other than that, a marvellous record, with a lot of high points (my favourites are Resistance and Unnatural Selection). Takes a few listens to truly appreciate. Expand
  33. AdamP.
    Sep 15, 2009
    10
    It is amazing...mixes sounds of OoS and Black holes.
  34. GeorgeR.
    Sep 15, 2009
    9
    A fantastic album, certainly not the commercial album that Black Holes was, as such if you're only a fan of that album then you will not have the same appreciation for The Resistance. There's a few songs with single potential on the album but it was more of the band playing what they wanted to I feel, and I love it.
  35. nickp.
    Sep 17, 2009
    10
    Their best album yet. It seems too short, though.
  36. Dave
    Sep 17, 2009
    8
    A while since I played a CD twice in a row, but I needed more! It sounds good straight out of the box, but hopefully I won't tire of it too soon!
  37. ChrisG
    Sep 19, 2009
    8
    Over the top and fantastic !!!
  38. EthanB
    Sep 22, 2009
    9
    One of their better works, right alongside with Absolution and Origin of Symmetry.
  39. DanielS
    Sep 22, 2009
    9
    i think this album is simply incredible, i really can't stop listening to it, Muse is one of the best bands ever, no doubt! I don't understand why people keep comparing previous albums with the new one, i mean, if it's a new album, you should be analysing it's songs and sounds, not compare it to other albums or bands .. Muse are amazing and they should get much more i think this album is simply incredible, i really can't stop listening to it, Muse is one of the best bands ever, no doubt! I don't understand why people keep comparing previous albums with the new one, i mean, if it's a new album, you should be analysing it's songs and sounds, not compare it to other albums or bands .. Muse are amazing and they should get much more credit, this album is beautiful, the simphony is a master-piece, and people should stop complaining and just listen to good music .. Fantastic album, Muse ROCK ! Expand
  40. RtArL
    Sep 20, 2009
    9
    A great piece of music . Mix of rock, symphony and electrica. The end results is epic. Like The Times wrote" Muse have made an album of genius, brilliance and beauty".
  41. JuanL
    Sep 24, 2009
    7
    It will be utterly enjoyed by fans, although it could be a bit offputting for those who have never tasted MUSE before.
  42. MarkB.
    Sep 30, 2009
    8
    Very different - some of it I like, a couple of songs I am yet to get, but Exogenesis has blown me away - truly beautiful.
  43. PasciiH.
    Jan 19, 2010
    10
    Ok, i have to admit, i never heard of this band before. but then i heard uprising on MTV and it sounded interesting. i never buy any Cd's but i thought i will give this band a try, and i don't regret it. This album is amazing, not only the track uprising but all the other songs like united states of eurasia:) they are amazing.
  44. Mark
    Oct 10, 2009
    10
    Have listened to The Resistance for over a month now and am loving it more all the time. For me, not only Muse's best album but I'm seriously starting to question whether this is my favourite album by anyone, ever. It has everything I want and there's not one song that I don't adore. Challenging, ambitious, focused and exciting. Also, Exogenesis made me cry which Have listened to The Resistance for over a month now and am loving it more all the time. For me, not only Muse's best album but I'm seriously starting to question whether this is my favourite album by anyone, ever. It has everything I want and there's not one song that I don't adore. Challenging, ambitious, focused and exciting. Also, Exogenesis made me cry which happens NEVER. Expand
  45. JakeT
    Oct 12, 2009
    8
    I think muse has created a fantastic album, filled with a slightly heavier prog sound, but a great album nonetheless.
  46. DylanD.
    Nov 3, 2009
    10
    Excellent album from start to finish, Muse comes through again.
  47. ML
    Dec 11, 2009
    10
    What a great record! I can't believe this band flew under my radar for so long. Discovering and loving their back catalog now. What a great discovery. Great band, great record.
  48. hannahb
    Oct 2, 2009
    10
    Fantastic. Can't stop listening.
  49. BlackS
    Oct 9, 2009
    10
    Wonderfully moving and thought provoking. The whole album is beautiful. Production is how it should be, perfect, IMHO. Every instrument and every vocal contribution is just right for me. The album takes you on a musical journey and lifts your soul in the way that only certain bands can, not many even come close. Another Muse classic. Ignore what others say and just listen, you owe it to Wonderfully moving and thought provoking. The whole album is beautiful. Production is how it should be, perfect, IMHO. Every instrument and every vocal contribution is just right for me. The album takes you on a musical journey and lifts your soul in the way that only certain bands can, not many even come close. Another Muse classic. Ignore what others say and just listen, you owe it to yourself and your soul. Expand
