The Resistance

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 430 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 38 out of 430

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 4, 2010
    8
    The Resistance is different sounding from Muse's predecessor's Black Holes And Revelations and Absolution. They somewhat slowed down on the rock and went for more the singing. Matt Bellamy's voice has definitely matured form their previous album. A few great tracks are Mk Ultra, Uprising, Unnatural Selection, and the beautiful 3-part symphony Exogenesis. All In All, The Resistance showsThe Resistance is different sounding from Muse's predecessor's Black Holes And Revelations and Absolution. They somewhat slowed down on the rock and went for more the singing. Matt Bellamy's voice has definitely matured form their previous album. A few great tracks are Mk Ultra, Uprising, Unnatural Selection, and the beautiful 3-part symphony Exogenesis. All In All, The Resistance shows another side of Muse that sounds really good. B Expand
  2. Aug 26, 2012
    8
    UPDATED REVIEW!!! I decided to re-listen to the album, and this time I ended up really enjoying it. I am a fan of MUSE's work, and this is a must have for fans.
  3. May 9, 2016
    9
    Excelente & Magnífico Álbum Do Muse

    A Única que chega a desejar um pouco é a "Unnatural Selection" Que é um pouco fraca.

    Top Músicas Do "The Resistance" (2009)

    1-Resistance
    2-Guiding Light
    3-Undisclosed Desires
    4-Exogenesis: Symphony Part 3 (Redemption)
    5-Exogenesis: Symphony Part 1 (Overture)
    6-United States Of Eurasia (+Collateral Damage)
    7-Uprising
  4. May 11, 2016
    9
    ....................................................................................................................................................Great album
  5. Apr 26, 2012
    10
    A beautiful album. The classical music compositions are astounding! The orchestrations are amazing too!! "Undisclosed Desires" is sexy and so rock n' roll, and "United States of Eurasia" is soft and very beautiful. Geniuses.
  6. Sep 10, 2011
    8
    This is very hard work Muse has done for their audience. What a great band, but listening to stuff like this, we start to wonder why rock is so underrated and why everyone goes and listens to stuff like pop and hip-hop.
  7. Sep 20, 2010
    7
    The most classically themed album from the Devon trio, it falls heavily from being unoriginal, unexciting and uninspired but does manage to keep Muse's over the top attitude towards their own work which still makes it a worth while listen.
  8. Oct 4, 2012
    10
    IT'S SO HARD TO RESIST THE RESISTANCE! What an epic mixture of symphonic rock, new prog and classic rock. Matthew Bellamy knows what he's doing and he does it right every time. Best things about this album? The entire concept of singing about Illumanti, Resistance, Undisclosed Desires, United States of Eurasia, I Belong to You and Exogenesis: Symphony (listen to this three-part song andIT'S SO HARD TO RESIST THE RESISTANCE! What an epic mixture of symphonic rock, new prog and classic rock. Matthew Bellamy knows what he's doing and he does it right every time. Best things about this album? The entire concept of singing about Illumanti, Resistance, Undisclosed Desires, United States of Eurasia, I Belong to You and Exogenesis: Symphony (listen to this three-part song and you will fall in love with Muse). Expand
  9. Jun 9, 2015
    7
    This and the follow-up The 2nd Law are probably the most polarizing records Muse have ever released. With this thing they started having a more experimental, melodic and symphonic approach rather than a straight-up progressive rock one. The result is a good and interesting album with some good tracks that really portray this desire of trying something completely different (a feeling thatThis and the follow-up The 2nd Law are probably the most polarizing records Muse have ever released. With this thing they started having a more experimental, melodic and symphonic approach rather than a straight-up progressive rock one. The result is a good and interesting album with some good tracks that really portray this desire of trying something completely different (a feeling that already was a bit foreshadowed by Black Holes & Revelations). Songs like Undisclosed Desires, Resistance or the Exogenesis trilogy are good examples of that. Other tracks still feel very old school, like Uprising or MK Ultra, but compared to what we listened in the previous records, they sound a bit less powerful. Overall, I like the LP, but considering what we saw in the 2000s, the Muse of 2010 did not caught my attention as much. Expand
  10. CRL
    Aug 27, 2011
    9
