The  Rip Tide Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 24 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The New Mexico-based band releases its newest album of indie rock, fusing world music with pop to develop a unique sound all of its own.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. The Rip Tide, though, never bursts at the seams, and never feels too slight. Each number in the collection packs weight, and repeat listenings allow all nine to unfold their unique beauty.
  2. Aug 25, 2011
    It's less flashy than previous efforts, but the thrill here is of witnessing a songwriter's talent maturing.
  3. Aug 16, 2011
    The pleasure in Beirut's music has always largely been in what it evokes – a kind of melancholy tempered with optimism and sometimes celebration. And it evokes marvellously here: whatever current Condon found himself caught up in that led to the creation of these songs, it's one you feel he's happy to coast a while yet.
  4. Aug 31, 2011
    Condon's songs have always been flooded with emotion that sound both deliriously pretty and endlessly sad or foreboding, and The Rip Tide is no exception.
  5. Aug 12, 2011
    On the surface, Beirut has nothing in common with classic rock, except that Condon also knows that a memorable tune can bring disparate cultures together as persuasively as any fancy arrangement.
  6. Aug 15, 2011
    For all the excitement and dramatic tension of the opening tracks, Condon himself seems unsurprised by his songs the rest of the way, and you might find yourself reacting the same way. Pleasantly surprised at first, then just pleasant.
  7. Sep 2, 2011
    I have to think that as an EP, The Rip Tide would be a rousing success. But as it is, there are just too many bland, uninspiring tracks that drag down the whole experience.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Sep 28, 2011
    Best album of 2011 so far. Beautiful music. "Santa Fe," "East Harlem," "Vagabond" are the best efforts, but the album is enjoyable from start to finish with no misses. Expand
  2. Aug 30, 2011
    Great album! If you like indie rock, you will probably enjoy it too. My favorite songs are: East Harlem, Santa Fe, Rip Tide. This is the first Beirut's album I have ever listened to, I never heard of him before. That's a shame, because he turned out to be a great musician. Expand
  3. Feb 14, 2013
    A great consistent album. Original, dynamic, and honest. Great lyrics, great vocals, soulful music. Don't know what to say other than that. It's the kind of music that takes you somewhere far away. Expand
  4. Aug 2, 2014
    Here we found a more sophisticated and elaborated process of writing from Zach Condon, while persisting in the same (beautiful) instruments and continuing with that precious melancholy in all the songs. Sounding more pop than folk, the work (eventually) clearly shows a direction change that has to be celebrated. It's like the same marvelous flower just seen through a different perspective. Expand
  5. Sep 1, 2011
    An enjoyable album from Condon and Co. Though the instrumentation aren't as grandiose as his previous efforts, they are still creative, and still feel fresh. Condon is charming and tormented as ever as whines and croons his way through the album. The thing I enjoy the most about this album though, for some reason, is the percussion. With basic percussion, the album would still score an 8 for me, and would still be as enjoyable, but with percussion such as these I feel as it adds something. It's just a good all-around effort. Once again, the album isn't as "BIG" as his previous efforts, but it's still a great listen through. Expand
  6. Aug 31, 2011
    Another enjoyable effort from Beirut. Creative instrumentation, well-constructed songs and some wonderful warbling/crooning from Zach Condon. Looking through the credits, nary a guitar is listed. This is a good thing! Lovely horns and interesting percussion color this strong set throughout. Definitely a nice follow-up to the last album. Good starting point for the curious--if you enjoy this record, be sure to check out the others. Expand