The Warning

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 53 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 53
  2. Negative: 1 out of 53

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DanS
    Jun 12, 2006
    8
    My score should actually be an 8.5. It's always pleasent to see a band tweak their style successfully on a new album. This way they still sound like the band you liked from their last one, but they avoid redundancy. The Warning is such an album for Hot Chip. I enjoy the more dancable angle of upbeat tracks like "Over and Over" while also delighting in the downtempo Coming On My score should actually be an 8.5. It's always pleasent to see a band tweak their style successfully on a new album. This way they still sound like the band you liked from their last one, but they avoid redundancy. The Warning is such an album for Hot Chip. I enjoy the more dancable angle of upbeat tracks like "Over and Over" while also delighting in the downtempo Coming On Strong-ish songs like "Look After Me." Complaints are minimal. I'm buying. Expand
  2. DaleZ
    Jun 13, 2006
    10
    great album
  3. NickP
    Jun 14, 2006
    9
    Overall I am impressed. The steady base beats and mellow sound are reminiscent of Of Montreal and the stylized vocals resemble Spoon. To describe it, I'd say Arcade Fire remixed by Of Montreal with just a hint of Spoon. A lot better than their last album. Can't wait to hear more.
  4. Joris
    Jun 18, 2006
    10
    "Careful" and "Over and Over" are astonishing !!!! DEfinitely Check Careful out. Other highlights are "The Warning" and "No Fit State", great album -refreshingly good after -I agree with that particular reviewer here- all the static Daft Punk's and boring LCd Soundsystem's Robot techno of these days! If I would start with nzmedroppng here I would say: The Postal Service meets "Careful" and "Over and Over" are astonishing !!!! DEfinitely Check Careful out. Other highlights are "The Warning" and "No Fit State", great album -refreshingly good after -I agree with that particular reviewer here- all the static Daft Punk's and boring LCd Soundsystem's Robot techno of these days! If I would start with nzmedroppng here I would say: The Postal Service meets The Beach Boys.... Will suerly be in my top 5 of 2006 Expand
  5. PoppyG
    Jun 26, 2006
    9
    absolutely spot on album. the only song i'm not so keen on is arrest yourself, the rest are brill. Hot chip i love you.
  6. tchsatoris
    Jul 23, 2006
    9
    Look at those Critic ratings! I can't believe they found 2 'bad' reviews!
  7. connorn
    Aug 12, 2006
    10
    hot chip is the greatest band The Warning is a great cd
  8. KeleO
    Aug 12, 2006
    8
    This is good! It made me do the funk all over myself. I think that song about mashed potato on here is excellent, as well as the one about their school uniform.
  9. Orbitt
    Sep 8, 2006
    7
    Gran álbum con algunas grandes canciones pero le falta algo. Espero al siguiente álbum impaciente.
  10. LawrenceP
    Nov 20, 2006
    9
    One of the most fun and exciting dance LP's of the year. Only "Arrest Yourself" misfires. Everything else is a highlight.
  11. ReubenF
    Dec 18, 2006
    8
    The highlight of electro pop for 2006, their lead single 'Over and Over' was rated as the best single of 2006 by NME. Other stand out songs, which show different dimensions to a sophisticated album, include 'And I Was A Boy From School', a touchingly melancholy song, 'Just Like We (Breakdown)', which made it onto the DFA Remix LP, as well as The highlight of electro pop for 2006, their lead single 'Over and Over' was rated as the best single of 2006 by NME. Other stand out songs, which show different dimensions to a sophisticated album, include 'And I Was A Boy From School', a touchingly melancholy song, 'Just Like We (Breakdown)', which made it onto the DFA Remix LP, as well as 'Colours' (the remix by Fred Falke is recommended). Expand
  12. GuyH
    Jan 11, 2007
    8
    The album is a good listen but I find that the best tracks tend to beat the rest into submission. Luckily there are 6, maybe 7, great songs which is not bad going. If the quality control is improved on future releases then Hot Chip will have an absolute classic on their hands.
  13. AC
    Feb 3, 2007
    10
    A Pop/Electronic masterpiece. Beautiful, catchy songs all around for your enjoyment (And I Was A Boy From School, The Warning, So Glad To See You, Just Like We, Over And Over, Arrest Yourself, basically, the whole entire album) but my personal favorite is No Fit State, great song. To really appreciate the album it requires a few listens but besides that you'll love it. This & A Pop/Electronic masterpiece. Beautiful, catchy songs all around for your enjoyment (And I Was A Boy From School, The Warning, So Glad To See You, Just Like We, Over And Over, Arrest Yourself, basically, the whole entire album) but my personal favorite is No Fit State, great song. To really appreciate the album it requires a few listens but besides that you'll love it. This & Hard-Fi's Stars Of CCTV are my tied for my favorite album of 06. I Highly recommend. Expand
  14. JC
    Feb 3, 2007
    10
    Catchy and amazing. Way better than there debut.
  15. TrekD
    Feb 27, 2007
    10
    Best album of 06. Is that good!
  16. EduardoO
    Apr 1, 2007
    10
    My second favorite album of 2006. This is smart people making music and I appreciate that, do you?
  17. DJ
    Apr 8, 2007
    10
    One of the greatest achievements of this century. An incredible work of art. Great songs after another and they never get old. This album is catchy, original, thrilling, upbeat and amazing. My pick for best album of 06.
  18. DamienM
    Apr 20, 2007
    10
    This is the best electronic album I've ever listened to. Really cool album.
  19. Gill
    Apr 21, 2007
    10
    A great second album by Hot Chip.
  20. DEE
    Apr 24, 2007
    10
    Electronica hasn't been this good or fun since the 80's, when New Order was at the top of their game. Hot Chip is one of best bands in the world.
  21. Lucky
    Apr 30, 2007
    10
    The most upbeat album I've heard in the last 6 years. Really, really good music here. Electronic at it's finest.
  22. Paco
    May 9, 2007
    10
    The coolest album I've ever heard!
  23. RG
    May 12, 2007
    8
    a solid record, couple of misses here and there but some unbelievable tracks on this. some trax lack the extra umph. the lyrics kinda reference themselves and the group seems to have a serious and not so serious side. the grooves on the more upbeat trax are brilliant and beckons the dance floor.
  24. Logan
    May 15, 2007
    10
    So much fun to listen to,
  25. Smith
    May 26, 2007
    10
    Solid production from start to finish. All the tracks are fun, catchy, and original. Gets more rewarding the more you listen to it.
  26. Drake
    Aug 1, 2007
    10
    Fun as hell to listen to, especially at a party. This band is definitely a bunch charming fellows that know how to make great, unique music.
  27. LouiseS.
    Aug 25, 2007
    9
    Really catchy songs and solid production.
  28. Will
    Sep 25, 2007
    10
    Cooler than LCD Soundsystem will ever be. The track 'Over and Over' must be one of the tracks of the decade! This is inventive music at its best, one of the most refreshing listens in recent memory.
  29. Jan 16, 2012
    8
    The first half of the record is excellent, very strong tracks. Kind of fades off a bit towards the end but overall a very good record from a very strong band.
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. Entertainment Weekly
    83
    The quintet's refined funk tweaks the genre-busting dance rock of classic Prince and New Order with a modern, synth-happy sheen. [16 Jun 2006, p.77]
  2. Their second album continues in a similarly delicious vein, melding wonky electronics, pillow-soft soul and lyrics that manage to weave strange violence into gorgeous soul songs.
  3. Blender
    60
    Hot Chip's relentless stylistic hopscotch... ends up in an intricate muddle that fully engages neither hips nor heart. [Jun 2006, p.138]