    With every subsequent listen this album just amazes me more and more. It starts out with two songs that, while not quite 'mainstream rock', have the usual rock and roll style. Undisclosed Desires is my surprise favorite, with a really jolting guitar rhythm that becomes almost addictive after a while. After that is strays almost into neo-classical territory with United States of EurasiaWith every subsequent listen this album just amazes me more and more. It starts out with two songs that, while not quite 'mainstream rock', have the usual rock and roll style. Undisclosed Desires is my surprise favorite, with a really jolting guitar rhythm that becomes almost addictive after a while. After that is strays almost into neo-classical territory with United States of Eurasia / Collateral Damage and I Belong to You, while also continuing with the progressive rock in Guiding Light and Unnatural Selection. Then it finishes with a literal bang with the massively ambitious Exogenesis Symphony, that could have, in the wrong hands, been unmeasurably awful. However Muse does it just right, and makes The Resistance an album that cannot be missed. Expand
  11. Dec 29, 2010
    10
    The best album of 2009. The best concert I attended in 2010. I've been listening to Muse since 2003 when Absolution came out and they were a featured artist on Yahoo Music. I was blown away by them with songs like "Stockholm Syndrome" and "Time is Running Out." I am a sucker for magnificent, multi-layered, orchestral and ambient production. Muse has perfected it. And while they wroteThe best album of 2009. The best concert I attended in 2010. I've been listening to Muse since 2003 when Absolution came out and they were a featured artist on Yahoo Music. I was blown away by them with songs like "Stockholm Syndrome" and "Time is Running Out." I am a sucker for magnificent, multi-layered, orchestral and ambient production. Muse has perfected it. And while they wrote great songs a decade ago, they are one of the rarest breeds who continue to grow and improve their near perfection every time they record something new. The Resistance opens with a relatively weak song for Muse with a repetitive, mundane beat in "Uprising," which made me concerned about this CD. Until I heard it...Within the construct of the entire album, every song melts into the next with perfect segueing. By the time I'm listening to "Undisclosed Desires," I am completely hooked. Their heavy Queen influence on "United States of Eurasia" is undeniable. From there, their symphonic brilliance carries throughout the rest of the album. Musical perfection. Expand
  12. Aug 18, 2010
    8
    Their resistance was good, even with their uprising!! Best songs ad album ever by Muse! I've only heard like 5 songs, and out of those 5 songs I must say: Excellent and well done! Awesome rock songs going on with Muse
  13. Nov 2, 2015
    10
    Another great album from Muse, which includes a couple of my favorite Muse tracks; "Unnatural Selection" and "Resistance." Someone mentioned that it was on par with Origin of Symmetry, and while that can be argued, I believe that it may not be quite on par with OoS, but nonetheless, this is still a fantastic album.
  14. May 23, 2015
    8
    This album is unapologetically over-the-top. Frontloaded with songs like Uprising, Resistance, and Undisclosed Desires, and finishing up with the beautiful Exogenesis Symphony trilogy, the only place this album suffers is in the middle. I Belong to You is the worst track, and United States of Eurasia is laughably comical, although props to Muse for the 1984 references. The grandeur of theThis album is unapologetically over-the-top. Frontloaded with songs like Uprising, Resistance, and Undisclosed Desires, and finishing up with the beautiful Exogenesis Symphony trilogy, the only place this album suffers is in the middle. I Belong to You is the worst track, and United States of Eurasia is laughably comical, although props to Muse for the 1984 references. The grandeur of the rest of the album more than makes up for the weak moments. Expand
  15. Dec 17, 2012
    8
    A good Muse album, definitely not their best but contains some excellent songs and is very well structured, a good listen that I'd recommend to all Muse fans.
  16. May 31, 2011
    8
    Questions have been raised over whether Muse had become too predictable. This album proved them wrong. There was the traditional rock sound, with graceful, piano fueled scores and a three piece symphony to finish. A very good album
  17. Nov 13, 2015
    8
    The Resistance was the first Muse album I managed to listen to, and it was the thing that got me hooked. This album describes 1984 loosely through each of the tracks (excluding the marvelous Exogenesis Symphony) and reeks of Queen in the best way possible.

    After OoS and Absolution, this is probably Muse's third best work. It's very tight in songs, has a good mix of Muse's offerings, and
    The Resistance was the first Muse album I managed to listen to, and it was the thing that got me hooked. This album describes 1984 loosely through each of the tracks (excluding the marvelous Exogenesis Symphony) and reeks of Queen in the best way possible.