  50. MattA.
    Sep 15, 2009
    7
    The Resistance is not going to be Muse's masterpiece. Is it a bad album? No. Their best? No. A drastic change of pace and tone? ...No. Well... sort of. 'The Resistance' sounds a lot like their previous stuff... mainly from Absolution and BH&R. However, this album makes me realize why i still like Muse. And i'll give you a hint... It's not for their originality. The Resistance is not going to be Muse's masterpiece. Is it a bad album? No. Their best? No. A drastic change of pace and tone? ...No. Well... sort of. 'The Resistance' sounds a lot like their previous stuff... mainly from Absolution and BH&R. However, this album makes me realize why i still like Muse. And i'll give you a hint... It's not for their originality. They seem to take the best parts of Radiohead, Queen, and Depeche Mode Respectively and mix them together. This one further takes the step into the Depeche Mode 'Violator'/Ultra phase. Fans of BH&R and mainly the people who came into them for their catchy pop lyrics may be a tad disappointed with the accessablitly of the album. It has a few golden tracks of metal guitar and beautiful Bellamy wailing... however if you're used to Starlight/Supermassive black hole...look else where. If you're like me and enjoyed songs like "Sing For Absolution", "Invincible" "Falling Away With You" and "Citizen Erased" each song on this CD has hints of those in it. Some tracks lose their edge do to Muse's weakness...The song writing. Lyrics are often the typical Muse-Fare of establishment/tyranny cannot prevail... and it often begins to lull the listener until a cool guitar riff awakens one. "The Resistance" will sit nicely in Muse's catalog, but will not make them remembered. 7.5/10 Key Tracks: Uprising, The Resistance, Unnatural Selection. Expand
  51. MikeS.
    Sep 15, 2009
    10
    One of the best albums of the year. THE RESISTENCE is larger than life, and contains quite a few moments of sheer brilliance. If any other band made this record (say...RADIOHEAD), it would be hailed as masterpiece. Since it's MUSE, it just won't get the credit it deserves. Well, like usual forget the critics, and brace yourself for a truly unique experience!
  52. SamE
    Sep 15, 2009
    10
    grandiose, overblown, spectacular, epic! While this album may not please some Muse fans on the "heavy rock" side, it is overall a beautiful piece of art and just like their previous work, it keeps getting better with repeat listens. And you just know the songs will sound superb live! Also, songs such as "Unnatural Selection" and 'MK Ultra" will still keep even the most disappointed grandiose, overblown, spectacular, epic! While this album may not please some Muse fans on the "heavy rock" side, it is overall a beautiful piece of art and just like their previous work, it keeps getting better with repeat listens. And you just know the songs will sound superb live! Also, songs such as "Unnatural Selection" and 'MK Ultra" will still keep even the most disappointed fans around for live performances and future work. Expand
  53. EricS
    Sep 15, 2009
    10
    A beautiful album that I will be listening to for the rest of my life. I didn't get it at first, but I understand now. It takes a few listens. I didn't really like BHaR when I first listened to it, but I love it now. The attitude of this album actually reminds me a lot of,Showbiz, Muse's first album.
  54. GustavoC
    Sep 15, 2009
    10
    I think is not the best muse's album. Ok. But 40 points?? C'mon!!
  55. AlexandreP
    Sep 15, 2009
    9
    When I see some of the ratings of the album of today like Wu-tang Clan having a 9/10 or a Nelly Furtado's 10/10..... and I see people talking about muse saying: what are they trying to do with their album ?? Why are they? Who are They? ....I'm kind of worried about the future of the music....About how would it look like. First, let me know that most of the albums of today are When I see some of the ratings of the album of today like Wu-tang Clan having a 9/10 or a Nelly Furtado's 10/10..... and I see people talking about muse saying: what are they trying to do with their album ?? Why are they? Who are They? ....I'm kind of worried about the future of the music....About how would it look like. First, let me know that most of the albums of today are singing using the famous Auto-tune. NOt only rappers! lots of singers. But when I say a little band from Teighnmouth, growing up by using a bit of pop influence to do their song, and trying to be known by some media, and singing for real on stage and using real instruments.... and now decided by themselves: Ok, now it's time to shake their heads and show what we can! ....and they put out Resistance. Why do people don't like this album? Because they thought Muse would be a little more poppier, try to do songs that would be able to be heard on a radio....sadly Muse isn't completely this. I agree yes that Undisclosed Desires is a radio-friendly songs, but that doesn't change at all the rest of the album! Can you expect from some other bands in the world a complete symphony like Exogenesis? Would you expect to have an album that tries to push the boundaries and limts of what you call a ''rock music"? Muse are not made to play rock, Muse are made to play music, in all sense, and that's what defines Muse. Rather than talking about how cool they are, how many girls they got in their party, how many drugs they can sell, how many hearts they have break or lost, Muse stand up and tries to search far more than their little noses. On the other hand, there is some songs or parts of songs that I have difficulty with, but in overall this album is a classic. Queen was hated when they alive, now they are praised. I guess it will be the same......sadly. Expand
  56. JoshD
    Sep 15, 2009
    8
    This album takes a few listens to realise it's true genius. A different but beautiful offering, that I think will stand the test of time and will be in my cd player in years to come.
