The Soft Bulletin

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 99 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 91 out of 99
  2. Negative: 4 out of 99

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 3, 2011
    10
    The perfect album, and by far the magnum opus of The Flaming Lips. The Soft Bulletin is a departure from The Flaming Lips' earlier work, which was mostly lo-fi noise rock. The Soft Bulletin's songs are generally slow and soft, and explore various themes, such as love and devotion (The Spiderbite Song, for instance, is as far as I can tell about one's platonic love for another). The lyricsThe perfect album, and by far the magnum opus of The Flaming Lips. The Soft Bulletin is a departure from The Flaming Lips' earlier work, which was mostly lo-fi noise rock. The Soft Bulletin's songs are generally slow and soft, and explore various themes, such as love and devotion (The Spiderbite Song, for instance, is as far as I can tell about one's platonic love for another). The lyrics are clever and meaningful, and not superficial at all. In fact, I would say the overarching theme of the album is love. All in all its a beautiful album, and a must-listen-to. Expand
  2. BenjaminBunny
    Jun 8, 2004
    10
    And the survey says....? CLASSIC.
  3. TomW
    Sep 6, 2004
    7
    The actual music on this is great, if an aquired taste: it is quite melacholy and more than a bit hippy, in a cute way. The mixing though -- while probably intentional, I don't like it. The drums cymbals are *way* too harsh and overdriven. I guess that's just noise pop, but I kinda wished this music had a slicker sound, like the followup Yoshimi...
  4. TheJesus
    Aug 10, 2006
    9
    Pretty, good, but rarely better than "pretty good". In my opinion the songs are good and the production is fantastic, making the songs better...a very contemporary album. I won't call it a ten because it's definitely not for everybody. Though it is a better album than Yoshimi, it's too complex to achieve the universal appeal of songs like "Fight Test" or "Yoshimi...Pt. 1" Pretty, good, but rarely better than "pretty good". In my opinion the songs are good and the production is fantastic, making the songs better...a very contemporary album. I won't call it a ten because it's definitely not for everybody. Though it is a better album than Yoshimi, it's too complex to achieve the universal appeal of songs like "Fight Test" or "Yoshimi...Pt. 1" You should buy both. Expand
  5. JørgenT.
    Jan 10, 2008
    10
    This is the best and most breathtakingly beautiful pop album of the nineties, period.
  6. TomP.
    Mar 10, 2008
    8
    Honestly, after hearing (and loving) Yohimi Battles the Pink Robots I was somewhat dissappointed with this album. Don't get me wrong, it's still great, but I just thought it severely paled in comparisson. For one, it's pretty front loaded. (The Spark That Bled being in my opinion the cd's best.) and after What Is the Light? the tracks just seem to grow old, listening Honestly, after hearing (and loving) Yohimi Battles the Pink Robots I was somewhat dissappointed with this album. Don't get me wrong, it's still great, but I just thought it severely paled in comparisson. For one, it's pretty front loaded. (The Spark That Bled being in my opinion the cd's best.) and after What Is the Light? the tracks just seem to grow old, listening to his voice send out the same emotions one song after another, still good, just sorta boring. And for one final thing, did we really need a waitin' for a Superman remix? The orginal wasn't that good in the first place...But with all my complaints, after comparing it to the kind of garbage the average person listens to now, it's a masterpiece. So i give it an even 8. Ah well. Expand
  7. Dan
    Apr 23, 2005
    10
    Not many albums can suck you in and control your emotions like the Soft Bulliton. Don't over look this album for not being as immediately accessible as any other release by the Flaming Lips.
  8. SeanD
    Dec 27, 2006
    10
    When I think of the word "psychedelic" this is where my mind goes. I don't think I've heard sounds like this anywhere else in my life, and I may never hear them anyplace ever again. Hands down my favorite record. On a side note, "Feeling Yourself Disintegrate" breaks my heart every time I hear it. One of the most achingly beautiful songs (ever?)
  9. JosephB
    Dec 30, 2006
    9
    The Soft Bulletine is the yin to the Clouds Taste Metallic yang. It pushes pop to its outer limits as well as anything that comes before it.
  10. BannusV
    Mar 12, 2006
    10
    This is an increadible sonically astounding album.
  11. rza
    Mar 27, 2006
    10
    Epic. The gold standard to the modern rock opera of life, love and death.
  12. S.L.O'Robot
    Apr 8, 2006
    10
    Do not believe the hype about "Yoshimi," and that it is somehow a superior record -- utter nonsense, that. While "Yoshimi" may outstrip the entire collected works of most all of your favorite bands, it cannot remotely compare to "Soft Bulletin," which is perhaps the finest album of the last 15 years.
  13. time
    Aug 8, 2006
    9