    After OoS and Absolution, this is probably Muse's third best work. It's very tight in songs, has a good mix of Muse's offerings, and is a beaut that I think any progressive Muse fan can enjoy. From the anthemic Uprising to ballads like United States of Eurasia to the rocker Unnatural Selection, this is a classic for them.
    Expand
  18. Feb 13, 2011
    8
    worst muse album, but still good
    1st half is amazing uprising, resistance, undisclosed desires, but second half is not so good the only really good song is unnatural selection and exogenesis symphony was big disappointment
  19. Jul 27, 2011
    10
    Ladies and gentleman - this is what I call a masterpiece. It's not easy to produce a song that would make me cry, but there are two from this album that actually made me cry. (Well, Chopin and Beethoven are my kryptonite, Bellamy must've known that). A bit of classical music, a bit of rock and a lot of power. Whether you like Muse or not - it is good to know this album. This is howLadies and gentleman - this is what I call a masterpiece. It's not easy to produce a song that would make me cry, but there are two from this album that actually made me cry. (Well, Chopin and Beethoven are my kryptonite, Bellamy must've known that). A bit of classical music, a bit of rock and a lot of power. Whether you like Muse or not - it is good to know this album. This is how history is made. Expand
  20. Jan 17, 2012
    10
    One of the best albums of Muse, great sound as always, and the parts of Exogenesis closed this album in a great way. Amazing job, hope they'll continue like this.
  21. Jan 31, 2013
    8
    After a long journey in search of finding and inhabiting new worlds, we've finally done it. We can proudly call ourselves free and never look back to the past or maybe we should just once, while telling our offspring the glorious story or how we got to where we are now. No better way to do that then to play The Resistance. A masterpiece by muse, even though it is, by some, founded awful,After a long journey in search of finding and inhabiting new worlds, we've finally done it. We can proudly call ourselves free and never look back to the past or maybe we should just once, while telling our offspring the glorious story or how we got to where we are now. No better way to do that then to play The Resistance. A masterpiece by muse, even though it is, by some, founded awful, pretentious and well, too much, is conquering the walls that our minds have, those that have to be shattered. A love story, a story that hides the codes of our salvation, is engraved into this musically wonderful album that one, who has any interest in serious music or isn't so overly obsessed with radiohead that he/she disses every step muse make, can't deny. This symphonic blessing slaps you so hard in the head it is tough to realize the minor flaws it has to offer. But all is forgotten, if there is something to forgive, when the symphony arrives. The Exogenesis is the best, most beautiful, pretentious (this, when describing muse, is somehow a good thing - and well it is) piece of music The resistance has to offer. It is definitely the most profound piece of music I've heard in the previous decade, not exaggerating. It's surely not in my interest to slam everyone else nor am I so obsessed with them that I can't hear the real deal, but hearing this song gives you the chills you could only experience while your invocation is being answered. Maybe I am talking too much about it but this is one of the best songs ever written. Other highlight is the United states of Euroasia. This wonderful song is brought to the heights of grandeur and sumptuosity by it's instrumental, let's call it, chorus. With influences from Queen, muse have, kind of, established a more artistic version of art rock. The songs aiming just as high, but incapable of reaching them are I belong to you, Uprising who are not bad but are lacking some elements to make them ready for shipment. This album, maybe not as good as the previous three, contains the very best work modern music could offer us, in many minds covered by clouds and fog which are disabling them to hear it. The grandiosity is here, quality as well, but more of the highlighted would've made it complete. Expand
  22. Sep 5, 2010
    8
    this album is Muse's best. I had never heard of them until this album came out, and I was surprised at how good they were. Some people will just buy uprising, resistance, and undisclosed desires, but if you want the full experience, go buy the whole album.
  23. Feb 19, 2011
    10
    Some of the critics who reviewed this album seem to fit into the group of people who think that Muse is trying to be like Radiohead and instantly dislike them for it even though they aren't trying to be like Radiohead because neither band sounds anything alike and both are amazing for their own reasons. This album is incredible; the three part symphony at the end completely blew me away.Some of the critics who reviewed this album seem to fit into the group of people who think that Muse is trying to be like Radiohead and instantly dislike them for it even though they aren't trying to be like Radiohead because neither band sounds anything alike and both are amazing for their own reasons. This album is incredible; the three part symphony at the end completely blew me away. Keep doing what you're doing Muse, obviously you must be doing something right since you just won the Grammy for best rock album, despite Rolling Stone asking "what is the point of Muse?" Yea, you can **** off Rolling Stone. Expand
  24. Dec 20, 2012
    8
    Muse love taking risks, it seems. With The Resistance, and the recent 2nd Law, Muse have expanded their musical range and compensated some fans along the way. Though as a proud lover of Muse (especially their earlier music, Origin of Symmetry being their masterclass in music), The Resistance is one of their poorer releases, and that goes without question. Forgetting the Exogenesis SymphonyMuse love taking risks, it seems. With The Resistance, and the recent 2nd Law, Muse have expanded their musical range and compensated some fans along the way. Though as a proud lover of Muse (especially their earlier music, Origin of Symmetry being their masterclass in music), The Resistance is one of their poorer releases, and that goes without question. Forgetting the Exogenesis Symphony (beauty defined), The Resistance has some risky releases from Muse, but still managed to be a solid release worthy of a 7 at bare-minimum for effort, and risk factor.

