The Resistance

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 433 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 38 out of 433

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BenL
    Sep 15, 2009
    10
    Ambitious, beautiful, epic! Pure Muse.
  2. LuisC.
    Sep 15, 2009
    10
    A true odyssey in all kinds of music...with a "grande finale" (Exogenisis). Truly epic.
  3. MarioP
    Oct 26, 2009
    10
    I'm a big fan of Muse and although I was a bit disappointed by Black Holes and Revelations, I liked that album quite a bit all the same. This one is fantastic, I personally rate it just under Absolution (which is my favourite 2000's album by anyone). The only weak point is Guiding Light, which should've been cut off. Other than that, a marvellous record, with a lot of high I'm a big fan of Muse and although I was a bit disappointed by Black Holes and Revelations, I liked that album quite a bit all the same. This one is fantastic, I personally rate it just under Absolution (which is my favourite 2000's album by anyone). The only weak point is Guiding Light, which should've been cut off. Other than that, a marvellous record, with a lot of high points (my favourites are Resistance and Unnatural Selection). Takes a few listens to truly appreciate. Expand
  4. AdamP.
    Sep 15, 2009
    10
    It is amazing...mixes sounds of OoS and Black holes.
  5. nickp.
    Sep 17, 2009
    10
    Their best album yet. It seems too short, though.
  6. PasciiH.
    Jan 19, 2010
    10
    Ok, i have to admit, i never heard of this band before. but then i heard uprising on MTV and it sounded interesting. i never buy any Cd's but i thought i will give this band a try, and i don't regret it. This album is amazing, not only the track uprising but all the other songs like united states of eurasia:) they are amazing.
  7. Mark
    Oct 10, 2009
    10
    Have listened to The Resistance for over a month now and am loving it more all the time. For me, not only Muse's best album but I'm seriously starting to question whether this is my favourite album by anyone, ever. It has everything I want and there's not one song that I don't adore. Challenging, ambitious, focused and exciting. Also, Exogenesis made me cry which Have listened to The Resistance for over a month now and am loving it more all the time. For me, not only Muse's best album but I'm seriously starting to question whether this is my favourite album by anyone, ever. It has everything I want and there's not one song that I don't adore. Challenging, ambitious, focused and exciting. Also, Exogenesis made me cry which happens NEVER. Expand
  8. DylanD.
    Nov 3, 2009
    10
    Excellent album from start to finish, Muse comes through again.
  9. ML
    Dec 11, 2009
    10
    What a great record! I can't believe this band flew under my radar for so long. Discovering and loving their back catalog now. What a great discovery. Great band, great record.
  10. hannahb
    Oct 2, 2009
    10
    Fantastic. Can't stop listening.
  11. BlackS
    Oct 9, 2009
    10
    Wonderfully moving and thought provoking. The whole album is beautiful. Production is how it should be, perfect, IMHO. Every instrument and every vocal contribution is just right for me. The album takes you on a musical journey and lifts your soul in the way that only certain bands can, not many even come close. Another Muse classic. Ignore what others say and just listen, you owe it to Wonderfully moving and thought provoking. The whole album is beautiful. Production is how it should be, perfect, IMHO. Every instrument and every vocal contribution is just right for me. The album takes you on a musical journey and lifts your soul in the way that only certain bands can, not many even come close. Another Muse classic. Ignore what others say and just listen, you owe it to yourself and your soul. Expand
  12. MikeS.
    Sep 15, 2009
    10
    One of the best albums of the year. THE RESISTENCE is larger than life, and contains quite a few moments of sheer brilliance. If any other band made this record (say...RADIOHEAD), it would be hailed as masterpiece. Since it's MUSE, it just won't get the credit it deserves. Well, like usual forget the critics, and brace yourself for a truly unique experience!
  13. SamE
    Sep 15, 2009
    10
    grandiose, overblown, spectacular, epic! While this album may not please some Muse fans on the "heavy rock" side, it is overall a beautiful piece of art and just like their previous work, it keeps getting better with repeat listens. And you just know the songs will sound superb live! Also, songs such as "Unnatural Selection" and 'MK Ultra" will still keep even the most disappointed grandiose, overblown, spectacular, epic! While this album may not please some Muse fans on the "heavy rock" side, it is overall a beautiful piece of art and just like their previous work, it keeps getting better with repeat listens. And you just know the songs will sound superb live! Also, songs such as "Unnatural Selection" and 'MK Ultra" will still keep even the most disappointed fans around for live performances and future work. Expand
  14. EricS
    Sep 15, 2009
    10
    A beautiful album that I will be listening to for the rest of my life. I didn't get it at first, but I understand now. It takes a few listens. I didn't really like BHaR when I first listened to it, but I love it now. The attitude of this album actually reminds me a lot of,Showbiz, Muse's first album.
