User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 77 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 73 out of 77
  2. Negative: 0 out of 77

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. SD
    Mar 10, 2009
    10
    One of the best albums ever!
  2. AlM
    May 20, 2008
    9
    Just exceptional. 'Mirrorball' and 'One Day Like This' in particular are life-affirmingly brilliant.
  3. CraigJ
    Dec 7, 2008
    10
    I Love this album too.
  4. MattA.
    Apr 10, 2008
    9
    I agree with Jules. Beautiful, heartfelt stuff, but not in a sappy way. The last track, "Friend of Ours" is so sincere and well-done it almost made me cry the first time I heard it. So far, the best album I have heard this year, and in my opinion, Elbow's best album to date.
  5. Jules
    Apr 1, 2008
    10
    EPIC. "Grounds for Divorce" is an instant classic, and should be cherished for generations to come by traditionalists and outre-leaning listeners alike. Finally! A band we can all rally around, and at long last, they get their due.
  6. MattC
    Apr 23, 2008
    10
    Unbelievably heartbreaking yet life affirming at the same time. The most underrated band in Britain fronted by the countries greatest lyricist, Elbow deserve to be massive but yet I want to keep them all to myself. I can't imagine there being a better album this year.
  7. Weirdfish7
    Apr 24, 2008
    9
    Sonic texturing at it's best. And solid song-writing. Real musicians playing real music. Elbow are at their best, playing this new style they've discovered. Though it does not match Asleep In The Back to this listener, it has no weak tracks, and thoughtful arrangements and lyrics are plentyful. Listen.
  8. AllanS.
    May 20, 2008
    9
    Guy Garvey & Co., rather than Britney, should be exclaiming 'Oops, I did it again', because Elbow have. That is, if 'it' includes peerless layered arrangements and heartfelt yet measured lyrical vignettes. Maybe two songs don't quite make Elbow's consitently high standards, but most band would willingly piss ball bearings to write stuff even half this good.
  9. RonV
    Jul 8, 2008
    10
    This is easily the finest album I have bought in a very long time, and I refer it to friends and colleagues any chance I get. "One Day Like This" is awe-inspiring, but each listen results in a new favourite. I have seen them live, and eagerly look forward to seeing them tour this album.
  10. DavidB.
    Oct 3, 2009
    9
    I don't think you'll really appreciate Elbow until you hear them live. Guy's voice is the most powerful in music today!
  11. AlanS.
    Apr 7, 2009
    10
    This album has received lots of praise nowbut in ten years i bet you this will be a true classic. 11 great songs (or 12 if you brought the CD version). from the brassy blast of the opening track to the blusey bombast of grounds for divorce. From the booming drums of the fix and ' tower crane driver. This is all great.Play it from begging to end on a stereo system for the full This album has received lots of praise nowbut in ten years i bet you this will be a true classic. 11 great songs (or 12 if you brought the CD version). from the brassy blast of the opening track to the blusey bombast of grounds for divorce. From the booming drums of the fix and ' tower crane driver. This is all great.Play it from begging to end on a stereo system for the full experience. BUY IT NEXT TIME YOU GO OUT!! Expand
  12. ErikZ.
    Apr 23, 2008
    10
    Elbow's crafted an(other) album of emotionally intelligent lyrics, the most fluid of songcraft, the most understated of basslines, all of it so evocative, so effective. Briliant, just brilliant.
  13. Burning
    Apr 23, 2008
    9
    Definitely a brilliant album, and I have to agree that 'Grounds for Divorce' is without question an instant hit. Sadly, this is supposed to be their last album per se, because they don't find publishing albums in the Internet era profitable.
  14. JoeC.
    Apr 28, 2008
    9
    I don't understand why elbow gets such mediocre reviews from critics. They are a great band that makes beautiful intelligent music. I love this record.
  15. KrisS.
    May 2, 2008
    9
    Utterly brilliant. This will take some beating for album of the year
  16. MattW
    Jun 23, 2008
    10
    There are so many good songs on this album. Elbow are probably branded gloomy or depressing by lazy journalists or ignorant people. I urge anyone listen to songs like 'One Day Like This', 'Some Riot' or 'The Loneliness of a Tower Crane Driver' and not admit they are absolutely beautiful. THE album of 2008.