    Opening with the wonderfully powerful, clearly messaged Uprising, a progressive rock anthem designed for the heights of stadium tours, The Resistance seems promising. Gritty guitars, sci-fi electronics, the works. Then comes Resistance, a song so worthy of single material, it goes without saying that Resistance is a solid track. Undisclosed Desires follows, an experimental track setting the boundary for singles the follow, including Madness from The 2nd Law. One of the weaker tracks, Undisclosed Desires is a love-or-hate piece. Personally, I feel the album track is fine, though live it falls to Matt's ego.

    The album then take a small turn into piano-induced territory, with the brilliant (and Queen-influenced) United States of Eurasia. A beautifully striking piece, with some mastery piano work, one could never dislike such a perfect design. Though potentially ruining the flow of the album and making it difficult to progress, this is one track which will surely go down in history as one of Muse's finest pieces. Though followed with Guiding Light, we're back into cheese territory. Undoubtedly a difficult track to sit through, Guiding Light is a mess, with extra helpings of brie.

    Now we're thrown back into the heavy stuff, with the flawless Unnatural Selection and the meaty MK Ultra, both driven by ridiculous but catchy riffs, impressive vocals, superbly arranged lyrics, and powerful bass surely to impress even the masters of rock. Two amazing tracks worth of Muse acclaim, and definitely some of the greatest works Muse have thrown out there in a good few years. This is what Muse are made of, right here. We're thrown into the deep end yet again, however, with I Belong To You, a piece so ridiculously out of proportion, you're not sure what to think. Personally, I think it's great. A fun track not meant to be taken seriously. Then we're given the Exogenesis Symphony, a beautiful, flawless, three-piece symphony of piano, strings, guitar and stunning vocals. If not the greatest achievement of Muse since Citizen Erased, a perfect end to a great album overall.

    The Resistance won't be to everyone's liking, but it has elements so magical, it can easily put you under a spell. Whatever that spell may be, of course. You'll either love The Resistance, or despise it.

    Overall Score: 8/10
    Expand
  25. BonyByron
    Oct 30, 2009
    9
    Apart from some facepalm-worthy lyrics here and there, this album is a masterpiece. Be it the stadium shaking "Resistance" and "Uprising", the operatic "United States of eurasia", the AMAZING symphony Muse had the balls to include and the GENIUS to compose. Gives me shivers and I can't stop listenning to this album. Bravo Muse, you're a bunch of geniuses.
  26. BenL
    Sep 15, 2009
    10
    Ambitious, beautiful, epic! Pure Muse.
  27. LuisC.
    Sep 15, 2009
    10
    A true odyssey in all kinds of music...with a "grande finale" (Exogenisis). Truly epic.
  28. YourMom
    Sep 23, 2009
    9
    Excellent album. I would rate it along with their best work. Exogenesis is truly great. Enjoy.
  29. LolCat
    Nov 6, 2009
    8
    Not their best but a couple of songs hit the spot and the symphony was fantastic.
  30. BenS.
    Dec 3, 2009
    8
    There are some excellent parts to this album, notably the Exogenesis Symphony, the sleek Undisclosed Desires, United States of Eurasia and MK Ultra; but you get the feeling that Muse are trying to do too much and cover too many genres, which backfires in several songs, notably Guiding Light and IBelong to You. Still, it makes for an entertaining listen, and it is still definetely worth There are some excellent parts to this album, notably the Exogenesis Symphony, the sleek Undisclosed Desires, United States of Eurasia and MK Ultra; but you get the feeling that Muse are trying to do too much and cover too many genres, which backfires in several songs, notably Guiding Light and IBelong to You. Still, it makes for an entertaining listen, and it is still definetely worth buying the whole album. However, it lacks the cutting edge of Black Holes of Revelations, and the originality and cohesion of Origin of Symmetry and Absolution in particular. Muse had a unique sound, but they are trying to hard to combine the style of other successful acts (notably Queen, Depeche Mode and U2) into their work. It appears Muse are unsure of their identity. Expand
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 23
  2. Negative: 1 out of 23
  1. "Black Holes and Revelations" may be a more commercial record, but The Resistance is Muse's most realized effort to date.
  2. As it stands it’s an indulgent and, at times, gorgeous listen that merely helps restate your concrete opinions about Muse.
  3. While not their best, it’s decent enough to ensure there’ll be more-- even though the truly off-the-wall moments are either rare or misguided, meaning the record feels slightly anonymous.