The Secret Migration Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 27 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The psychedelic indie rockers, led by returning core trio of vocalist Jonathan Donahue, guitarist Grasshopper and drummer Jeff Mercel, return with a less-orchestral follow up to 2001's 'All Is Dream.' Longtime collaborator David Fridmann co-produced.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. Without relying on a crutch of irony and cynicism, they boldly risk sounding cloying in order to summon the emotional honesty necessary to create music that is unabashedly romantic and achingly beautiful.
  2. 90
    Mercury Rev's power is undiminished. While never resorting to crude hooks, they build melodies to peaks of graceful intensity. [Album of the Month, Jan 2005, p.114]
  3. 83
    Rev's overbaked symphonics and space-case triumphalism have become completely indistinguishable from the Flaming Lips. [Jun 2005, p.108]
  4. Ultimately, nobody's likely to claim The Secret Migration as a great album, I'm afraid. But it possesses energy and inspiration that its predecessor greatly lacked, and even the weaker songs here have something to recommend.
  5. The Secret Migration shows a group in complete control of their cosmic idiom, familiar by now yet still seductive. [Jan 2005, p.120]
  6. If there's a problem, it's that... it all sounds rather familiar and comfortable. [22 Jan 2005, p.51]
  7. Where once we got shivers up our spines from this band's music, now we're just left cold.

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 18
  2. Negative: 2 out of 18