The Slip - Nine Inch Nails
The Slip Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 75 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Trent Reznor slips in another digital album release.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. 80
    It's 10 tightly wrapped wads of black bubblegum, not a politicized sci-fi fantasia like "year Zero" or a two-hour drift into instrumnetal blip 'n' grind like this spring's "Ghosts I-IV." [July 2008, p.74]
  2. For listeners who like their music loud and fierce and pissed off at just about everything, there aren't too many better options than The Slip. Plus, the price is right.
  3. Here, he's no longer a stylized, self-conscious innovator, he's a working musician enraptured by making music, and he's so invigorated by creation it's hard not to get sucked in as well.
  4. The hard-hitting early tracks '1,000,000,' 'Letting You,' and 'Discipline' are particularly good, though typical; Reznor keeps farming the same fertile ground that yielded The Slip's predecessors.
  5. Instead of a symbolic death, The Slip feels much more like a possible rebirth.
  6. The album itself follows the thread started on 2005’s "With Teeth," which is to say Reznor’s again favouring songs over soundscapes.
  7. Individual songs on The Slip aren't particularly dynamic; the album has two levels: loud and soft.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. IanS.
    Oct 26, 2008
    10
    Quite simply a superb album. The top album of the year in my opinion.
  2. BroyF.
    Sep 8, 2008
    9
    truely innovative compare to year zero thers a sense of a story from being to end. Each songs protrays various ways a how person could slip away.Its truely unique story telling true music Expand
  3. JonM
    Jul 9, 2008
    9
    Took a few spins but I really enjoy all the tracks, except Letting You, which, musically, is just to repetitive.
  4. MichaelP.
    May 14, 2008
    8
    'The Slip' as a whole isn't comparable to some of Trent's previous releases which most fans would deem flawless masterpieces. What The Slip does demonstrate however is that Reznor has an adept ability to create that distinctive and new sound, certainly the one i am always looking for. The track that stood out to me was 'Corona Radiata'. This will enable you to discover that transient state of mind you've been longing for. 8 out of 10, because Reznor is kind enough to share this album with us and of course because Trent is awesome and makes me feel relieved I am not mainstream. Expand
  5. MattK.
    May 20, 2008
    8
    Another great addition to the NIN collection. Doesn't have the best flow to it, but it has plenty of great individual tracks. The Slip is a great follow-up to Year Zero (a very underrated effort in my opinion) and the best gift an artist could give to their fans. Expand
  6. SteamMachine
    May 28, 2008
    7
    Although the album doesn't seem to have a linear structure as such, the songs presented are quite pleasant. A few weaknesses here and there. If I were to rate this as a Nine Inch Nails album, I'd give it a 6 because I know Trent is capable of better, however as an album by itself, I'll give it 7. Expand
  7. SteveO
    Jul 22, 2008
    4
    What is it about this guy? His music never did anything for me. It's a bunch of programmed crap! Utter garbage in my opinion, maybe a slight bit better than rap or hip-hop, which is programmed as well. Collapse

See all 24 User Reviews