    I had a question. How can AMG call this the album of the decade and only give it 4.5 stars? Not only that but in their website they end up calling Transmission... their best album. That's odd! Great record though
  14. PaulD
    Jun 2, 2007
    10
    The best record since the White Album, Pet Sounds, Exile, Buddy Holly's Greatest and you get the message. Freakin' beautiful melodies and arrangements, and Wayne's lyrics are the most insanely honest ever written. I liked the Lips beforehand, but this is by far their masterpiece. If this were the 60s, they would be the most popular thing out. too bad the superstars now come The best record since the White Album, Pet Sounds, Exile, Buddy Holly's Greatest and you get the message. Freakin' beautiful melodies and arrangements, and Wayne's lyrics are the most insanely honest ever written. I liked the Lips beforehand, but this is by far their masterpiece. If this were the 60s, they would be the most popular thing out. too bad the superstars now come from a television show. Expand
  15. TomB.
    Aug 6, 2007
    10
    This album is the reason I believe in love.
  16. JoeT.
    Jan 1, 2010
    9
    I love it. ...it's gorgeous and radical at the same time.
  17. MikeK.
    Jul 22, 2002
    10
    Stunning, evocative, enigmatic, perfect
  18. johnnypomegranate
    Mar 16, 2003
    10
    what can i say? i never thought music would get any better than björk's homogenic, and then the flaming lips posted the soft bulletin, and i've never been the same since. only a handful of albums can lay claim to being truly life-changing -- this is one of those albums.
  19. BallaghJ
    Jul 12, 2004
    10
    Fantastic listen.
  20. KeilS
    Dec 7, 2005
    10
    A glorious slab of symphonic meditation. Coyne & Co. have created a beautiful, wholly original cross between Brian Wilson's Pet Sounds-era and Pink Floyd's The Dark Side of the Moon. Even the seemingly throwaway tracks have something to offer. If there is any justice in the fickle landscape of pop culture, The Soft Bulletin will be considered a true classic years from now.
  21. stephenl
    Aug 30, 2005
    10
    easily the best album of the 90s
  22. RobertS
    Mar 21, 2006
    10
    Incredible.
  23. RM
    Apr 3, 2006
    10
    Stunning
  24. es
    Jul 11, 2006
    10
    Pretty much the best thing I have ever heard - easily my favorite album of all time.
  25. sidewinder572
    Aug 3, 2007
    10
    Depending on how you look at it this is either the last masterpiece of the 20th century or the first masterpiece of the 21st century. However you look at it this is The Flaming Lips finest hour and at this moment one of the 5 greatest albums I've ever heard.
  26. IShonaman
    Sep 2, 2007
    9
    This is one of the best - most returned to albums I own. To only stand there and here the sound of Wayne's voice and dismiss it - is not embracing the Everyman appeal of Wayne's delivery. You don't need to be technically proficient to express. I find the lyrics to be imaginative, yet anchored in a realism based on reactions to loss and uncertainty. The delivery (vocal & This is one of the best - most returned to albums I own. To only stand there and here the sound of Wayne's voice and dismiss it - is not embracing the Everyman appeal of Wayne's delivery. You don't need to be technically proficient to express. I find the lyrics to be imaginative, yet anchored in a realism based on reactions to loss and uncertainty. The delivery (vocal & instrumentation) only adds to the lyrical themes. Everything here is by design. Expand
  27. KonstantinosA.
    Feb 21, 2002
    10
    Best album of 1999. Period. A "Revolver" for the 90's...
  28. Howard
    Sep 14, 2003
    10
    Oh My God is tis cd good or wut! I've never heard anything as good as tis. TIS IS AS GOOD AS IT GETS
  29. sans
    Feb 15, 2006
    10
    a masterpiece.
  30. JonL.
    Jul 28, 2006
    10
    Tightening up the epic sonic implications of their last two albums with beautiful melodies, experimentation and moving lyrics that are both personal and universal, The Soft Bulletin is The Flaming Lips' ultimate artistic statement and the last true alternative rock album. Gets far less accolades from the general public than it deserves, and didn't even chart despite being quite Tightening up the epic sonic implications of their last two albums with beautiful melodies, experimentation and moving lyrics that are both personal and universal, The Soft Bulletin is The Flaming Lips' ultimate artistic statement and the last true alternative rock album. Gets far less accolades from the general public than it deserves, and didn't even chart despite being quite costly, but it will influence many bands in the long run and should hold up very well as The Flaming Lips dip into middle age and the later part of their careers. Expand
Metascore
85

Universal acclaim - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. 90
    The group's most gorgeously crafted album ever.
  2. Combines Beach Boys harmonies, Pink Floyd-influenced orchestral rock and the lonely-heart vocal style of such '70s icons as Big Star and Neil Young.
  3. A trip into the prettiest altered states the Lips have yet kissed.