  17. JoshE.
    Jun 6, 2008
    9
    A fantastic album full of thoughtful songs. Elbow is one of the few truly brilliant British rock bands out there today.
  18. JustinD.
    Jul 11, 2008
    9
    Great great album. My introduction to the band. Fantastic.
  19. KevinK.
    Jul 16, 2008
    10
    Easily one of the top five albums released in 2008 so far. This band is way too often ignored. It is time that they get more exposure in praise. Brilliant.
  20. DavidS
    Jul 26, 2008
    9
    Love his voice and the way the songs build. "Friend of Ours" I agree is one of the most beautiful, sincere songs written to a loved one I've heard - and in typical Elbow fashion, it isn't sappy or over sentimental - "love ya mate".
  21. JeffK
    Jan 19, 2009
    9
    Consistently good songs across the entire album. Sometimes excellence is overlooked, and this is another case. They didn't catch it at WFUV in New York until 2009.
  22. MichaelR
    Mar 6, 2009
    10
    Keeps growing on you with more listens until you become addicted.
  23. JulianG.
    Apr 22, 2008
    10
    One of the best albums of this young year.
  24. JoeR
    Apr 23, 2008
    10
    A brilliant album, the perfect antidote to anyone feeling alienated by what seems to be the depressing music scene of today-- the music's there, you just have to look for it!
  25. HughM.
    Apr 23, 2008
    9
    Elbow must be one of the most underrated bands of this decade. Thank God for intelligent music which rewards repeat visits. This feels a little like a cabaret soundtrack at first, but turns into a thing of beauty upon further spins. Guy Garvey's voice is a thing of beauty, and the bands arrangements leave most for dead. Great stuff....buy it
  26. TravisB.
    Apr 26, 2008
    9
    This is Elbow, completely back on their game. Absolutely gorgeous disc, for any one of you who loved Asleep in the Black or Cast of Thousands, I strongly urge you to buy this!
  27. SimonJ.
    Apr 29, 2008
    9
    Elbow/Radiohead, Radiohead/Elbow. I cant decide. Brilliant.
  28. MY
    Aug 21, 2008
    9
    Not only is the CD exceptional (as have been their previous releases), but I heard three songs from this CD played live on the Sundance Channel's "Live from Abbey Road," and they were even better. Fantastic musicianship, and thoughtful, emotive lyrics. If Guy Garvey looked like Chris Martin, Elbow would dominate the charts.
  29. Aug 14, 2010
    10
    Elbow's most complete album, not one song disappoints, a feat I very much doubt they'll surpass. From the upbeat 'Grounds for Divorce' to the beauty of 'Mirrorball' there are plenty of 'makes the hairs on the back of your neck stand up' moments. And if you get the chance see these guys live!!
  30. Sep 27, 2011
    10
    Simply masterful! Every song on this album is fantastic! Grounds for Divorce lured me in and I'm still listening to this album two years later. Front-man Guy Garvey's voice is the perfect combination of melodic and unique; maybe a little gritty. He sets the stage for a very emotional album that will excite and lift your spirit. Even the weakest songs are better than just about anything onSimply masterful! Every song on this album is fantastic! Grounds for Divorce lured me in and I'm still listening to this album two years later. Front-man Guy Garvey's voice is the perfect combination of melodic and unique; maybe a little gritty. He sets the stage for a very emotional album that will excite and lift your spirit. Even the weakest songs are better than just about anything on the radio. Expand
  31. Jan 3, 2012
    10
    A Masterpiece! Brilliant. This is literally my favourite album of all time. Guy Garvey is a genius and should be worshipped as a God! I do not have a favourite song as i love every single one equally as if they were my children.
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. The Seldom Seen Kid is Elbow's most self-assured and enjoyable album so far.
  2. The achievement of The Seldom Seen Kid is that Elbow manage to be both incredibly consistent and perpetually improving.
  3. The Seldom Seen Kid keeps the band on this upward trajectory.