The Stars Are Indifferent to Astronomy

  • Record Label: Barsuk
  • Release Date: Jan 24, 2012
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
Buy On
  1. Feb 22, 2012
    60
    It is far too adult oriented rock and middle of the road to be anything but the sound of a band coasting, rather than making waves.
  2. Mojo
    Jan 31, 2012
    60
    A few clunky lyrics take the shine off. [Feb 2012, p.95]
  3. Jan 26, 2012
    60
    Strong melodies make the tunes better than middle-of-the-road, but aside from a bit more distortion, the New York trio show little desire to venture outside their breezy alt-pop comfort zone.
  4. Jan 23, 2012
    60
    Overall, though, The Stars Are Indifferent is a quick listen, filled with nice hooks and effortless melody.
  5. Under The Radar
    Jan 19, 2012
    60
    Sounds and feels like most Nada Surf albums do - shimmering, mid-tempo guitars clashing with knee-buckled notebook poetry. [#39, p.69]
  6. Uncut
    Jan 18, 2012
    60
    The sound's core remains Matthew Caws' candyfloss voice, but Doug Gillard's guitar adds mettle. [Feb 2012, p.94]
  7. Astronomy sounds like a healthy stroll down 90s Alternative Alley, and is as comforting as it is overly familiar; giving it a listen won't change your perspective on music, but it might make you pine for the good old days.
  8. Jan 25, 2012
    50
    The band sticks to their guns but in doing so produce a record that's so nonprovocative that the music doesn't truly assert itself.
  9. Jan 23, 2012
    44
    The songs are fine but largely feckless, and what could be an animating contrast between glum lyrics and upbeat music is too often hobbled by clunkers both generic ("I am lost in my mind when you go to sleep") and specific (something about tarot cards).
User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 14 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Jan 24, 2012
    10
    Many of these critics appear to be burnt out on the fact that from beginning to end of EVERY album Nada Surf have created are nothing short ofMany of these critics appear to be burnt out on the fact that from beginning to end of EVERY album Nada Surf have created are nothing short of filler-less 100% quality. I personally don't begin to gradually degrade my opinion of a band album after album just because they stuck to the style of music they have perfected. At the same time, they aren't Nine Inch Nails (and no one ever will be. Trent always switching up the style and doing so with such brilliance) so yeah, there is a formula but plenty of variations to make this beautiful record highly enjoyable. Full Review »
  2. Jul 5, 2015
    5
    Though I would say that this album is pretty easy to listen to, it would appear that Nada Surf is indifferent to songwriting the same way theThough I would say that this album is pretty easy to listen to, it would appear that Nada Surf is indifferent to songwriting the same way the stars are apparently indifferent to astronomy. This album felt very empty and uninspired to me... which makes me think they are identifying as pop music again? Perhaps that is why this album has been less "Popular" than ones that have come before. (Zing!) Full Review »
  3. Dec 22, 2012
    7
    This album makes me happy but it doesn't really stand out, nothing generally ground breaking. I am somewhat new to Nada Surf and I'm curiousThis album makes me happy but it doesn't really stand out, nothing generally ground breaking. I am somewhat new to Nada Surf and I'm curious if they will stand up to years of listening. Full Review »