The Revolution Starts Now Image
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 10 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The highly political singer-songwriter returns with his 13th studio outing, which includes a duet with Emmylou Harris and a love song ("Condi Condi") about the current National Security Advisor.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. 91
    His characters feel like individuals, not archetypes. [Sep 2004, p.114]
  2. All hail the new Johnny Cash. [Oct 2004, p.132]
  3. 80
    It's a fine album, mixing lean rock anthems... with the kind of ballads lesser artists would need years to write. [Oct 2004, p.116]
  4. While the record finds Earle at his most outspoken, it also finds him treading water stylistically, comfortably wearing down the same groove he's occupied since 1997's El Corazon.
  5. Earle's polemics are much stronger than the work of your typical "protest" songwriter, and this is a better focused and more passionate work than Jerusalem.
  6. Good as some of these songs are... they're not quite enough to foment a revolution
  7. Sure, we're living in politically charged times, but Earle's Revolution warrants fewer rants and more transcendental blues.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 2 out of 6
  1. JohanF
    Aug 27, 2004
    10
    Great political album!
  2. BrandonS
    Aug 24, 2004
    9
    Basically, it picks up where "Jerusalem" left off. No big surprises, just more great music from the best guy out there.
  3. HarlanT
    Jan 19, 2005
    9
    I cried the first time I heard "Rich Man's War." This is the finest of modern protest music.
  4. RichardH
    Jun 30, 2005
    8
    The title track alone is worth having the disc- fiery, rocking, motivating. To Kyle C., a vast majority of great artists have always been The title track alone is worth having the disc- fiery, rocking, motivating. To Kyle C., a vast majority of great artists have always been politically inclined, and generally to the left. Tell you anything? Also, I think you meant "p*ssed [you] off to no END"-not extent. Learn your grammar from W.? Expand
  5. PaulM
    Feb 11, 2005
    1
    Used to love this guy, since he started, in fact. His Woody Guthrie of the times act is pretty lame and his politics are very immature(see; Used to love this guy, since he started, in fact. His Woody Guthrie of the times act is pretty lame and his politics are very immature(see; Fuck the FCC).... I saw him live tonight. His voice and energy are flagging. Maybe he should run for dog catcher somewhere and just take a break from music. He left the best of his talents back in the mid-90s somewhere.... Collapse
  6. kylec
    Dec 9, 2004
    0
    Earle could have been a legend, I wish artists would stay way from politics...as a Republican, this album pissed me off to no extent.