The Truth About Love

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
The  Truth About Love Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 208 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Pink's sixth studio album features Eminem, Fun.'s Nate Ruess, and Lily Rose Cooper. It is her first album recorded for RCA Records.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. 100
    Until the last two songs, whose overwrought drama I don't have to like just because I trust its verisimilitude, they hit every time.
  2. Sep 17, 2012
    90
    It's weird and willfully, proudly human, a big pop album about real emotions and one of P!nk's wildest rides.
  3. Sep 14, 2012
    80
    It's just a shame she gave album space to Mariah-slick motivational ballads such as The Great Escape, which detract from an otherwise fierce record.
  4. Sep 18, 2012
    70
    Her sixth studio album, The Truth About Love, is, as usual, an assortment of potential singles.
  5. Sep 18, 2012
    63
    It's not the left-field pop classic she seems capable of one day creating, but it also contains a handful of tracks that laser in on exactly what she does best.
  6. Sep 20, 2012
    60
    For major label singer-songwriter stuff, not bad. Moore knows her way around hooks.
  7. Sep 14, 2012
    40
    [The Truth About Love] veers between two modes: workmanlike ballads delivered with beyond-workmanlike shading; and chunky guitar pop stuffed with shouty, bad-girl choruses. Unfortunately the second dominates.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 47
  2. Negative: 2 out of 47
  1. Sep 19, 2012
    10
    'The Truth About Love' must be P!nk's best album to date.
    I even would call it the best Album of the year. You will find every thing you want
    'The Truth About Love' must be P!nk's best album to date.
    I even would call it the best Album of the year. You will find every thing you want on this record. Songs to dance, songs to laugh, songs to think and songs to cry.

    It's a true masterpiece and I will never regret buying it.
    Expand
  2. Nov 7, 2012
    10
    The Truth About Love is the highlight of P!nk's carreer. she has crossed the limits of ordinary pop and left stars like Britney and MadonnaThe Truth About Love is the highlight of P!nk's carreer. she has crossed the limits of ordinary pop and left stars like Britney and Madonna searching for her. Definately worth a listen. frankly, it can compared as a sequel to Funhouse!!!! Expand
  3. Sep 18, 2012
    10
    Another stellar release from a pop star that evades superstardom, even while she's changing the landscape of pop music. A highlight of TheAnother stellar release from a pop star that evades superstardom, even while she's changing the landscape of pop music. A highlight of The Truth About Love is hearing the notes Pink sneaks in on us, much higher than previously recording, slowly revealing just what exactly she's capable of little by little. Great, honest lyrics told how my generations speaks. This is another solid release from one of the best voices on the planet. Expand
  4. Mar 24, 2013
    9
    A Major Needed Comeback! Honestly P!NKs Best Album!
  5. May 30, 2016
    9
    P!nk, como sempre, evoluindo a cada trabalho novo. Esse álbum é maravilhoso em todos os sentidos, tanto como lírico, instrumental e vocal. HáP!nk, como sempre, evoluindo a cada trabalho novo. Esse álbum é maravilhoso em todos os sentidos, tanto como lírico, instrumental e vocal. Há várias músicas que destacam, e os singles foram muito bem escolhidos. Eu apenas acho que P!nk desperdiçou a melhor música do álbum, que é "Slut Like You". Expand
  6. Sep 22, 2012
    8
    Love is the point of this album,in P!nk's new album "The Truth About Love".After taking a little hiatus,P!nk is now back on the scene everLove is the point of this album,in P!nk's new album "The Truth About Love".After taking a little hiatus,P!nk is now back on the scene ever since her recent album announcement and her chart-topper "Blow Me(One Last Kiss)'So now the question is,does P!nk still have it after not doing music for a while?The answer is yes.What P!nk delivers is maybe one of the best Pop albums this year.The real standout songs of this album are her ballads "Just give me a Reason" with the lead singer of fun "Nate Ruess",and "True Love" with Lily Rose Cooper.But for those looking for a fun tune,there are some tunes here to get you humming,those songs include "Are We All We Are" and Eminem guest rapping on "Here Comes The Weekend".The majority of the songs are also musically diverse with Punk-Rock,Pop,Alternative,Rock,and a dash of Rap,thanks to Eminem's guest rap.The low light of this album is that a few songs seem to tread on the same topic which is love.And despite some cool sounds on those songs,it comes off as unorignal.And the album loses some steam around the end,but pulls off the concluson well thanks to the Toe-tapping "Good Old Days".Plus the deluxe edition includes 3 bonus songs for anyone looking for a little more,(though the album has 17 songs on it.),also hats off to P!nk for her solid pipes and great vocals.Bottom line:This isn't P!nk's best album,and it doesn't break any new ground,but it's still a great listen and worth your money.That's why I'm giving "The Truth About Love" an 8 out of 10,job well-done P!nk.What do you guys think?Do you like The Truth About Love?Do you not?Click on Yes or No for whether it was Helpful below on my review.Also check out my video review of the album on September 25 2012 on my Youtube channel Andrew Brauer,and if you have a little bit more time,follow me on twitter @andrewbrauer96. Expand
  7. Nov 14, 2012
    0
    Why after more than 10 years in the industry she's still singing the same song to me?
    The only redeemable tracks this album has is Just Give
    Why after more than 10 years in the industry she's still singing the same song to me?
    The only redeemable tracks this album has is Just Give a Reason and Try and the last one is a cover.
    Collapse

See all 47 User Reviews