Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 8
  2. Negative: 1 out of 8
  1. Apr 8, 2011
    90
    The dark-hued, hard rocking glory of 'Sinead' and the Evanescence-bothering theatrics of 'A Demon's Fate' should draw Within Temptation a wider audience, but it's the ferocious guitar/keyboard attack of the blazing 'In The Middle Of The Night' that might coax most bullet belts out of retirement.
  2. May 9, 2011
    80
    Coupled with the short films and the comic book that are companion pieces to the album, The Unforgiving is much more than just an excellent record. It is an all-encompassing audio-visual experience that will leave its audience breathless for a long time to come.
  3. Apr 8, 2011
    80
    The end result is that The Unforgiving is easily Within Temptation's most ambitious record, an album that benefits from an increased energy level and strong songwriting in order to deliver a collection of the band's strongest songs to date.
  4. Apr 8, 2011
    70
    A concept album that doesn't get weighed down by the story line is a rarity, but it is something that Within Temptation succeed at with The Unforgiving.
  5. Apr 8, 2011
    60
    While her vocals alone are unlikely to gain Within Temptation too many new listeners, fans who have stuck with the band throughout their career will likely forgive The Unforgiving's occasional missteps.
  6. Apr 8, 2011
    60
    Because however cheesy, however smothered in Eighties patische, what Within Temptation have done is write a collection of killer melodies that are so strong it's almost impossible to sniff at them. I just wish they'd done it with a little more of a personal flourish.
  7. Apr 8, 2011
    60
    On the whole, though, while this is flawless and expertly crafted, it's also pretty unsatisfying. [26 Mar 2011, p.52]
  8. May 18, 2011
    20
    The Unforgiving's rampaging orchestral stabs and hysterical synths, coupled with Sharon den Adel's fevered vocal flourishes, make for awful Euro-pop with the odd distorted guitar. [May 2011, p.115]
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 19 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. Apr 25, 2011
    7
    I've listened to Within Temptation for a couple of years now and I've come to believe that they have a total of about 10 distinct and originalI've listened to Within Temptation for a couple of years now and I've come to believe that they have a total of about 10 distinct and original songs that stand out from the rest of their tracks. Most of their music tends to sound repetitive at times but that does not mean they do not have talent. I respect WT as a band and have to say that they are probably one of the best examples of the symphonic goth style bands. The Unforgiving is basically a dip into the 80's, where the band sounds a little less themselves and more pulsing and electronic. The best song by far on The Unforgiving is "A Shot in the Dark"; buy that song on itunes and you'll have the best The Unforgiving has to offer. The best album release by WT to date is probably The Heart of Everything; if you want to actually buy a full album then go for that one. I highly recommend the band, but not so much The Unforgiving, it's probably one of WT's weaker albums. Here are Within Temptation's top songs in my opinion (try listening to a few):
    1 The Howling
    2 Angels
    3 What Have You Done
    4 Our Solemn Hour
    5 Ice Queen
    6 Shot In the Dark
    7 Mother Earth
    8 The Heart of Everything
    9 Frozen
    10 Memories
    Full Review »
  2. Aug 27, 2012
    10
    Superb album. Music perhaps more fitting for soundtracks & story telling than straight-up listening, The Unforgiving nevertheless pushes allSuperb album. Music perhaps more fitting for soundtracks & story telling than straight-up listening, The Unforgiving nevertheless pushes all the right buttons. With upbeat themes mixed in with darker moments, I found that almost all the songs left me wanting to hit the replay button. It's about time someone did music like this; orchestral symphony meets rock - best played loud & unapologetically. Absolutely wonderful stuff. Full Review »
  3. Dec 7, 2011
    2
    The album is perfectly crafted, and the songwriting is great. But, don't shoot me, the songs are so bland and dull. Sharon spends the wholeThe album is perfectly crafted, and the songwriting is great. But, don't shoot me, the songs are so bland and dull. Sharon spends the whole album screaming her vocals and it sounds genuinely hollow and empty. In The Middle Of The Night is exciting at first but Sharon sounds the same the whole way through the album which is a shame, because I'm a huge fan of Within Temptation and her incredible voice. I just think they could've done so much better with the album, it was disappointing. I hope they reclaim some musical ground for their next album. This one is a creative masterpiece, I'm sure. But when it comes to actually listening to the music and the vocals, it falls flat. However, the Deluxe Edition track, Empty Eyes, is a standout track which, I think, has more life than most of the album. Full Review »