  57. danil
    Sep 15, 2009
    10
    Their best work ever!! That's how a band is supposed to progress throuh their career. Ambition is the base of all progress, and I'm glad that they have the balls to prove they're ambitious and can get away with it. Matt Bellamy is a music genius.
  58. BobBob
    Sep 15, 2009
    10
    Excellent album. On par with Origin of Symmetry.
  59. AlexisC.
    Sep 15, 2009
    9
    Great operistic progressive rock. No one compares to them, and having an identity right now it a feat in itself. Humbling the tunes now and then all day.
  60. HajoK.
    Sep 15, 2009
    9
    Awesome album, different yet satisfying, with MK ultra, unnatural selection and symphony part I&II as favorites.
  61. RitaM.
    Sep 15, 2009
    10
    They're breaking their own mold in an inescapably delicious way - Its by no means a perfect album, but its nevertheless as exciting as Muse has always been :D
  62. MatthewS.
    Sep 15, 2009
    9
    While a slight fall from grace (from their absolutely amazing 'Absolution' and 'Black Holes and Revelations'), this album is still better than 95% of what modern rock has to offer.
  63. WasifH.
    Sep 16, 2009
    9
    I really think Muse has made one of it's best albums yet.
  64. MattiF
    Sep 16, 2009
    9
    An interesting album with plenty of musical references to both classical music and contemporary pop. The album does suffer from some weak moments, especially Guiding Light seemed to lack anything to make it stand out among the tracks and coupled with I Belong to You could leave fans wishing for a heavier sound disappointed. The pre-hyped 13 minute symphony Exogenesis that finishes of the An interesting album with plenty of musical references to both classical music and contemporary pop. The album does suffer from some weak moments, especially Guiding Light seemed to lack anything to make it stand out among the tracks and coupled with I Belong to You could leave fans wishing for a heavier sound disappointed. The pre-hyped 13 minute symphony Exogenesis that finishes of the album is unfortunately not one of it's strongest moments either but it is quite beautiful in parts and doesn't feel forced or there for just for the sake of it but instead feels very much part of the album. While the over the top theatrics might not suite everyone fans of Muse wanting more prog than rock should not be let down by this album. Expand
  65. CharlieM.
    Sep 16, 2009
    10
    This album has all the trade-mark variety of Muse's past albums, demonstrating their ability to experiment and succeed in a number of genres whilst maintaining their distinctive sound. Despite this variety in sound, the album is cohesive and flowing. In short, Muse have excelled once more in (self)-producing a masterpiece which builds on and goes beyond their past work.
  66. jeffs.
    Sep 16, 2009
    10
    A full on experience for almost all of the senses.
  67. DerekR.
    Sep 17, 2009
    9
    The Resistance is different enough to catch fans off-guard at first, but it's impossible for any true Muse fan not to fall in love with a majority of the compositions. There are dull parts few and far between. Still, no other band takes me such a roller coaster of funky electronic riffs, over-the-top vocals, and magnificent symphony. It's a breath-taking trip that unfortunately The Resistance is different enough to catch fans off-guard at first, but it's impossible for any true Muse fan not to fall in love with a majority of the compositions. There are dull parts few and far between. Still, no other band takes me such a roller coaster of funky electronic riffs, over-the-top vocals, and magnificent symphony. It's a breath-taking trip that unfortunately not everyone will appreciate. Expand
  68. conordxd
    Sep 18, 2009
    9
    A far better effort then black holes and revelations, but not quite up to absolution level. The exogenesis symphony is remarkable and a few catchy singles make it more enjoyable then it's predesccor. Only complaint has to be undisclosed desires, but when trying something new you get a ton of good stuff, and a fair share of not-so-good stuff. Lets hope their next album is their A far better effort then black holes and revelations, but not quite up to absolution level. The exogenesis symphony is remarkable and a few catchy singles make it more enjoyable then it's predesccor. Only complaint has to be undisclosed desires, but when trying something new you get a ton of good stuff, and a fair share of not-so-good stuff. Lets hope their next album is their best-though this would rate as number 2 for me. Expand
  69. MikeC
    Sep 18, 2009
    10
    Some of the best music they've done to date.
