• Record Label: Red Ink
  • Release Date: Mar 6, 2007
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 16
  2. Negative: 1 out of 16
  1. The Search is a potent reminder of why Farrar was and is one of the watershed artists of the alt-country movement.
  2. It lacks the spark of the band's classic catalog material. [Apr 2007, p.191]
  3. While it may be impossible for this Son Volt to ever reach the pinnacle of their 1995 debut, no one can accuse Jay Farrar of going through the motions.
  4. "The Search" is Son Volt 2.0, a modern, mature album that might be the group's best yet. [10 Mar 2007]
  5. 30
    The saggy country-rock complaints about corporatization and alienation [Farrar] offers... sound like submissions to an Air America poetry contest. [Apr 2007, p.121]
  6. A collection of highly listenable roots-rock tunes that stray little from its longtime formula.
  7. It comes off sounding like a transitional recording, but with Son Volt any change is welcome.
  8. On The Search... Farrar discovers some genuinely exciting new haunts, and frontloads them conveniently. [Mar 2007, p.62]
  9. Aside from some standout songs, reactions to The Search are largely due to how you feel about the grungy, alt sound.
  10. The Search revisits the social commentary of Farrar's old band. [May 2007, p.129]
  11. The Search is protest music for the cryptology set.
  12. 60
    It's a sober cruise down the white line between timelessness and nostalgia. [May 2007, p.90]
  13. With everything it has going for it, it should be a lot better than it is.
  14. Respectable, serious, accomplished and... no fun.
  15. Simple but effective sonic details — a chirpy horn arrangement, a reverse-looped guitar part — prevent “The Search” from feeling either preachy or repetitive. [5 Mar 2007]
  16. 80
    Son Volt have discovered a new sense of ambition, even abandon, on The Search. [May 2007, p.104]
User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 21 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 13
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 13
  3. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. A.Gray
    Apr 16, 2007
    10
    Best since Trace. "Mthamphetamine" and "Underground Dream" are classic alt-country songs.
  2. bryante
    Apr 6, 2007
    9
    I listened to it in the store. I thought it sounded awesome with just samples of each song listened to. Definately on my list of things to I listened to it in the store. I thought it sounded awesome with just samples of each song listened to. Definately on my list of things to buy. After I own it, my opinion my rating could very well go up. Full Review »
  3. GMan
    Mar 30, 2007
    9
    Great album. I keep playing the 5 first songs over and over. Circadian Rhythm (?) is pure gold. The previous album was great too, but this Great album. I keep playing the 5 first songs over and over. Circadian Rhythm (?) is pure gold. The previous album was great too, but this one is more relaxed and diverse. Full Review »