  15. GustavoC
    Sep 15, 2009
    10
    I think is not the best muse's album. Ok. But 40 points?? C'mon!!
  16. danil
    Sep 15, 2009
    10
    Their best work ever!! That's how a band is supposed to progress throuh their career. Ambition is the base of all progress, and I'm glad that they have the balls to prove they're ambitious and can get away with it. Matt Bellamy is a music genius.
  17. BobBob
    Sep 15, 2009
    10
    Excellent album. On par with Origin of Symmetry.
  18. RitaM.
    Sep 15, 2009
    10
    They're breaking their own mold in an inescapably delicious way - Its by no means a perfect album, but its nevertheless as exciting as Muse has always been :D
  19. CharlieM.
    Sep 16, 2009
    10
    This album has all the trade-mark variety of Muse's past albums, demonstrating their ability to experiment and succeed in a number of genres whilst maintaining their distinctive sound. Despite this variety in sound, the album is cohesive and flowing. In short, Muse have excelled once more in (self)-producing a masterpiece which builds on and goes beyond their past work.
  20. jeffs.
    Sep 16, 2009
    10
    A full on experience for almost all of the senses.
  21. MikeC
    Sep 18, 2009
    10
    Some of the best music they've done to date.
  22. JesseS
    Sep 18, 2009
    10
    Genius, genius, genius.
  23. JordanA
    Sep 19, 2009
    10
    Best album by Muse so far. Dare i say it best rock album of 2009!!!
  24. Mljac
    Sep 21, 2009
    10
    Fabulous fusion of music; from debussy to punk all-in-one
  25. MaxJ
    Sep 23, 2009
    10
    Spectacularly silly, yet in making it so Muse have created what I personally think is one of the best albums of the year.
  26. TobyK
    Sep 27, 2009
    10
    Astoundingly creative, intelligent, subtle and in-your-face where needed. taking inspiration from the early muse albums such as Origin of Symmetry, Queen and Bach, this albums created for me a unique and extremely entertaining listening experience.
  27. JhoraZ.
    Nov 1, 2009
    10
    Its magical music. Can't stop listening. United States of Eurasia and Exogenesys Symphony RULEZZZZ.
  28. JesseS.
    Nov 26, 2009
    10
    Remarkable. Resistance is...futile. It's iIn the Lap of the Gods! Oh; am I alluding to Queen? How dare they pay homage to Queen, you say? Blast you! Amazing that they're the only band on earth capable of sounding remotely like Queen, you say? Bless you! But they're not of THIS earth.
  29. MattK
    Nov 26, 2009
    10
    The new album my Muse is an instant classic in my book. I find myself wondering if The Resistance is my favorite album of all time, which is not an easy task. I suggest all to listen to it and keep an open mind. The Exogenesis Symphony at the end of the album is one of the best pieces of music I have ever heard as well.
  30. [Anonymous]
    Dec 31, 2009
    10
    I think that most of the reason people who rate this album low do so is because they expected something different. To be fair, I wouldn't say that The Resistance is a rock album, although Muse is a rock band. While songs like Uprising, MK Ultra, and Unnatural Selection are rock songs, the other songs are blends of genres with rock, sometimes with only a hint of rock. That being said, I think that most of the reason people who rate this album low do so is because they expected something different. To be fair, I wouldn't say that The Resistance is a rock album, although Muse is a rock band. While songs like Uprising, MK Ultra, and Unnatural Selection are rock songs, the other songs are blends of genres with rock, sometimes with only a hint of rock. That being said, this album is amazing and is proof of Muse's versatility, musicality, and creativity. It's also a very well sequenced album with a story: while each song has its own story to tell, they also are pieces that form a meta-story. While it might not be my favorite Muse album, I think it is probably the best made album. I think the biggest weakness of the album is that it feels incomplete without every element, i.e. it almost needs to be listened to exclusively in entirety. It's not really a single heavy album. This is especially evident in the last three songs, the Exogensis Symphony. Listening to any of those songs without the other parts isn't really enjoyable. The Resistance is an awesome album, just as Muse is an awesome band. Listen to the entire album without expectations and you'll leave it satisfied. Expand
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 23
  2. Negative: 1 out of 23
  1. "Black Holes and Revelations" may be a more commercial record, but The Resistance is Muse's most realized effort to date.
  2. As it stands it’s an indulgent and, at times, gorgeous listen that merely helps restate your concrete opinions about Muse.
  3. While not their best, it’s decent enough to ensure there’ll be more-- even though the truly off-the-wall moments are either rare or misguided, meaning the record feels slightly anonymous.