  70. JesseS
    Sep 18, 2009
    10
    Genius, genius, genius.
  71. WimL
    Sep 19, 2009
    9
    Very good again, can imagine that they will be even more impressive in a live performance.
  72. JordanA
    Sep 19, 2009
    10
    Best album by Muse so far. Dare i say it best rock album of 2009!!!
  73. JoshH
    Sep 20, 2009
    9
    A stunning album from Muse. Its one of those rare albums where you don't dislike any of the songs on the CD. Amazing lyrics are used, and the whole album is just full of great tunes, that give you that 'shiver down your spin' feel everytime you listen. My candidate for the album of the year.
  74. Mljac
    Sep 21, 2009
    10
    Fabulous fusion of music; from debussy to punk all-in-one
  75. MaxJ
    Sep 23, 2009
    10
    Spectacularly silly, yet in making it so Muse have created what I personally think is one of the best albums of the year.
  76. AbeH.
    Sep 25, 2009
    9
    A near perfect album. For myself it does everything so wonderfully that the disappointing moments pass by without hardly being noticed.
  77. TobyK
    Sep 27, 2009
    10
    Astoundingly creative, intelligent, subtle and in-your-face where needed. taking inspiration from the early muse albums such as Origin of Symmetry, Queen and Bach, this albums created for me a unique and extremely entertaining listening experience.
  78. JhoraZ.
    Nov 1, 2009
    10
    Its magical music. Can't stop listening. United States of Eurasia and Exogenesys Symphony RULEZZZZ.
  79. JesseS.
    Nov 26, 2009
    10
    Remarkable. Resistance is...futile. It's iIn the Lap of the Gods! Oh; am I alluding to Queen? How dare they pay homage to Queen, you say? Blast you! Amazing that they're the only band on earth capable of sounding remotely like Queen, you say? Bless you! But they're not of THIS earth.
  80. MattK
    Nov 26, 2009
    10
    The new album my Muse is an instant classic in my book. I find myself wondering if The Resistance is my favorite album of all time, which is not an easy task. I suggest all to listen to it and keep an open mind. The Exogenesis Symphony at the end of the album is one of the best pieces of music I have ever heard as well.
  81. ALee
    Dec 18, 2009
    8
    Excellent Album. The Resistance is a very different album compared to prior albums, it taps into different genres in general and a little less the simple Rock style from the previous. Muse fans that loved the prior sound may not embrace this as favorably. This album is has a bit of orchestra / broadway / musical style tracks which include; Resistance, United States of Eurasia, Guiding Excellent Album. The Resistance is a very different album compared to prior albums, it taps into different genres in general and a little less the simple Rock style from the previous. Muse fans that loved the prior sound may not embrace this as favorably. This album is has a bit of orchestra / broadway / musical style tracks which include; Resistance, United States of Eurasia, Guiding Light, and the Exogenesis tracks are filled with beautiful vocals from Matthew Bellamy which I found entracing. Worth a good listen, but don't expect this to be a ROCK album. Expand
  82. [Anonymous]
    Dec 31, 2009
    10
    I think that most of the reason people who rate this album low do so is because they expected something different. To be fair, I wouldn't say that The Resistance is a rock album, although Muse is a rock band. While songs like Uprising, MK Ultra, and Unnatural Selection are rock songs, the other songs are blends of genres with rock, sometimes with only a hint of rock. That being said, I think that most of the reason people who rate this album low do so is because they expected something different. To be fair, I wouldn't say that The Resistance is a rock album, although Muse is a rock band. While songs like Uprising, MK Ultra, and Unnatural Selection are rock songs, the other songs are blends of genres with rock, sometimes with only a hint of rock. That being said, this album is amazing and is proof of Muse's versatility, musicality, and creativity. It's also a very well sequenced album with a story: while each song has its own story to tell, they also are pieces that form a meta-story. While it might not be my favorite Muse album, I think it is probably the best made album. I think the biggest weakness of the album is that it feels incomplete without every element, i.e. it almost needs to be listened to exclusively in entirety. It's not really a single heavy album. This is especially evident in the last three songs, the Exogensis Symphony. Listening to any of those songs without the other parts isn't really enjoyable. The Resistance is an awesome album, just as Muse is an awesome band. Listen to the entire album without expectations and you'll leave it satisfied. Expand
  83. MrM
    Sep 15, 2009
    10
    The exogenesis symphony is the most ambitious thing Bellamy has ever attempted and it turned out very well. Clearly a solid collection of songs from the get go. Time will only tell how they stack up to Muse's back catalogue.
  84. TonyT
    Sep 15, 2009
    9
    While there are some weakpoints on the album, mainly guiding light, this album is very solid with favorites being resistance, I belong to you, and exogenesis. It is a small movement away from the guitar with more focus on vocals (which are outstanding). Exogenesis is powerful.
  85. MikeD
    Sep 15, 2009
    10
    I love this album. Even though it may not be quite as good as Muse's magnum opus "Origin of Symmetry," it is definitely up there if not for Exogenesis alone.
  86. SteveT
    Sep 15, 2009
    10
    A really really solid album. Focused work, good all the way through, and exogenesis is really fantastic.
  87. FletchO
    Sep 15, 2009
    10
    Album of the year by far! Muse take everything great about them (guitars, piano, harmony vocals,) and up it all by a factor of a million, whilst dumping all their muse-isms that made some of their tracks sound samey. This is the album where Muse find their voice. and boy is it a voice!
  88. GeriW
    Sep 15, 2009
    10
    It's epic. Especially the Exogenesis Symphony.
  89. SeanN
    Sep 15, 2009
    10
    A masterpiece.
  90. NickB
    Sep 15, 2009
    10
    Arguably the best alternative album of the past 5 years, maybe longer.
  91. MattC.
    Sep 15, 2009
    10
    Muse's fifth studio album is without doubt thier most ambitious one yet, as it borrows from themes and styles ranging from early romantic symphonies, to Queen, and even R&B. All the while, Muse maintains thier distinctive flavor in order to create nothing short of a masterpiece. Praiseworthy songs include: Mk Ultra, Resistance,Unnatural Selection, and Exogenesis.
  92. DanH
    Sep 15, 2009
    9
    They seem to be having fun with the R&B/Pop songs. The rest is brilliant.
  93. TristanB
    Sep 15, 2009
    10
    Simply amazing. Muse shows that they can grow and retain their old form at the same time. The Symphony and Unnatural Selection are the standouts from the album.
  94. HardiantoN
    Sep 15, 2009
    9
    Muse delivered a 'classical groove' with this album, a combination of romanticize Chopin and boldly say Queen. The 12min symphony space rock is a story telling dialogue conveyed in their music.
  95. Alasdair
    Sep 15, 2009
    10
    Some of Muse's best work to date. Contains a plethora of great tracks, and the epic three part symphony. My favourites are Exogenesis, Unnatural Selection, MK Ultra and Resistance. Overall, a fantastic album.
  96. SethA.
    Sep 16, 2009
    8
    I'm a huge Muse fan, and so the reason I only gave it an 8 is that they can do better. Their first 3 albums were phenomenal, but Black Holes and this aren't quite up to par. Notable exceptions are Knights of Cydonia in Black Holes, and the Exogenesis series in this album, which are some of their best work. However, this album is amazing compared to 90 percent of what's out I'm a huge Muse fan, and so the reason I only gave it an 8 is that they can do better. Their first 3 albums were phenomenal, but Black Holes and this aren't quite up to par. Notable exceptions are Knights of Cydonia in Black Holes, and the Exogenesis series in this album, which are some of their best work. However, this album is amazing compared to 90 percent of what's out their! Can't wait to see them live. Expand
  97. josha.
    Sep 16, 2009
    10
    With this new masterpiece, Muse continue to show why they are the best band in the world today.
  98. Jason
    Sep 16, 2009
    8
    Mostly great (Uprising, The Resistance), occasionally brilliant (Exogenisis) but sometimes a bit shit (Guiding Light).
  99. bv
    Sep 16, 2009
    10
    Every song on this album offers up a different style of Muse - all leading up to the epic symphonic finale. While The Resistance is not as focused as previous efforts like Origin of Symmetry or Absolution, this is an album that will reach out to fans of a wide array of musical genres. Highly recommended.
  100. MickUsher
    Sep 16, 2009
    8
    Steals from so many sources without much of an apology, yet works pretty well overall. Highlight for me was the middle of the album which sounded like a queen/floyd mashup a lot of the time. Still, in 2009, "Dark Side at the Races" is quite a welcome experience.
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 23
  2. Negative: 1 out of 23
  1. "Black Holes and Revelations" may be a more commercial record, but The Resistance is Muse's most realized effort to date.
  2. As it stands it’s an indulgent and, at times, gorgeous listen that merely helps restate your concrete opinions about Muse.
  3. While not their best, it’s decent enough to ensure there’ll be more-- even though the truly off-the-wall moments are either rare or misguided, meaning the record feels slightly anonymous.